wrx sti

Tomei,
I know what you mean man. I'm also constrained by my small budget. Heheh.... but sometimes I also think, since I'm already spending RM100K+, why not get a brand new car. Hahaha.... but of course it won't be a power packed machine like the WRX ler... *sob sob* :(

Anyway, haven't finalized my decision yet, so will still see how when the time comes. I might even take the path that Raptorie has suggested. Get a Ver7 and convert to Ver8.

Crazievitek

Bro....I've done my research on this. Probably the best priced Subarus around here are:

Version 7 STI Unregistered Rm15Xk - Star Classifieds

Version 7 WRX Used Year 2000, Black (M.I) RM120k Nego

Version 8 WRX Unregistered (Underdeclared as Year 2000) Rm158k -SG Motors

I still think the best buy would be the Used Ver 7 WRX

crazievitek,

Yo fren, am helping my dad cum bozz running his biz... V r in manufacturing line (factory)for both local n export mkt... Very tough n competitive line... Me start work 7am til 7pm at least... So minimum 12hr a day work... Not easy at all... But quite happy as v r slowing expanding n improving... Hehehe... Really thank GOD for giving us 2nd chance lar... :_:

As for de HKS exhuast, am using HiPower 409, where HKS newly developed for their TRB-02 Evo VIII (de fully fibre Evo tht driven by Taniguchi) tht broke all Japan Tsukuba fastest records... Hehehe...

Mmm... at de moment Stage 1 is cool enough for me lar... Which means wil not touch de turbo lor... But my aim r always maintain de driveability of de car... Dun wanna to mod it until like a track car lor... Hehehe... Wil b looking towards Jap side n see how they upgrading de Evo9 after mkt cams... Wil b interesting to know how to improve de Mivec thingy... :regular_smile:

As for de Ver8... Now thinking of changing Tomei Extreme exhuast manifold... this Tomei part got hips of good review n feedback from Japan... n oso de Tomei turbo outlet... Besides, oredi ordered de HKS Silent HiPower for de Scooby too... After de above mentioned, wil b getting a fuel regulator n boost controller for higher boost...

Hv any Scooby fans here did their after mkt sport cams for de Scooby? Wanna to know how does it feel? Thx!!! :shades_smile:

Cheers!!!

kidd99,

Not sure abt Scooby with sunroof... Hvnt seen 1 on de road b4 ler... But for STi Spec C they got a small air ventilation sunroof lar... Cheers!

storm,

thanks man,i think i no need "susah susah" look for one with sunroof loh...

kidd99,

Yo fren, no problem!!! Actually what model of Scooby u r looking for huh? Cos if u need any ver8 STi or ver9 STi, my dealer got stocks... In case u need any help, jus let me know lar... Test drive and anything oso can...

Happy hunting! Cheers!!!

storm,

actually i'm driving evo and now i'm a bit like "backside gatal" feel like trying subaru(never drive before ma)

yet everything still very initial loh.. haven't decide..

kidd99,

Oh... U r driving an Evo now too? Me too... Which version? Mine a Evo IX ler... Hehehe... Actually both cars oso KENG lar... Is good to test drive both... So u wil hv de feel on ur mind tht which car actually suit ur driving style, daily usage n ur expectation r...

U try R34 b4? Its cool too... But not really suitable for daily usage ler... Hehehe... As de car more suitable for wkend's driving... Very high profile car...

Cheers!!! :_:

Stormvolution 9 said:
crazievitek,

Hey fren, I only hv a wk long break for CNY ler... Where got 2 wks sooooo nice ah... Hahaha... But damn bz since started work after de break as lotsa things need to follow up... :confused_smile:

As for my Evo, i got myself HKS exhuast, Ralliart filter, Sard BOV n etc... But all oso belum taruk... Bz ler... hahaha... Wil shop for other parts such as ECU, boost controller, fuel regulator n etc for stage 1 mod... Oh yeah, oso looking ard for rims!!! Then only 1 time taruk everything lor... :_: Really bz abt work lately... and seldom drive my baby too... Wanna to work harder for more $$$ so tht can mod my baby nicely n more powerful lor... Hehehe...

Besides, how's ur CNY results? Got win $$$ ah? Hehe... u must b collecting lotsa angpoa liao lor... Sure enough for de Scooby downpayment liao!!!

As for de rigidity of de car chasis btw Scooby n Evo... Errr... How can u know which 1 is more 'solid' than de other? I means how can/ do v compare both? Am driving both cars, but til date oso i cannot 'conclude' or 'feel' which car do hv more solid car chasis... If u take away the Suspension, de Electronic DCCD or ACD/AYC n de sway bars... I dun think v can get to know which car is more rigid... Soli, jus wanna to share n understand more myself n not trying to prove anything... If v take 'cornering' as judging point, things such as different suspension setting, electronic control system n those sway bars can make different to it... n might not b de car chasis rigidity tht v felt... Mmm... need to do more testing in de future...

Cheers!!!
heheh here v start again...evo vs scooby?mayb u own an evo9 still new ma.. v r not saying evo is bad.. im driving an evo 7 now too... we got rx8, mini cooper s too.. but all directors car ler...so v switch car every other week.. just my feel ler.. comparing 2 cars scooby is as comfort as conti cars. i love evo when nego bends. family day i prefer subaru lor, clubbing i go for rx8 lor and go yam cha drive cooper s ler.. just my 2 cents..

Storm,
IMHO, I think the way you are modding your Evo is the correct path, coz you're enhancing the top end while maintaining drivability. Gaining huge top end horsepower at the expense of low end torque is ok for track use, but not so fun for street use.
The HKS Silent Hi-Power... is it a silent exhaust, like what its name suggests?

storm,

WAHHH,so good E9..envy lor....
well i haven't driven any R34 before.."snob" really can't affort at this moment lor..SAD

anyway i'm driving very stock evo 7, no modd on the engine except ssqv and exhaust only.. really don't dare to touch the engine cause once started cannot stop and later all my piggy gone..cannot eat also..kekekeee

your e9 modify a lot ar??

guys,

Is it possible to convert version 7 or 8 to the latest ver 9??

kidd99 said:
guys,
Is it possible to convert version 7 or 8 to the latest ver 9??
yes... chasis r the same for 7 to 9. need to change ver9 complete front support panel 1st in order to install front portion bodyparts as for the rear just swap the rear lamp n bumper n additional wheel arch.

raptorie54 said:
yes... chasis r the same for 7 to 9. need to change ver9 complete front support panel 1st in order to install front portion bodyparts as for the rear just swap the rear lamp n bumper n additional wheel arch.

oic... how much you think it costs?? complete front and rear ver9??

crazievitek

Am using HKS HiPower409, not Silent HiPower ler... Hehehe... De sound is very solid n not very noisy as other exhuasts which my frens r using... De different btw HiPower409 n Silent HiPower r de material used r different... HiPower409 hv better flow n a bit noisier too... But stil acceptable for me...

Wah, u r using HKS Super Drager ah? So when de Vtec open sure de sound very loud ler... LoLz... What abt ur Vtec? What spec is tht n izzit a civic or DC2 or DC5? Mmm... It is really good to learn abt other cars too... Hahaha... :_: As there are lotsa different 'challengers' on road/highway, so its good to understand other fast cars too lar... hehehe... Actually I hv been 'bullied' by lotsa Type-R b4 ler... LoLz... Most of them r damn daring man... Like to zigzag in highway... :confused_smile: Damn Dangeruos!!!

Yalor, drivability is very important as v r not aiming for track use!!! As i hv a member using GT3037 turbo for his Evo, very huge power output during highspeed!!! :shocked: Dun play play... But whenever v 'convoy' along winding road... its very tough for him... Hehe... Always lag lar...

kidd99, Yo my car stil new too, so not kao kao mod yet lar... jus normal basic thingy such as filter, eshuast n bov 1st... Plan to do more soon... Hehehe... Yeah, u r rite! Once started mod liao... u never stop ler!!! :regular_smile:

raptorie54, Yo fren, no 1 said u meant Evo is bad lar... Am jus asking how u do ur judgement with ur conclusion or experience! Myself jus wanna to learn more as other frens here... Actually its good to hv comparison btw cars. Mayb u can tell us more abt de RX8 n Mini Cooper S...

Cheers!!!

Stormvolution 9 said:
crazievitek

Am using HKS HiPower409, not Silent HiPower ler... Hehehe... De sound is very solid n not very noisy as other exhuasts which my frens r using... De different btw HiPower409 n Silent HiPower r de material used r different... HiPower409 hv better flow n a bit noisier too... But stil acceptable for me...

Wah, u r using HKS Super Drager ah? So when de Vtec open sure de sound very loud ler... LoLz... What abt ur Vtec? What spec is tht n izzit a civic or DC2 or DC5? Mmm... It is really good to learn abt other cars too... Hahaha... :_: As there are lotsa different 'challengers' on road/highway, so its good to understand other fast cars too lar... hehehe... Actually I hv been 'bullied' by lotsa Type-R b4 ler... LoLz... Most of them r damn daring man... Like to zigzag in highway... :confused_smile: Damn Dangeruos!!!
Yalor, drivability is very important as v r not aiming for track use!!! As i hv a member using GT3037 turbo for his Evo, very huge power output during highspeed!!! :shocked: Dun play play... But whenever v 'convoy' along winding road... its very tough for him... Hehe... Always lag lar...

kidd99, Yo my car stil new too, so not kao kao mod yet lar... jus normal basic thingy such as filter, eshuast n bov 1st... Plan to do more soon... Hehehe... Yeah, u r rite! Once started mod liao... u never stop ler!!! :regular_smile:

raptorie54, Yo fren, no 1 said u meant Evo is bad lar... Am jus asking how u do ur judgement with ur conclusion or experience! Myself jus wanna to learn more as other frens here... Actually its good to hv comparison btw cars. Mayb u can tell us more abt de RX8 n Mini Cooper S...

Cheers!!!
cheers brother...nothing i can talk much abt rx8 coz among all cars its d 1 i drive the less. errr... lack of power as its only close to a 325i. torque comes in above 5000rpm, nature of rotary(hi rev engine). handling is not that bad but far behind evo n rex. wat i can say is totally a leisure car or 'kau lui' car. but 1 thing for sure it has a handsome exterior n superb interior. 1 to thing to complain is the center console where d shift gear is damn 'kau' hot(do not know y?) think shud b the volcano rotary engine n fxxking damn 'kau' hi fuel consumption. as for the mini cooper s.... dun understand y it costs that much??? but my wife loves it even its a manual. only find it fun at cornering, probably thanks to the short wheel base. very continental feel even is bloody tiny. hah! 1 thing i love abt tis car is i nearly forgot gas station used to b my best fren. 17cent per km gua...

sorry abt d language, im a bit cina a beng , a lot of kau kau lan lan...

Storm,
I'm only driving a baby VTEC lah... just a B16A, unlike the many huge monsters out there. Actually would like to go for the DC5, but the prices are so steep. They cost the same as Evo 7's & Ver 7 STi's & Ver 8 WRX's.... might as well get an Evo or Scooby if I'm going to pay that price. Heheh.....