STI or WRX ???

chimaera

I plan to get a subaru version 8 but still thinking whether get the STI version or WRX version... as in terms of performance i had heard some ppl said WRX performance is not so good... wish any impreza owner could help me solve my doubt ...

thanks...

Go for a STI as this is from a WRX GDA 03 owner as to mod your WRX to the same level as a STI cost more! STI is also more hardy from 6 speed gear box to engine which is a semi close deck and using forge pistons. In my case, I have spend more than RM20K to mod my WRX which will never equal a STI!
Also more importantly, STI has Brembo's fitted as original and at the end of the day most WRX owners will fit Brembo's if they do any light track work.

WRX has 250bhp compared to Sti is 280bhp but many parts need to be upgraded if to perform as good as Sti....so it will cost more at the end of the day. so go for STi...in term of gaya, in term of class and in term of performance plus one more...in term of re-sale value...u wont regret at all..cheerz

Actually here in Malaysia the power of WRX and Sti are equal. WRX are import from UK, the fuel mapping is using same like our RON. 250bhp on paper is same on engine. While STI is bringing in from Japan know as JDM. Even on paper is printed 280bhp but it was tested on RON100. So, if u using RON97 on sti, the outcome is just 250bhp. :)

Stock to Stock match up.

Sti may win on 0-100km, but will lost on highway because WRX using 5 speed long ration gearbox whereas STI almost hit 7k rpm b4 reaching 240km.

Sti got stiffer suspension, grip on long C and short corner, but very bumpy on highway, not happy at all for rear passenger.

WRX suspension is very pleasant on Malaysia bumpy highway but very unstable on long and tight corner. It can be prefect by using anti-roll bar such as cusco sway bar.

STI (ONLY for version 8 & above) got extra feature, the DCCD was fantastic. Stiffer suspension compare to version 7. Nice opening ceremony Speedo meter. Bucket seat was wrapped with subaru blue rally trade mark.

WRX version 8 come with standard package, Black bucket seat and interior was marvelous. The rest is almost same with version 7.

Fuel consumption

STI full tank rm120 (estimate) can reach 350km. While the WRX can reach more than 450km with same amount of Ringgit than been spend for petrol.
With proper tune STI can reach 380km per full tank, just imagine how about the WRX after been tune?

Both cars have their Pro & Contra.

Happy searching!

I have a JDM WRX which is different from MI WRX which is Euro spec. JDM WRX have a close ratio 5 speed gearbox and it is rated at 260 HP on crank.
But at 1.4 bar and with ECU tuning & a VF30 Turbo from STI 7, my car has crack more than 290 HP on wheels (GT 4 WD dyno).
But the joke is that in lieu of preserving my engine in Sepang, I am now running 1.0 bar boost. At 1.0 bar, my feeling is that I can hardly crack more than 220 on wheel HP.
High boost in Sepang means painful to the pockets when engine blows.
STI V8 has a semi close deck engine and it is more hardy than WRX engine.
So in final analysis, go for a STI 8 or newer.
My best recomendation for STI
Spec C, , year of manufacture 2004, you have a car having the mechanicals of a V9 but in a body of a V8. So good buy as you need not pay for a V9!
PCD for this is 114 as opose to 100.
So you have a great choice of rims, which is much cheaper than PCD 100.
James
HPC30110803.jpg

Any1 know where we can find the World Rally Champion subaru spoiler?