Why 16V instead of 20V

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
recently saw alot of AE86 n racing car using 4AGE 16V engine, specially in japan...n why is that...? why they didn't use 20V engine...?

can we discuss the fact here...
Thanx...

1)more available parts for 16v.

2)20v is a new engine..it quite a waste to start again building a race engine.

3)Akira Iida want to build a new ae86 track car.Guess what engine he use??20v Silvertop.not 16v..

hahahaha!!!!

i know why.....

they don't want to get head ache like me... putting in 20V in the 85 or is it 86????

until now the project still not completed!!!

cheersss...

wah mike........agree on 1 point only eh???

everythign else salah is it??
hehehehehhahhahaha

Those videos are getting old don't you think???

16v valve stem 6mm, 20v valve stem 5mm. This is one strong advantage, but you could always pay extra to custom make 6mm valve stem in the future.

Having less valves also make head mods like 3-angle cut cheaper and quicker to complete :)

If you read other forums, more and more going to 20v it's inevitable.

but please don't be fooled by 20v more powerful than 16v. It's only the case for BT, not SVT. Any 16v will be equal to SVT.

It is confirmed that extra valves does not make more power.
It is confirmed that 4 throttles does not make more power.

Careful optimization (eg BT vs. SVT) makes more power.

I always think BT is more power because it's TDC and BDC is different from SVT.

i.e. SVT 0-70
i.e. BT 35-35

see bill's website.

and im not totally agree with you..
but not gonna argue here..hahahah

I agree with master ZUL........three point, but why he wanna put 20v svt ler???? in the initial D movie also put 20v svt borr....

GT20v said:
and im not totally agree with you..
but not gonna argue here..hahahah

What is there to argue about?

You are entitled your opinion and I am entitled mine.

It doesn't even matter if we accept each other's opinion or not - except we realise those are individual choices and not choices of life and death nor religion.

Finally most important thing is that we don't be-little others choices and respect their decisions as their privacy then OK already lor.

Because it's like the V-TEC vs others scenario, it is obvious that V-TEC is more powerful but there are others who just choose not to use V-TEC for whatever "personal" reasons and those V-TEC fellas never go kacau them, ok already lor.

that initial D is a racing engine group A one lah... cannot compare dude. that's why can go up to 12k rpm in the movie lah.. dont know in the real life can or not

Acoustic said:
Those videos are getting old don't you think???

16v valve stem 6mm, 20v valve stem 5mm. This is one strong advantage, but you could always pay extra to custom make 6mm valve stem in the future.

Having less valves also make head mods like 3-angle cut cheaper and quicker to complete :)

If you read other forums, more and more going to 20v it's inevitable.

but please don't be fooled by 20v more powerful than 16v. It's only the case for BT, not SVT. Any 16v will be equal to SVT.

It is confirmed that extra valves does not make more power.
It is confirmed that 4 throttles does not make more power.

Careful optimization (eg BT vs. SVT) makes more power.

I always think BT is more power because it's TDC and BDC is different from SVT.

i.e. SVT 0-70
i.e. BT 35-35

see bill's website.

oooo ic...thanx Chin now only i understand... :D :D

hmmm...where to find mech can do such things like that aaaa ???

4agze said:
that initial D is a racing engine group A one lah... cannot compare dude. that's why can go up to 12k rpm in the movie lah.. dont know in the real life can or not
can.. use the tachos that connect to the firing coil one... and set the tacho to 3 cylinder engine. even my stock dead 4K engine also hit 8K rpm :D :D :D but idles at 1.3-1.8k depend on engine temp. :D

btw sifu sifu sekalian... i've been reading alot of ppl say 3 angle valve job or what chin said one 3 angle cut.. whats that? i've been looking around but still fail to find explanation. (okay i googled it only and found no answer)

The reason 16V is still being widely used in AE86 and AE92 is simply becoz the engine comes standard with the car! It is a LOT easier just to simply build powerful NA motor using something that does not require massive transplant. Putting a 20V into AE86 is not easy and require lotsa money and time and conversion parts.

Only when they do have the fund and time to build a 20V then they will do it, everywhere else outside Malaysia 20V Halfcut are not cheap u aaa.

3 Angle Valve cut simply means to regrind/cut concentricly three definite ring shaped edge on (around) the valve port. The angles are calculated carefully to promote velocity - not just simply flared.

EFN said:
The reason 16V is still being widely used in AE86 and AE92 is simply becoz the engine comes standard with the car! It is a LOT easier just to simply build powerful NA motor using something that does not require massive transplant. Putting a 20V into AE86 is not easy and require lotsa money and time and conversion parts.

Only when they do have the fund and time to build a 20V then they will do it, everywhere else outside Malaysia 20V Halfcut are not cheap u aaa.

3 Angle Valve cut simply means to regrind/cut concentricly three definite ring shaped edge on (around) the valve port. The angles are calculated carefully to promote velocity - not just simply flared.

oooo i see...BTW, whats the biggest cam diameter can be fitted in SVT...20V

factory diameter
- inlet - 26.5mm
- exhaust - 26mm

definitely true on the price of 20v overseas. BT engine kosong in US cost something like 1.2k us dollar while big port tvis only cost 400-500 (sourse: toysport). while in toymods forum and article i remember someone said he got the small port 16v for less than "kiu kai" :D

btw, west malaysia there easy to find small port 4ag or not? price?

so from all of the conclusion...
20V harder n more expensive to mod rather then 16V...like that aaaa??? :D

rollakid said:
definitely true on the price of 20v overseas. BT engine kosong in US cost something like 1.2k us dollar while big port tvis only cost 400-500 (sourse: toysport). while in toymods forum and article i remember someone said he got the small port 16v for less than "kiu kai" :D

btw, west malaysia there easy to find small port 4ag or not? price?

wah sure boh? less than kiu kai price arr? hmmm... then better spend those money to get this than kiu kai lah... kiu kai 1 time shiok only but car everytime shiok wor... betui tak? ehhehe...

chinozie said:
so from all of the conclusion...
20V harder n more expensive to mod rather then 16V...like that aaaa??? :D

i've read the article in club4ag regarding the pros and cons of each 4ag, saying that 20v is good for street driving and track racing, but not drag racing, cuz its parts are more or less limited to those super expensive modification, and drag blow up engine easily, thus not suitable.

so i can assume its way more expensive to mod :D

george8724 said:
wah sure boh? less than kiu kai price arr? hmmm... then better spend those money to get this than kiu kai lah... kiu kai 1 time shiok only but car everytime shiok wor... betui tak? ehhehe...

either australian hooker is more expensive or their engine kosong is dirt cheap. your pick :D

rollakid said:
while in toymods forum and article i remember someone said he got the small port 16v for less than "kiu kai" :D?

From what I remember you're not very old - don't become bad use so strong words lah, makes people you very old already :) hahahahahh

Lets keep this forum clean :)