4age ae92 to silvertop

u already have an 'A' type engine, nothing much to change. same mounting. the gearbox also the same, C52 model.

the main thing is the wiring. get a complete half cut with wiring looms/harness uncut. if you're lucky, you'll get a complete wiring with fuel pump still dangling from its cable. Get the complete dashboard too. best is to change the dashboard that came with the halfcut otherwise wiring will become a nightmare. why? simplest thing is the air cond.

Inexperience installer will neglect the importance of good air cond wiring. the 20V ECU have two pin that connect to the air cond amplifier. One pin (AC1) connects to the compressor solenoid and one pin (ACT) connect to the igniter/tachometer.

Why all the hassle with the air cond? The engine will run even with those pin wrongly connected or not connected at all, right?

The answer is yes, the engine will run smoothly and you smile with the 20V performance until you switch on the air conditioner. The power suddenly drops, knocking sound appear when overtaking or climbing. Idle become very-very bad (fluctuating) and fuel consuming. Black smoke coming out of the tailpipe.

The importance of those two pin is for the ECU to recognize that the air cond is switched on and engine load is increasing. Therefore, ECU will adjust spark advance according to engine load due to compressor pressure building up, to prevent power loss and fuel knocking. For BLT ECU, it will also adjust idling speed with the ISCV since BLT does not have air-cond VSV like SVT.

The simplest way to ensure the wiring does not jumble up it to get the conversion with complete dashboard change. The air cond amplifier for AE101/111 is build in the dashboard, unlike our burger which uses module. (I have a burger too)

If you're considering not to change the dashboard (like me, the original low profile look or u have a GT long meter complete with oil pressure and voltmeter), identify the correct pin from the AC amp connected to the Compressor, Igniter and ECU. Usually pin no.10 (black wire) connects to igniter/tachometer/ECU pin ACT, pin no.9 to ECU pin AC1.

Another thing is the EVAP system. make sure it is correctly installed otherwise idle will get very-very high. (1.5k to 2k rpm during idle, warm up in the morning even worse)

I wonder if your original power steering have idle up VSV. Mine have. If yes, make sure to connect the hose correctly, one end at the intake plenum, and one end at the vacuum rail. Otherwise the engine could stall when turning steering to the maximum.

Bump: Eh.... one more thing la. If u plan to convert the engine with the dashboard too, can give the old one to me arr.....?? hahaha

mine' s too old. started to crack. and the colour is not right. Brown......:bawling:

Bump: Eh.... one more thing la. If u plan to convert the engine with the dashboard too, can give the old one to me arr.....?? hahaha

mine' s too old. started to crack. and the colour is not right. Brown......:bawling:

fuhhhhh.. salute to cruise78..

very details on wiring .

i aslo hav this AC wiring problem during my planning toconvert to MAP sensor by using AFM wiring.. this few wiring make me very confused,,

very nice info...

woo, nice and detail information. Me2 bt also facing the problem, when ac turn on during high rpm, black smoke coming out of the tailpipe, sometimes engine got knocking sound. any1 kno how to solve it ?

lai lai lai... i teach u how to mod ae111 switch to ur ae92 , ae1011 dash... hehehe.....

wont cost much.. 2 teh tarik n some gas money only..... hehe...

anyway, i also bad experience converting my ae101 into ae111 wirinng.. bad wiring gua.. dats y modify loh...

btw... i have so many svt owner complaint about bad wiring will spoilt the a/c and even worse the ecu.. it that true?? coz got 2 member ecu kong already... alll standard wor..

hi all,
i'm new to car mods.
Planning for BT swap into my ae92 (1988) burger.
already ushar2 ae111 hlfcut (around 4.5K Can ae111 dashbod fit into ae92? How bout enjin mounting?
Pls advise all otai2..

Thnx:biggrin:

Bump: hi all,
i'm new to car mods.
Planning for BT swap into my ae92 (1988) burger.
already ushar2 ae111 hlfcut (around 4.5K Can ae111 dashbod fit into ae92? How bout enjin mounting?
Pls advise all otai2..

Thnx:biggrin:

Waaa.... 1988 burger, mine also 1988 burger..... yours ee or ae?

Dont know how to say la.... when i finish my transplant, it cost me about 5k overall. Then some guy said, "Oiii.... mahalnyeerr... biasa halfcut BT siap pasang 4k jer..." Then when I go to Puspakom and JPJ for my inspection, they ask me how much for the transplant, I said 5k, and they answered," Wow!!! Murahnyer... kat ner ko pasang? Aku nak buat keter aku kat situ jugak lah"

Engine mounting, if AE92 no problem, same mounting, no mod at all, if EE90 minor timing belt side mounting adjustment.

Dash board, can install into our burger but cannot fit like original la. Have to cut a little of front door trim.

hey guys! thx for the opinions. So sorry for being silent for so long.. after reading all of ur opinion, i think im gona stay wit my 16 valve and tried to mod it. My car is in quite a bad condition and still on my way fixing it. I hope that u guys are still here with me.. here are the problems.

1) overheating - tried to take out the thermostat and the problems is gone
2) water pump broke - change to new one
3) idle keep on changing - my car when its idle the rpm goes up and down.
4) i didnt use the car for such a long time - can it still run if i fix it or do i have to change the engine only(engine lantai)

pls help me.

---------- Post added at 04:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:37 PM ----------

Waaa.... 1988 burger, mine also 1988 burger..... yours ee or ae?

Dont know how to say la.... when i finish my transplant, it cost me about 5k overall. Then some guy said, "Oiii.... mahalnyeerr... biasa halfcut BT siap pasang 4k jer..." Then when I go to Puspakom and JPJ for my inspection, they ask me how much for the transplant, I said 5k, and they answered," Wow!!! Murahnyer... kat ner ko pasang? Aku nak buat keter aku kat situ jugak lah"

Engine mounting, if AE92 no problem, same mounting, no mod at all, if EE90 minor timing belt side mounting adjustment.

Dash board, can install into our burger but cannot fit like original la. Have to cut a little of front door trim.

Sorry but what do u mean by Ae or ee? :biggrin:

AE92 or EE92....i think this is a chasis code...
one more ?...i have a BT and now run without tps + vvt connected...1.5k rpm
no power if tps is connected...the timing is 22 degree btdc...
pls...need you guys to help & opinion