Whizzing sound from speaker after install amp

mallowpop

HI all zth members,

Hope u guys can help out. I recently installed an amp in my car and after that noticed a whizzing or so called aeroplane sound from the speakers. When i accelerate the sound gets louder.

The sound gone if i remove 1 of the rca cable, regardless of left or right channel. Could it be the car or amp grounding that causes it? Am using an 89 corolla with pioneer HU.

appreciate any feedbacks! thanks

most probably is the amp grounding, has to be re-done and done properly...

what type of rca cables u using?
use rca cables for car audio. it has some shielded foil around the signal cables to protect against interference.

Hi Zenn,

I had redone the grounding... but it is still the same..

Maxx,
the rca i am using are those car audio cables...

the sound is sickening...

ok. what type of amp u use?
branded or cap ayam one?

n do not run the audio n power cable together.
run them separated.

i am using a cap palang amp for the setup...i tried swapping other amp and the result is the same. also tried using new rca cable connecting HU to amp direct without any power cable along. results is the same.

i am afraid can it be the hu itself that causes it? cause i need to manual ground the HU rca jack to the HU body... if i dun do this the sound will be even worse...loose rca jack?

errmm make sure the rca cable and power supply cable not close each other try to separate both cable as far as u can...

if u have eliminated amp and rca cables from your problem, then u could be right, head unit also maybe the culprit, try add more ground wire for the chassis.

I am using DEH-P5550MP. Installed the HU bout 4-5 yrs back and it runs well with normal connection.

One stupid question, when u say add more grounding to the player body, do u actually mean by grounding the RCA jack to the player body?

The shop owner told me bout pioneer units having this problem too for older versions.

Thanks for the warmth response

Anyway i did try swapping with my frens pioneer unit.. the sounds persist... i duno wat;s the odds having 2 faulty pioneer HU at the same time.

also, anyone has any idea about the alternator?could it be the alternator that causes this sound, like maybe faulty alternator or not properly grounded one. mine is a recon alternator.

grounding the player body, not rca.
but u have test other hu, might be ur amp or alternator or ignition system interference.

so, if its not HU, amp, or rca, then maybe got to check speaker wire, maybe close to power cable, or maybe the passive crossover is near the car's ECU, things like that...

I got the same problem too..but now i got no amp because my subwoofer gunned the amp.But anyway I think there's away.You try equiped the amp with the sound suppressor,costing $38.00 at brothers.It's look like the pivot spark earth but it got electronic diagram on it,why dont you try on it..

hey guys, sorry off topic... but i have this prob..recently my amp got blow.. so got new one(ayam brand) and also got new components(soundstream) the thing is after installing it.. the tweeters make cracking sound..so changed it and the new one also.. tested with another set and that one also sound like the tweeter blown.. the sound from mid bass is normal only the tweeter.. anyone can help dignose the prob..?

maybe the tweeter is overdriven by the amp.
try "reducing" low freq to ur tweeter. u can adjust at the amp/preamp cutoff freq.

Write your reply...