what u think about VVT ???

Do you think VVT is waste money for 4AGE 20v to have it.

• 4 throttle is special made for high rev, why we still need VVT???

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 20v cams too much overlap for lower end, i need VVT !!!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Acoustic, repairing the vvt sounds good but after spending half a day talking to my mechanic i think i will take out the bt and plonk in a 16v.

according to my mech the 16v have lots of parts, streetable, no problem like the 20v or supercharged, and lots more.

he said he havent recommend anybody to get the 20v for a year now because the 20v lots of running problem. not a big surprise since its a highly stressed engine.

so i'm gonna order a halfcut and get everything from the wiring, gearbox, engine, ecu and even the dashboard.

then the next project is to buy a ke70 to mod, ha that one i'll go all out as it will not be daily driven.

Originally posted by TE27levin@Feb 18 2005, 10:58
ok then..
anyone willing to test?
put both stock 20v with VVT and without VVT together to run in 1/4mile???
some say with VVT the engine so good, and without also so good...
prove it.. kekeke
no need to test, did already. i disconect the vvt sensor and the engine suddenly have a better low end but high rpm it chokes.

Originally posted by rollakid+Feb 18 2005, 13:01 -->
QUOTE (rollakid @ Feb 18 2005, 13:01 )
Originally posted by Acoustic@Feb 18 2005, 09:33
--QuoteBegin-buck-7
@Feb 18 2005, 00:16
now for the throttle part its the same case as the valves, the more throttle you have the better the flow.

Ha, is it ah? but I thought 20v has bad intake velocity at low rpm compared long intake runners, which most other cars have ..........

thats what i heard too.. and tauhutauhu last time told me somehow 16v have better low end torque :blink:

read from some other forum who fight over which is better 16v vs 20v (wah~ perang saudagar :( ) and got report on same car same amount of mod quater mile 16v won by half a car length.. probably just the driver tho...

eh.. bill sherwood got say 16v can gain more power right? something like "max hp you can get from a 20v is less, 30hp less than a good 16v..." if i'm not mistaken... [/b][/quote]
logic what, the 20v is already at its most potential where as the 16v is still a basic engine.
just emagine what kind of hp you get when you port and polish, lighten, increase compression, add more throttles on the 16v.

depending on who is driving, a novice driver will be faster in the 16v. but if you are used to track racing the 20v will be the weapon of choice. but how often do you go track driving?

Originally posted by buck-7+Feb 18 2005, 23:53 -->
QUOTE (buck-7 @ Feb 18 2005, 23:53 )
Originally posted by rollakid@Feb 18 2005, 13:01
Originally posted by Acoustic@Feb 18 2005, 09:33
--QuoteBegin-buck-7
@Feb 18 2005, 00:16
now for the throttle part its the same case as the valves, the more throttle you have the better the flow.

Ha, is it ah? but I thought 20v has bad intake velocity at low rpm compared long intake runners, which most other cars have ..........

thats what i heard too.. and tauhutauhu last time told me somehow 16v have better low end torque :blink:

read from some other forum who fight over which is better 16v vs 20v (wah~ perang saudagar :( ) and got report on same car same amount of mod quater mile 16v won by half a car length.. probably just the driver tho...

eh.. bill sherwood got say 16v can gain more power right? something like "max hp you can get from a 20v is less, 30hp less than a good 16v..." if i'm not mistaken...

logic what, the 20v is already at its most potential where as the 16v is still a basic engine.
just emagine what kind of hp you get when you port and polish, lighten, increase compression, add more throttles on the 16v. [/b][/quote]
pneumatic valve spring again if posible.. 260-280hp?? :blink:

Johny - believe it or not, I put in 20v just because wannabe. I need a car, and I didn't want a normal car and didn't want a slow car.

So, basic 20v is already faster than regular 1.6 and below, so enough for me.

I'm more concern on handling and learning driving from master samurai yolk and Sifu master pendekar. I'm very impressed with their driving.

That QiW - no need to say lah, too fast until cannot see, so cannot learn anything from him.

Same goes for Alvin @ tom's - too fast cannot see

BTW, study of engine is important because some times I can follow sifu sifus sekalian then they not full throttle.

But I don't know why and don't know how that they can corner 140 using 5th gear, but I have to corner using 3rd.

If not because I use high rev - which have extra gripping due to rpm x torque. Sure cannot follow one.

and also sif00 chin...Qiw car now damm kao blardy fast liow....dc5 also loose at highway :ph34r:

But I don't know why and don't know how that they can corner 140 using 5th gear, but I have to corner using 3rd.

:blink: 140km/h in 5th gear with a high revving engine? won't loose power meh? 'sifoo' title not for show ar... :D i also want to learn.... corner lazy shift down...

Originally posted by Acoustic@Feb 19 2005, 01:09
Johny - believe it or not, I put in 20v just because wannabe. I need a car, and I didn't want a normal car and didn't want a slow car.

I'm more concern on handling and learning driving from master samurai yolk and Sifu master pendekar. I'm very impressed with their driving.
u wan low end power, u dont want slow car, dun wan a normal car ... VTEC then hahaha
i believe u play vtec sure damn kaw fast one, that 1 engine need technology ecu is most important to set the high low cams ignition map for high low and also different fuel map....

4AG is different story.. the 20v + 4 throttle let the intake breath too much at low end. you cannot have both thing in this world, u want low end then no top end ... cams timing won't help much.. just a bit better, for me i will push up the max power for the top end. port the head with open throttle, 4-1 extractor, 2.5" exhaust, adjust the cam timing to max up the power band above 4000rpm.. run lower advance timing and so on... thats will help on ur handling cos most power is contant and flat above top end..

with stock cam it still can move and drive at street .. no worry..

Originally posted by Acoustic@Feb 19 2005, 01:09

That QiW - no need to say lah, too fast until cannot see, so cannot learn anything from him.

Same goes for Alvin @ tom's - too fast cannot see

BTW, study of engine is important because some times I can follow sifu sifus sekalian then they not full throttle.

If not because I use high rev - which have extra gripping due to rpm x torque. Sure cannot follow one.
if you want to learn how to drive (handling) then you should get an engine with a wide powerband to learn on first. if you go straight to th 20v you will be overloaded and learn slower than a guy who learns on the 16v.
trust me, i learn the hard way. even experts will tell you to up-grade the engine in stages as your skill progress. so choose carefully.

Oh, nevermind lah, I'm more stupid than other people when it comes to driving, cannot even follow LE :( - so shameful ........

So I drive 20v, because wannabe only, learning driving also not serious, hahahahhaha.

Originally posted by Acoustic@Feb 19 2005, 18:35
Oh, nevermind lah, I'm more stupid than other people when it comes to driving, cannot even follow LE :( - so shameful ........

So I drive 20v, because wannabe only, learning driving also not serious, hahahahhaha.
oh.. acoustic taikor is Nobuhiko stile ar? damn good in car mechanicle but not so good in driving so loose to hachiroku in first hairpin :lol: jk jk...

I'm no body lah, no skill, no foresight also ........

advance driving, no need lah, I play car leisure only, not serious one.

my website not impressive lah, I just cover small small things other people don't want to cover. Because it's too easy for them, that's all.

Originally posted by Acoustic@Feb 20 2005, 01:32
my website not impressive lah, I just cover small small things other people don't want to cover. Because it's too easy for them, that's all.
and saved alot of trouble for us noobs :lol: no matter what you say alot of us here still want to thank you ar.. and i still haven't thank you for introducing me to zth when i post at toymods :lol:

wan me sembelih ayam thank you or sacrifice something else?? :lol: :lol:

VVT story again, sian lah u guy <_< just change the vvt pulley and get more power and quite engine lah :ph34r:

:P kesian sifoo chin... do not be disheartened..

i agree with rollakid, u r still doing something good for the learners in this forum, there was a time when i was stupid as well, n u're the one who came and opened my eyes.. perhaps u may not be able to show the experts a thing or 2 but u are still my idol and an idol for all the car noobies out there. the discoveries u've made are still appreciated by most ppl hehe..

and btw, who else la we gonna hentam for laughs and friendly fun :lol: wakakaka

Originally posted by TE27levin@Feb 18 2005, 10:58
ok then..
anyone willing to test?
put both stock 20v with VVT and without VVT together to run in 1/4mile???
some say with VVT the engine so good, and without also so good...
prove it.. kekeke
i agree. i will fully support the sprint test. If the vvt less win the race, come buy the adjustable pulley from me ( those vvt lover guys who want to bet ) . if let s say the vvt win the race, i will stop selling the adj. pulley for ever :P

anyone ???