Water Temp

mine one no overheat but alway losing water to the overflow tank after only running about 20km.sifu please advise thanks...

My car had a problem b4. After shutdown....radiator water got boiling sound in sparetank. The problem was radiator sumbat....plus leaking from bottom tank. Fix it with a second hand fc radiator. Make sure to do compression test. Now no problem even in traffic jam.

hohohoh... confirmed need rebuild....
your o-rings gone....

here's the theory...

when shutdown... there are still some compression in the rotor housing. your weakened o-ring unable to seal the exhaust gas inside the rotor housing and thus the gas escapes through the o-ring. into your water. there.... the pressure is alot larger than what normal 0.9 bar radiator cap can withstand. thus the pressure escapes through the over-flow tank. you might want to try 1.3 BAR radiator cap to stop that...... temporary solution :) this way might push the water into the rotor housing :) instead of rotor housing push into the water :)

eitherway is bad :) just rebuild.

scaring some of you only... :) that's one of the theory if the radiator is still okay.

Heh!! Heh!!! No-lah....not that bad lor. Now with new second hand radiator after spirited driving no more sound of boiling water plus sparetank level rarely moves now. Temp needle below half even in a jam. Nice.

Ok update.After shilding up the radiator fan area ,flushing the entire cooling system and putting in new coolant.Now the car is running below 100 deg before entering the radiator.Yuppie.Think after some fine tuning to the ECU ,the car will run even cooler.haha

wow!

And to think I panicked when my car hit 101c.

Hmmm....are you running very lean?

Yipes!!! I better get an aftermarket water temp gauge too. The stock one doesn't tell the whole truth ,I guess....:omg_smile:

elsm80 said:
wow!

And to think I panicked when my car hit 101c.

Hmmm....are you running very lean?
Nope .I am running pretty rich instead.

theseira said:
Yipes!!! I better get an aftermarket water temp gauge too. The stock one doesn't tell the whole truth ,I guess....:omg_smile:
Yup u should .And they are pretty old already by now.Dont know if its telling the truth or not.

thats good to hear. try running toyota coolants they work well with my setup.

phat7 said:
cruising allows for lots of air to be pushed thru the radiator so by right it should not overheat.check you thermostat and water pump belt for slippage. have you done the champagne test?

how to do champagne test?

make sure the engine is cold...

start the engine...
open the filler cap...
the water should slowly come up...
spot for champagne like bubbly...

initial stage a little is normal.. due to the water pump spinning and whacking the water... after awhile.. if the bubbly keep coming up ended up like your jug of beer... then bad news for you.