WALD no more

IMO wald is just another ripped off co. used by a local co. to bend the rules in order to get the AP. other specialist co. only sell one brand of vehicle, wald is selling anything just by adding some bodykits.

yea..but if gomen banned wald brand, mean lesser import cars, cuz gomen sy tat they will slowly cut down imports sport cars.. n wald is dealing with sporty cars lo... so gan the gomen.

399 said:
IMO wald is just another ripped off co. used by a local co. to bend the rules in order to get the AP. other specialist co. only sell one brand of vehicle, wald is selling anything just by adding some bodykits.

erm i think gover shouldnt do this..!!they pay so much tax for the goverment...gover banned them means they lose some tax money...!!izit a good idea to ban .....??

ya...but they will get back their earnings by selling more poton this way... :) end of the day, i think the AP shd only be issue to those who can bring in a proper car manufacturer brand, not some bodykit, accessories co. anyhow i believe sooner or later we can purchase VW gti from DRB-hicom.

In my opinion, people who can afford WALD cars, most likely won't consider buying a PROTON if they can no longer get any WALD cars. I think the government is saying that issue is more on the fact that WALD cannot be technically considered as a "car manufacturer". Thus, I am guessing that you should still be able to bring in WALD tuned cars, but must declare under "Toyota" or "VW" as car manufacturer on the AP and registration. The whole problem started because a group of people decided to abuse the system by guising up WALD as a "car manufacturer" on documents. You can easily argue for this case by looking up the car chassis number... I doubt WALD cars would have their own chassis numbering system as they would still retain the original chassis number from VW or Toyota.

Having said all that, from a selfish point of view, I don't think it would hurt to have WALD around. It's more competition for the seller and more choices for consumers. Plus, extra revenue for the government for as long as WALD cars are not under-declared.

This whole thing about the AP started with PROTON not doing well because apparently the market was flooded with under-declared imported cars that was eating up PROTON's market share. I just cannot see that WALD is in anyway a threat to PROTON... they are just simply on a totally different price bracket! So, why is WALD taking the hit on this one?

I guess it's all about the business and making most of every oppurtunity to get rid of competition by taking advantage of the given situation. Like most scandals... the case cannot be closed without a scapegoat!

Juz my two cents.

Rafidah give a good excuuse to media y she banned.....WALD tidak mengikut procedure untuk memohon AP...wtf

IMHO, this AP, Proton saga, whoever wins, we rakyats are at the losing end. Just like the tagline from Alien vs Predator (AvP), "Whoever wins, we lose"

Proton wins, we would be still driving 20 years old technology car without any compulsory safety devices like airbags and ABS. Decent cars are being priced way above their real price and the budget of average joe. 9 years loan for a new car!

AP wins, yes, we get more variety of cars, but the pricing of the cars remains a big question mark (low declaration of car price, and sold to consumers at virtually inflated price, imagine the profit margin of the several big AP holders), we get abuse of AP system (available to "selected" few, who some sells the AP), and govt loss of tax revenue at the expense of "selected" few, and we rakyats are the ones who suffer (price of goods increases)

So, whoever wins, we lose!

My RM 0.00000002

PS. AP issues are a bit quiet lately. Sweet underneath the carpet, and pretend nothing happenned?

I just saw a news paper this morning, thy are confirmed that will stop AP to wald. :(

and still have a lots of buyer are keep close telephone to wald, how was the status now, because they already pay the deposit , but the car still stuck at JPJ there, cannot make a register. What was happening on those ???? !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have feel happy last time because we have a national car, but now the answer is " NO " because I start to feel that now we have lost freedom to choice, because of our national car.. :( when they will be have a mature and positive thinking ???

boyzone said:
I just saw a news paper this morning, thy are confirmed that will stop AP to wald. :(

and still have a lots of buyer are keep close telephone to wald, how was the status now, because they already pay the deposit , but the car still stuck at JPJ there, cannot make a register. What was happening on those ???? !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have feel happy last time because we have a national car, but now the answer is " NO " because I start to feel that now we have lost freedom to choice, because of our national car.. :( when they will be have a mature and positive thinking ???

just confirmed over the weekend in thestar. 37 "wald" cars have been detained at customs. Reason? the cars have all been imported into the country and declared at RM11,000 each. I wonder how much tax one pays for a CBU car costing only RM11,000.. hmm?

btw boyzone, why so sad that wald lost their AP? dont we already have so many choices in the car market? Other than national cars, we can buy evos, subarus, 350Z, RX8, skylines, brabus, amg, mahindras from india, skodas, VW cars from other import car dealers...all manner of korean cars, japanese makes, SUVs, 4wds, MPVs and so many more.

Isn't it nice of the g to start clamping on the operation of this rip-off company for us gullible M'sian. Maybe it is the first step before the g go after other rebranded rip-off.

gary said:
just confirmed over the weekend. 37 "wald" cars have been detained at customs. Reason? the cars have all been imported into the country and declared at RM11,000 each. I wonder how much tax one pays for a CBU car costing only RM11,000.. hmm?
even a second hand kancil cost more than RM11k, man.

is that means that the "non-complian" shit is to cover Amazing Tempo's ass?

Will78 said:
In my opinion, people who can afford WALD cars, most likely won't consider buying a PROTON if they can no longer get any WALD cars. I think the government is saying that issue is more on the fact that WALD cannot be technically considered as a "car manufacturer". Thus, I am guessing that you should still be able to bring in WALD tuned cars, but must declare under "Toyota" or "VW" as car manufacturer on the AP and registration. The whole problem started because a group of people decided to abuse the system by guising up WALD as a "car manufacturer" on documents. You can easily argue for this case by looking up the car chassis number... I doubt WALD cars would have their own chassis numbering system as they would still retain the original chassis number from VW or Toyota.

Having said all that, from a selfish point of view, I don't think it would hurt to have WALD around. It's more competition for the seller and more choices for consumers. Plus, extra revenue for the government for as long as WALD cars are not under-declared.

This whole thing about the AP started with PROTON not doing well because apparently the market was flooded with under-declared imported cars that was eating up PROTON's market share. I just cannot see that WALD is in anyway a threat to PROTON... they are just simply on a totally different price bracket! So, why is WALD taking the hit on this one?

I guess it's all about the business and making most of every oppurtunity to get rid of competition by taking advantage of the given situation. Like most scandals... the case cannot be closed without a scapegoat!

Juz my two cents.

yep, since dr m complained that he got a flu due to too many AP floating around, MITI has to find a scapegoat & the biggest one around at the moment is AT.

GT3 said:
isit?? well personally i kinda like that noise..

Doesnt feel as viscious as other clutchless gearbox....
When i test drove it, gearchanges was pretty smooth on the DSG.
And it upshifts for u on the redline. And there's a "S" gear for u for ppl like me who dont know how to change gears but like to have a viscious and aggressive automatic gearshift programme.
I liked the pedal shifts as it's the 1st time i've come across with shift pedals that's mounted on the steering wheel other than the silly Selespeed on the Alfa ( U can change gears when u're turnning, though its a bad driving habit). I believe the Ferrari semi automatic and the bmw smg shift pedals are dead mounted and hence u need to change gears b4 u attack the corner( which is the correct method hehe).

satria_95 said:
k3vi3,
Dude, audi got cars that comes stock with 400+ bhp? Mind me asking what model would that be? Never actually realized that audi has such high bhp models.

stock audi that makes 400+bhp? gooot lah!
how about 420 bhp? a V8 4163 cc, makes 430Nm@5500 rpm
it's the RS4 saloon.
http://www.germancarfans.com/news/2050222.008/2050222.008.1M.jpg

HKS-GT2835R said:
stock audi that makes 400+bhp? gooot lah!
how about 420 bhp? a V8 4163 cc, makes 430Nm@5500 rpm
it's the RS4 saloon.
http://www.germancarfans.com/news/2050222.008/2050222.008.1M.jpg
Friend, heard that this cost around RM500K. Do you have the price for this car? if yes, then this is more expensive than supercharged Merc.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
I liked the pedal shifts as it's the 1st time i've come across with shift pedals that's mounted on the steering wheel other than the silly Selespeed on the Alfa ( U can change gears when u're turnning, though its a bad driving habit). I believe the Ferrari semi automatic and the bmw smg shift pedals are dead mounted and hence u need to change gears b4 u attack the corner( which is the correct method hehe).

Lots of discussion about this topic on the internet.
Some argue about the correct shifting meathod before turning.
Some claim that they need to turn and shift while drving in traffic.
Some even compare it to F1 cars(which have pedals that turn with the steering)

I think the best compromise is still to mount the pedals on the wheel itself. Everybody can be happy.

BlackSamurai said:
Friend, heard that this cost around RM500K. Do you have the price for this car? if yes, then this is more expensive than supercharged Merc.

IIRC it's something like £49,980 back in UK.
which translates to RM 347,265.00..
whatever the price is, you're right..the price is a bit on the 'ouch' side..

BlackSamurai said:

You friend is super!!! Coz the car is not even for sale yet.
It "should" cost ~75kUSD, if converted directly (x3.8) is only RM285k

And for RM 285k, you can only get a A4 here. (fukkin AP policy)

I highly doubt the RS4 to be that cheap. Even a used S4 (b5 variant) can still go for rm300k in the market.

i saw a preview at dapatauto, a Audi comes with 400hps, which cost around RM500K, i though that's the model. So looks like i'm wrong.
what's the model that dapatauto talk about...hmm