Used EP3

The EO1 engine is beyond the budget that proton can pay...even the old 1.8 gsr and 1.6 mivec engine which are cheaper than EO1 were too expensive for proton. But if i were them, I rather make a loss for the sake of marketing/branding and produce a limited edition 200 unit neo.

On another topic about the Neo.....

Guess why Neo R3 team hasn't entered the MSS supersixteen only till this year?

Well it seems that, as good as the Neo R3 team did in the 1000km race..... they knew they couldn't contend in MSS against the B16 engined honda's in short sprint races, so rather than develop the engine more, they "offered" SIC to change the rules....It seems that SIC has made changes in the rules for 2010 so that all the b16 honda's will have to use air restrictor plates (can lower engine performance by 30%) but the Neo R3 doesn't....
(info source from a team in MSS S16)

So this year...if you see the Neo R3 team brag about winning the MSS supersixteen beating all the VTEC, just remember how they won...

A pity really, coz I'd really be tempted if they realeased a Neo with a EO1 engine...

Me too! I seen and heard the GTI EO1 take off full blast at the traffic lights before, I was right behind it. It goes like stink and sounded superb! Subcon can vouch to this also...

But if i were them, I rather make a loss for the sake of marketing/branding and produce a limited edition 200 unit neo.

Agree... thats what proton should have done at the very least...

IFFF they win....

but damn, i heard a lot of parties are dissatisfied with the new MSS ruling. sort of like giving the 'competitive advantage' to the less-able party in a highly competitive racing series. that's not fair i guess.

anyways aren't we all living in the conspiracy-driven world?

i love conspiracies...............miahahahaha..

Wow... interesting Neo. Extra 30K in mods? What mods were involved?

R3 has definately done a wonderful job, but it was Proton who were kinda a bit disappointing when the new NEO cps came out. The old GTI was much closer to being a true hot hatch, and its tuning potentials was really good. So i was kinda hoping, the pedigree would be passed on but it didn't quite... except in the handling deptm maybe... and also in the NEO styling deptm i might add...

What would have been really-really nice was, if by some crazy stroke of luck and genius the NEO came with the EO1 engine by petronas, that would have given the vtec boys a real run for their money...

Yes thats right, the design of the car is already to my liking, but if it was powered by something close to honda's b16b i would have considered buying it and not the integra :biggrin: cheaper and new car! hahahahahaha

The restrictor measuring 24mm diameter and 3mm thickness is for all variable valve timing engine which includes VTEC, VVTI, and not forgetting Campro CPS. So, most of the proton track cars now prefer to use the non-cps engine for the race.
I heard, the new ruling for the restrictor is because they want to get more entries from south east asia cars.

south east asia cars proton jelah :biggrin:

Kijang? :biggrin: or the indonesian car that is the same as Kia sephia? considered SEA. But this practice of using retainers to limit the airflow is it an international practice? do they apply it in other international races as well? :confused:

hahah bro... tula ko, lame menghilang.... i wanna play satria neo cps after dis... :biggrin: :thefinger:

I sell my car alredy la En Lan n Syadiq dun wnt me 2 cmpnt him anymore. Ko sirius ke nk amik Neo En Lan?? boleh ke bwk kete plan2 g :aetsch:

Me too! I seen and heard the GTI EO1 take off full blast at the traffic lights before, I was right behind it. It goes like stink and sounded superb! Subcon can vouch to this also...

do you mean the GP plate no GTI?its using E01W?or which car?cool

Kijang? :biggrin: or the indonesian car that is the same as Kia sephia? considered SEA. But this practice of using retainers to limit the airflow is it an international practice? do they apply it in other international races as well? :confused:

The air restrictor ruling is something thats used in alot of races around the world to limit the power of the cars. The problem is not about the air restictors but how its implemented......it's like having 2 sets of rules for the same race......I they want to implement it do it to all the cars to make it fair....or just ban altoghter VTEC,VVTI,DVVT,etc or make 2 categories in that race like SuperGT.....can what....

Its like telling Usain Bolt to race with Watson Nyambeck but Bolt can only use one foot...

Just 1 thing im wondering.....what if they use VTEC killer cams?......technically theres no more valve timing?? right?

haha...true, but aren't killer cams more for short burst events like drag, not really suitable for circuit racing?

If I'm not mistaken, Toda developed killer cams for touring races (BTCC & JTCC)

People, we should not confuse VTC-killer and V-tec killer profiles ..... they're quite radically different.

i have heard rumours there was a couple of dc5's running vtc-killer pulleys as daily drive though, dunno if that's true :biggrin:

People, we should not confuse VTC-killer and V-tec killer profiles ..... they're quite radically different.

i have heard rumours there was a couple of dc5's running vtc-killer pulleys as daily drive though, dunno if that's true :biggrin:

Whats the significant difference and advantage of using VTC killer?

Technically VTC removes the 'intelligent' function of the ivtec thus enabling an easier camshafts setting. Since cam degreeing in a K-series are way more complicated (due to the presence of VTC) than B-series, tuners decided to go back to the roots of vtec tuning, that is by disabling the VTC.. Correct me if Im wrong.

well , i'm no expert , but i believe it's to enable adjustment for optimum angle during extreme high rev .................

our standard pulleys are constantly adjusted by the ecu to range from 0 to 50 degrees, with 10 degree intervals.

i think need experienced engine builder to comment on this :biggrin: