Hi sifus, I have a 2000 Wira 1.5 with the 4G15 MMC engine (also has 5-speed manual) which I plan to turn into a project car of sorts.
Not planning to turn this into a pure track-oriented car, I just want to have some high-speed fun on the weekends.
I won't layan any suggestions for engine swaps as I am in Pulau Langkawi and resources here are limited + I am not confident in my regular mechanics' abilities to do an engine swap with minimal issues (Though if I do have the resources, I do want to sumbat in a twincam 4G93)
So what I plan to do with the engine is to drop in a 272 degree highcam, high comp pistons and the obligatory air filter, exhaust, and suspension upgrades.
Some questions I have:
* What gains would I get from using high comp pistons that are the same size as the standard ones and is it worth it? (I have limited resources so boring out the block for 1.6 stroker kit is not an option)
* Can the standard valve springs (no, I won't reuse the original ones that came with the car) work with the 272 cam or would I have to upgrade those as well?
* Would the extractor from the Wira SE be good enough or are there better aftermarket brands?
* What else would I have to work on regarding the engine head, electronics and internals? (I plan to stay NA with this project so no turbo or supercharger pls... also I am aware that not everything can simply PnP)
* Since I do have a performance radiator on-hand, would I need to change the radiator fan as well? (I haven't installed the rad yet btw)
* How much effort would it take to tune the MMC ECU? (I've heard the VDO one can be quite difficult to work with when tuning)
Also I am looking for recommendations on things like:
* Adjustables or performance absorber brands
* Appropriate head gasket material + size
* Clutch type (like OEM, heavy duty etc) and brands
* Any shop within Kedah or Perlis that can do ECU jobs
Not planning to turn this into a pure track-oriented car, I just want to have some high-speed fun on the weekends.
I won't layan any suggestions for engine swaps as I am in Pulau Langkawi and resources here are limited + I am not confident in my regular mechanics' abilities to do an engine swap with minimal issues (Though if I do have the resources, I do want to sumbat in a twincam 4G93)
So what I plan to do with the engine is to drop in a 272 degree highcam, high comp pistons and the obligatory air filter, exhaust, and suspension upgrades.
Some questions I have:
* What gains would I get from using high comp pistons that are the same size as the standard ones and is it worth it? (I have limited resources so boring out the block for 1.6 stroker kit is not an option)
* Can the standard valve springs (no, I won't reuse the original ones that came with the car) work with the 272 cam or would I have to upgrade those as well?
* Would the extractor from the Wira SE be good enough or are there better aftermarket brands?
* What else would I have to work on regarding the engine head, electronics and internals? (I plan to stay NA with this project so no turbo or supercharger pls... also I am aware that not everything can simply PnP)
* Since I do have a performance radiator on-hand, would I need to change the radiator fan as well? (I haven't installed the rad yet btw)
* How much effort would it take to tune the MMC ECU? (I've heard the VDO one can be quite difficult to work with when tuning)
Also I am looking for recommendations on things like:
* Adjustables or performance absorber brands
* Appropriate head gasket material + size
* Clutch type (like OEM, heavy duty etc) and brands
* Any shop within Kedah or Perlis that can do ECU jobs