tyre sidewall bulging

Zeroshift

Hi guys, need some advice.

I've just gotten a set of new inspira 17" tyre n rim from a 1 day old brand new inspira. The ori tyre that came with it was continental MC5. After few days of driving, i found that 1 of tyre sidewall start to develop a small bulge, i was wondering is it possible get a claim from continental since its fairly new?

I Mean its literally a new tyre out from the factory, the tyre date is 3712, which is not even a year old. I'm pretty its a tyre defect as i've nvr hit any big poth hole nor there is sidewall damage.

Just to check, did anybody successfully claim a defective tyre before?

sure can claim. provided you didn't change the standard rims to other aftermarket rims....as many would conveniently refuse your claim (by giving a lot of BS) by saying your problem was caused by the aftermarket rims....

So you claim before? How do i claim for this? Call up continental and go to their office to claim?

My rim is still the standard 2.0p 17 inch rim, so i guess it shouldnt be a problem to claim then...

bro, since your car is new and under warranty, send the car back to the p1 SC.

Basically, my car is not new, only the rims n tyres are from a new inspira.

Anyway, i've check with proton and they told me to check with continental directly on the tyre problem. If its a manufacturing defect, they told me continental will change it.

So for now, i'll just have to wait till monday and call continental up and see what they say.

oh ic. I thought your new tyres comes with a new car, both under warranty.

If that is the case, perhaps you should refer to the tyre manufacturer instead.

Ok. Manage to claim my tyre under warranty FOC. Paid for labour only.

Where did you change the tyre? At Continental or Dealers place?
Not sure of MC5 model, but just take note and check regularly. Have many complaints of bulging from CSC5 and CSC3 models....

i claim before but only get rm 70 i think. (Not sure i kena con or not because i thought get new tyre )

Before claim they ask me buy new tyre rm220/rm230 i can't remember exact price. Then after few weeks they call me and give me money.

tyre is Goodyear duraplus. 6month usage and i think i run about 20000km .

They give me a lot of excuses like old tyres, manufacture at xxxx when i try to argue .
Lazy to hear and i jus sign and take the money.

i claim before but only get rm 70 i think. (Not sure i kena con or not because i thought get new tyre )

Before claim they ask me buy new tyre rm220/rm230 i can't remember exact price. Then after few weeks they call me and give me money.

tyre is Goodyear duraplus. 6month usage and i think i run about 20000km .

They give me a lot of excuses like old tyres, manufacture at xxxx when i try to argue .
Lazy to hear and i jus sign and take the money.

Bro., tyre claims refund goes by the thread pattern balance (The lowest part). This means if thread pattern balance 50% you get 50% only. Since you have done 20k km already could be half bald already so they pay according to thread pattern balance. You will never get claims in full 100%

FYI, all tyre maker claim policy
1. If the tyre are from manufacturer defect, they only compensate base on RTD(Remaining Tread Depth). Mean if tyre worn 50%, u only compensate 50% claim, not include labour charge or what so ever.

Btw, u so lucky they accept your claim, as small bulging in sidewall or they call CBU(Cord Break-Up) normally happen when the tyre hit road hole under certain speed.
Only few rare case that it could happen due to rubber lamination, or other fact, but Continental QC is not that cheap like what Indo or China brand do.

thats why checking is very important...if you have check tires earlier could be can solve easily?
Always checked the Tread Pattern of tires whether got excessive wear
See the Side wall of tires whether punctures by foreign or sharp objects or poor repair or any air leak.
Check whether Vehicle got vibrate while driving? It could be due to poor balance, poor alignment or mismatch of vehicle steering system and suspension. Be watchful if Vehicle Goes to the Left or Right Side on the Flat Road Surface. Check your workshop to check if any of thing happened

thats why checking is very important...if you have check tires earlier could be can solve easily?
Always checked the Tread Pattern of tires whether got excessive wear
See the Side wall of tires whether punctures by foreign or sharp objects or poor repair or any air leak.
Check whether Vehicle got vibrate while driving? It could be due to poor balance, poor alignment or mismatch of vehicle steering system and suspension. Be watchful if Vehicle Goes to the Left or Right Side on the Flat Road Surface. Check your workshop to check if any of thing happened

thanks for the tips.
Last time I am Goodyear fans... but I find that the centre part of treads tends to wear off very fast!I am sure that I m using correct air pressure...could be not suit my car?? Right now under my friend recommendation.. I have change my 4 tires to Michelin Energy XM2...and have used it for 3 years and it still looks fine although already in long mileage .

Checking car is very important ...but no one will bother lo..not everyone will check their car before move la..thats why always happened accident...Some people drive so fast even on bad condition road...kena sharp edge sure gone la..

Additional tips here.
Avoid impact against pot holes on the road.
Try to slow down if the road surface is uneven
Correct tyre pressure and tyre balancing after you have installed new tires or repair your tires.
Accurate balancing will double ensure you are fully secure down the road and your tires can last more longer.
just my 2cents. cheers.

WTF. Why labour? Its their problem?
You paid time and petrol. Why pay more?

At first i was thinking not to pay as well, but in order to get the thing done fast, i decided to pay to save the hassle. Anyway, they did balancing for the tyre as well, so it's ok for me if some $$ can settle it.

Where did you change the tyre? At Continental or Dealers place?
Not sure of MC5 model, but just take note and check regularly. Have many complaints of bulging from CSC5 and CSC3 models....

You can call up continental and normally they will assigned you to their dealer nearest to you. So i went to one of the continental dealer near kelana jaya and got it check and change there. Mine the bulging was from the place where the tyres are joint together (it's not very obvious, luckily i put tyre shine on my tyre, so light reflection make it look obvious):biggrin:.

At first i was told it was safe to use, but they say if i insist want to change, so they call the continental guy to come and inspect. So i said i want to change for the sake of safety. I'm not going to risk tyre bursting when driving man..:thefinger:

After Checking, the guy from Continental agree to change it for me.

---------- Post added at 04:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:47 PM ----------

Additional tips here.
Avoid impact against pot holes on the road.
Try to slow down if the road surface is uneven
Correct tyre pressure and tyre balancing after you have installed new tires or repair your tires.
Accurate balancing will double ensure you are fully secure down the road and your tires can last more longer.
just my 2cents. cheers.

Tyre pressure is important, i saw another myvi tyre that was blow up, but unable to claim as they found the cause was due to low tyre pressure.

At first i was thinking not to pay as well, but in order to get the thing done fast, i decided to pay to save the hassle. Anyway, they did balancing for the tyre as well, so it's ok for me if some $$ can settle it.

You can call up continental and normally they will assigned you to their dealer nearest to you. So i went to one of the continental dealer near kelana jaya and got it check and change there. Mine the bulging was from the place where the tyres are joint together (it's not very obvious, luckily i put tyre shine on my tyre, so light reflection make it look obvious):biggrin:.

At first i was told it was safe to use, but they say if i insist want to change, so they call the continental guy to come and inspect. So i said i want to change for the sake of safety. I'm not going to risk tyre bursting when driving man..:thefinger:

After Checking, the guy from Continental agree to change it for me.

---------- Post added at 04:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:47 PM ----------

Tyre pressure is important, i saw another myvi tyre that was blow up, but unable to claim as they found the cause was due to low tyre pressure.

If done at dealers place then have to pay labor. Free labor if done at tyre factory SC...

Yup, if even got slight bulge, claim them. As you say never know if it will burst especially during driving at higher speed....:banghead:

Yes, with low tyre pressure the tyre heats up very faster....:smokin:

my previous proton saga was blown up too.. due to too high pressure and the sharp object on the highway.. luckily i did not brake.. otherwise i wont be here typing reply..
anyway, have changed to michelin XM2 now. i better be more careful with tires thing. sometimes the FAQ in this website is quite useful . http://www.michelin.com.my/Products-Services/Car-SUV-LT/passenger_car/Energy_XM2.html