type-r distributor on B16A...possible?

tourment: last week got gathering in pg also never tell me...i was there

wat gathering in pg la...i also dunno wan...:confused: HCOC gathering kah??

since distributor sumtime fail without giving any advance notice, issit wise to keep one as spare in the spare tire place?...

dat why i consider changin to type-r dizzy lor, should be more reliable rite. anyways i dun think keep one in the spare tire place make sense la, maybe keep at home can oredy...

one time my distributor kong while driving at PLUS highway at 6:30 pm near kajang...the damn thingy inside melted for some reason...then the "highway helper" helped find and replace the small brush inside only, cost me rm350 right there...damn it....only to see whole damn thing fail again the day after....later hafta spend anotha rm300 for a recon distributor set...then baru ok....next time better keep spare in the car....

melted coil?:eek: hmmm....maybe it is wiser to juz switch to a external coil setup.

Riezal-R said:
Hmm thats wierd. I had to do some wiring work to get the EG6 ECU to work with my '99 spec wiring and that included tapping a wire from an EG6 distributor. Had to get rid of my CTR distributor. Damn.

mean after u did the wiring u remove the type-r distributor?

had the same prob, went to SS Racing for a B18CR distributor, if got money, go for MSD lah...for sure more reliable what...at the cost of so many $$$ leh...the B18CR distributor have to be slightly modded ( dunno, done by the SS staff ) in order to fit B16A properly I guess..

ace79 said:
had the same prob, went to SS Racing for a B18CR distributor, if got money, go for MSD lah...for sure more reliable what...at the cost of so many $$$ leh...the B18CR distributor have to be slightly modded ( dunno, done by the SS staff ) in order to fit B16A properly I guess..

B18CR dietributor at SS Racing ? used item ? how much ?

Oderf said:
B18CR dietributor at SS Racing ? used item ? how much ?

paid RM 400++, including the wiring mod...just bring RM 500, sure get extra one..but nowadays dunno still have stocks or not..i myself will find one or two B18CR's for extra, just in case, or save money go MSD lohh..

ace79 said:
paid RM 400++, including the wiring mod...just bring RM 500, sure get extra one..but nowadays dunno still have stocks or not..i myself will find one or two B18CR's for extra, just in case, or save money go MSD lohh..

bro, how do we differentiate between those Rs n normal B16A distributors by their outlook ?

errr...sorry ler..but I don't see any difference in them, but I do feel a slight increase in pickup ler...in this case, you hafta trust the guy who's claiming to sell such stuff, unless he's selling MSD, Moroso etc lah..

that's d problem la.... im afraid i might be cheated lol...

some pics that might help....

B16A DIstributor - upper view
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/distri-b16a-up.jpg

Type-R Distributor - upper view
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/distri-type-r-up.jpg

B16A Distributor - bottom view
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/distri-b16a-bottom.jpg

Type R Distributor - bottom view
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/distri-type-r-bottom.jpg

ha..thanks hattech-v...good guidelines bro...tomolo i'll check mine lah

Mie, thanks a bunch. that will definitely help a lot.... btw, what r those 2 screws for ?