Advice needed for converting auto to manual

D_clothes

Fellow hondarians ,

Need some help on converting my auto B16A to a manual . What else do i need besides a Manual Gear box ? Can someone give me a listof item needed for an auto B16A to be convert to a Manual one ........

auto to manual...item needed to change

just done mine last month...n share wif u some exp...

1.find a good condition gb...(mine got sound "tok..tok" wen shift gear..)
2. gb mounting, pedal, shift level,wiring (hole set better), ecu,radiator(not sure)...

my comment:comfort=auto ; power=manual...

good luck guy...nowaday...so hard to find those item seperately...:X-:

How much did u spend ?

and how much for the gb mounting , pedal , shift level , wiring

Any other advice from fellow experience owner ?

This is what I did

B16A DA8 auto -> manual

- manual gearbox + flywheel + clutch
- clutch cable (small vtec maaa)
- the whole shifter thingy
- manual paddle set
- ecu rechipped
- some minor re-wirings

p/s: driveshaft i'm a bit unsure, because last time my driveshaft was kong and replaced when the swap took place

roughly it looks the same , y some have gearbox mounting some dun have ?

n how much would it cost for the mouting ,pedal, shift level ?

if ur car is auto tranny body, for sure u have to change gb mounting n bracket....(welding work must do on d bracket :emoticon_U: )...

actual price for those item i don noe...but all of it may cost u around 3k minimum...last time i ask 1 chop shop behind submmit for all item around 4k (crazy price...:baring_teeth: ), the boss said he take those item from a eg halfcut...another 1 i ask is around 2.8k..at s.alam...beside kesas (sunfuji)...i din take both offer coz no $$..:embaressed_smile: haha....

i a bit lucky, coz i swap wif another fellow later...i only pay him labour cost for the transmition (rm500 per car ler...total rm 1k...done it at amoil-sunway)

Whoa u lucky guy that is so lucky if ANYOne come across with a guy like that which want to swap please let me know .... PLZ .... Thanks for the advice ...

I heard that B16A auto convert to manual not as powerful like Ori manual engine
coz of different cam setting, comp box...ect... not sure true or not.
D_clothes good luck on ur Quest...

how much the cost and where did you convert it ? Some of my fren said the LSD gb itself RM3.6K ++, labour around RM500. Other fren said below RM3K including pedal, shift level. I also plan to convert from auto to manual but still looking the actual cost.

patpaty said:
just done mine last month...n share wif u some exp...

1.find a good condition gb...(mine got sound "tok..tok" wen shift gear..)
2. gb mounting, pedal, shift level,wiring (hole set better), ecu,radiator(not sure)...

my comment:comfort=auto ; power=manual...

good luck guy...nowaday...so hard to find those item seperately...:X-:

i have got a few place the price is around there 3+++ .
But i think is unreasonable for that price . The gear box is only about 1800 from the chop shop ... that's y i am asking how much is the gb mounting and the peddal and stuff , i dun believe it is as expensive as the gearbox it self .

semutapi : yeah i think so but is better than auto right ? The reason i think should be 2 things only .... one may be is the camshaft and 2 may be is the valve .... because i heard some ppl say they have diffrent valve with the intake and exhaust .. but i shall see when i really convert and will ask my mechanic .

yeah... your right. This mean must spend more money on cam and valve.
Hope you can find somebody that want to use auto and swap all thing together.

**Moral of the story is think deeply either want buy a manual car or auto car at first place. Cheers......

my fren just done his EK3 & SO3 .. both convert from auto to manual gearbox .. that EK3 convert to B16A .. cost bout RM8k .. then my fren SO3 convert auto to manual .. RM2.8k .. price include to make from auto to manual .. + rear disc brake (fullset) .. then he add RM1k .. for change his clutch,timing belt,bla2 bla2.. this n that .. so total RM3.8K ..

but for convert auto to manual - RM2.8K .. this price is with full rear disc brake (fullset) ..

conversion done at Sri Muda Section 25 Shah Alam. . at KYM Motorsports.

forgot about the gearbox mounting... yes that need to be modified too

semutapi said:
I heard that B16A auto convert to manual not as powerful like Ori manual engine
coz of different cam setting, comp box...ect... not sure true or not.
D_clothes good luck on ur Quest...
that one no hal punya....

next time save a little bit more budget and swap in type-r cams :shades_smile:

attn soulfly, patpaty:

sumone who'd dunnit said even the starter needs 2 b changed...

i know that ecu is remappable tho; main thing is 2 make the ecu
think dat gbox is always in N post. so dat chklite wont nyala 24-7.
stok honda oto map & manual is confirm diff.

camshaft is a debatable topic. some sez same spec others sez diff.

computer box i got kang tao so no worries ...
I just feel weird , how much can the paddle , the gear stick thingy and gearbox mounting can cost ?

but something sure is kept me wondering , how much can the gear paddle , the gearbox mounting and the gear stick thingy cost alone ?

Well, I got an EG6 Auto also... been looking around.
Takasuki at segambut quoted me RM4000 with all parts needed + 800 for workmanship. I did not take the offer....

Meanwhile, i would suggest that you invenst in a halfcut. My car 14 years liao and i am planning to get a manual SIR2 with LSD halfcut to put aside first. You can buy the 1/2 cut for about RM6500. You can always keep the parts first then use it when required or slowly sell the parts away bit by bit to recover the cost. This way, you have all the valve, starter, peddle, shifter, dashboard, suspension, ecu and all the other parts that you may need to use on the car or to recover the ost of your gear box.

but something sure is kept me wondering , how much can the gear paddle , the gearbox mounting and the gear stick thingy cost alone ?

Well for these part, they will normally charge a bomb as chop shops prefer not to dismantle any of their half cuts.

Try looking for the parts at shops that do a lot of convesions. They will probably be able to give you a good price. Normal Machanics may see all these parts as junk, bunk to the chop shop fellow its gold!

Anyways good luck. If you come across any good place, maybe you can recomend to me too as i also want to convert using as little $$$ as i can.

yo bros, borrow your thread k, i also wanna convert from auto b18c to manual, can help me abit?? what is the diff between the final ration 4.4 and 4.785. and around how much can is the gb. full convert.. izzit the same as the b16 or more ex.? pls help out... thank you... maybe you can intro someone that does the conversions too...