turbosmart manual boost controller

andy ng, boost creep is actually the slow boost rise (hence creep) after your max boost is achieved. Usually this happens when there is a change in exhaust flow. Having a big down pipe usually promotes this.

You can solve this by whacking in an external wastegate or porting your internal wastegate.

As for mbc allowing you to reach full boost faster i guess the theory sounds right, but again, its only a theory until someone data logs rpm vs load (boost). Also on the same gear please :lol:

also, i always hear ppl talk about 'faster spool' what does this mean? The time it takes to hit 0psi? the time it takes for boost to increase rapidly? or the time to reach full boost?

check valve

hi joeker, all,

maybe this website might give a clearer picture.
this guy is selling his MBC which is actually a check valve like turbosmart.
unlike a bleeder, this has a spring and ball to shut off the pressure seen by actuator untill the preset pressure is achieved.

http://www.boostvalve.com/moreinfo.html

cheers,

140dB

monsterv6 said:
but turbosmart boost tee easy to leak...not good for big turbo cars...maybe L2 and etc smaller cc and turbo can use that//

i'm using the turbosmart boost tee on a 25G turbo boosting quite high, but no problems so far :) seems da result's a little different from person 2 person and car 2 car lor. satisfied with this simple yet effective boost controller.

As I mentioned before, one has to understand how a Manual Boost Controller works.

Heres a diagram I made of the "block" type MBC. (the other type would be the "bleed" type)

As you can see, the amount of boost before the actuator yields is regulated by adjusting the screw.

The more the screw is tightened, the higher the boost pressure.

It works by applying more tension onto the spring and hence, more boost pressure is needed to "push the ball up".

Unlike the solenoid valve nor a stepping motor of an Electronic Boost Controller, such "block" type MBC does not, as some of you say, "open upon a preset boost pressure".

Even the responsiveness of an EBC is manually dialled in through more or less Gain.

Therefore needless to say, Block or Gated type MBC also "open" slight (well maybe opens slighty less then a bleed type) as boost pressure builds, the spring is pushed little by little until it opens fully. Whilst the spring is moving up wards, the boost pressure is already signalling the acutator to open slightly to bypass exhaust gases.

Therefore I still feel, adding a MBC does not in a MAJOR way, allow one to "improve spool up", neither does it overcome boost creep nor boost spike.

MBC.jpg

i think it should hav no complaint for its price.. ermm.. don shoot me..
juz my 2 cents :D

dolly said:
As for mbc allowing you to reach full boost faster i guess the theory sounds right, but again, its only a theory until someone data logs rpm vs load (boost).

i think pratically, MBC DO accelerate boost up in CERTAIN CONDITIONS.

Especially WHEREBY as long as STOCK BOOST AND STOCK TURBO is cocern, MBC do promote a slight "pull" when using MBC.

However, when comes to hopped up motors with aftermarket boost and turbo, the MCS's role is second fiddled

so, conclusion?? does it help in improving spool up time or no improvement at all... cos from how i see it, even a 0.5secs improvement in spool up time is considered improvement... e.g 1/4mile timing of 0.5secs differences can bring a 10.02sec car down to 9.7secs ...... anyway, improvement or no improvement, im still satisfied with my Turbosmart BC...

i will do a log when i get back from the us, with and without the boost controller lemme log the data then we see :D.

ya i use those stuff a lot.. have used it on cars making 430hps at wheels and no boost spike and no complains whatsoever.. also seen cars running 8sec quater mile in australia also using this turbosmart boost tee only,nuthing fancy so i guess its also awarded some highest achieved product in the sema award in vegas last year. so in general its a very reliable boost controller and its simple and user friendly,best of all value for money. only rm350 for boost tee.