1jz+tulang ikan=boost spike...help!

jon3171

hey there just wondering if anyone can help me with this problem. Im running a 1jz-gte with stock twin turbo...in the standard setting boost is perfect...hitting 0.7bar everytime...the moment i added "tulang ikan" my boost starts spiking....even though i close all the taps on the tulang ikan....it should give me 0.7which is the standard boost BUT it spikes up to 1bar or more instead....all the hoses are brand new samco silicone...so im pretty sure its not a leak as i have installed them all very tightly. Im really not sure why it spikes...hoping someone can help me with this...thanks in advance!

get another piece of tulang ikan n test, make sure new la
or other options, spend rm100 and get a decent boost controller from marketplace

"tulang ikan" is way of the past mate~.

the inner part of the valves don conceal pressure..hence it leaks, no matter how u close it.

Get a china boost controller, approx RM 100 from the market or a Turbosmart single stage boost controller (Boost-Tee) @ RM 380 from our authorised dealers.

"tulang ikan" is way of the past mate~.

the inner part of the valves don conceal pressure..hence it leaks, no matter how u close it.

Get a china boost controller, approx RM 100 from the market or a Turbosmart single stage boost controller (Boost-Tee) @ RM 380 from our authorised dealers.

agreed :D :driver:

thanks for the input guys....i was always wondering if it actually made a difference to use a tulang ikan or a purpose built manual boost controller....i thought if it doesnt make that big a difference i'd use it temporarily until i can afford an avcr or sth...

having said that...when i checked the connections this morning i found one hose came out....so when i put it back and cable tied it....the boost was stable again...i guess that was the problem in the first place....

btw everytime the boost hit 1bar ...the fuel cut kicked in....is this something that can be solved with a fuel regulator? my fuel pump is currently a bosch 130 liter/per hr

also if i may ask....does anyone here have experience with increasing the boost with 1jz stock twin turbo....how high can u safely go with the boost?

thanks alot guys...all ur input is much appreciated!

ur boost cut...usually it is more that 1 bar...ur boost meter got memory?..

got temporary memory....lasts only until car is restarted....hmmm it might not be a boost cut....probably due to a lack of fuel pressure due to fuel pump....i dunno if a fuel regulator would help me or maybe i might need to change to a higher flowing fuel pump...

Bump: got temporary memory....lasts only until car is restarted....hmmm it might not be a boost cut....probably due to a lack of fuel pressure due to fuel pump....i dunno if a fuel regulator would help me or maybe i might need to change to a higher flowing fuel pump...

how does the fuel cut feels like?
does it feel like u suddenly release the throttle body then a few moment u press it back.
if it so most probably its the boost cut.
kena to me last time, when i still dunno my car,
my boost cut 0.8 only, everytime reach there the car bogged down for a while ,
i thought the fuel pump prob also, that time very2 noob
i change the fuel pump, fuel filter but the that thing happen again,

but at last the problem is just the boost cut, which the solution is just to unplug a boost cut solenoid(my car la)

try to ask around whats the boost cut of the 1jz before u spend on unnecessary replacement

hey there just wondering if anyone can help me with this problem. Im running a 1jz-gte with stock twin turbo...in the standard setting boost is perfect...hitting 0.7bar everytime...the moment i added "tulang ikan" my boost starts spiking....even though i close all the taps on the tulang ikan....it should give me 0.7which is the standard boost BUT it spikes up to 1bar or more instead....all the hoses are brand new samco silicone...so im pretty sure its not a leak as i have installed them all very tightly. Im really not sure why it spikes...hoping someone can help me with this...thanks in advance!

Put the tulang ikan into the aquarium iwth all the valve closed. Pump in air and see... Should be able to see leakage. Well, shouldn't compare something that worth few ringgit with a boost controller. Spiking boost could cause damage ur engine/turbo...

got temporary memory....lasts only until car is restarted....hmmm it might not be a boost cut....probably due to a lack of fuel pressure due to fuel pump....i dunno if a fuel regulator would help me or maybe i might need to change to a higher flowing fuel pump...

Bump: got temporary memory....lasts only until car is restarted....hmmm it might not be a boost cut....probably due to a lack of fuel pressure due to fuel pump....i dunno if a fuel regulator would help me or maybe i might need to change to a higher flowing fuel pump...

It depends also if ur pump are capable of supplying the pressure. If force to supply the pressure, will damage the pump.