Turbo vs. Supercharger

t4kak0

Personaly,i wil prefer a Superchager.It depends.Like my NA AE101,it's originally adi has a Superchager.Others car like 1.Proton Waja 1.6 (A)
'01 & '02
2 Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8 (A)
'01 & '02
3 Proton Wira 1.5 GL(A) Sedan
'99 & '00
4 Toyota Corolla 1.6 (A) AE111
'96 & '97
5 Toyota Camry 2.2 GX(A) SXV20
'99 & '00
These cars adi have superchager originaly.Btw,i more lk Superchager cz er..Turbochargers, because they are so complex and rely on exhaust pressure, are notoriously difficult to tune. Superchargers, on the other hand, require few fuel and ignition upgrades and normally require little or no engine tuning.
And,Superchargers are substantially easier to install than a turbos because they have far fewer components and simpler devices. Turbos are complex and require manifold and exhaust modifications, intercoolers, extra oil lines, etc. - most of which is not needed with most superchargers. A novice home mechanic can easily install most supercharger systems, while a turbo installation should be left to a turbo expert.Anyway,Turbos are known for their unique ability to spin to incredibly high rpms and make outrages peak boost figures (25psi+). While operating a turbocharger at very high levels of boost requires major modifications to the rest of the engine, the turbo is capable of producing more peak power than superchargers.But,i still prefer Superchager...hehe.wat u guys tink??

im not thinking about anything. I prefer turbocharged cars.

Turbo & Supercharger both are same, using "turbines". Supercharger uses "intake" position while Turbo uses "outlet" or exhaust recycled energy.

Supercharger turbine starts its job when the car started, but Turbocharged turbines starts only after 6,000 or 6,500rpm or lower depends on the custom ECU setting if have.

Turbocharged cars dont take high fuel consumption if lower the limit of set. example below 6,000rpm. And i can save more fuel than u.

Which part of KL u from? .. u using AE101 GZE? .. u know the guy JCX2020?

1.Proton Waja 1.6 (A)
'01 & '02
'01 & '02
'99 & '00
'96 & '97
'99 & '00
These cars adi have superchager originaly.

:biggrin: yalo... They have? sure or not...

I am driving AE101 too...but that is 4throttle neh... supercharge sounds lagi monster leh... it sounds like wanna koyak my engine ones...hear and even dragged with a Nissan Sentra supercharged..I guess it was the first edition... mother r... drag me until I kenot see his tail light... some more my engine already like so noisy...without any exhaust sound..but his one is even lagi teruk than mine.... really like a madcow revving all the way ups...

:)

white_bird said:
1.Proton Waja 1.6 (A)
'01 & '02
'01 & '02
'99 & '00
'96 & '97
'99 & '00
These cars adi have superchager originaly.

yalor... since when are these cars supercharged?? Proton for one has never had any form of forced-induction engine....

LOL... since when and where you saw any wira & waja originaly have supercharged???

refer to your location u are from KL... which part of kl proton showroom do have waja/wira supercharger?

better show me, and personally i dont think turbo charge monster drink more petrol, what you think with a nice tuning and i maintain at vacuum?

t4kak0 said:
Personaly,i wil prefer a Superchager.It depends.Like my NA AE101,it's originally adi has a Superchager.

:) t4kako, i think you meant toyota corrolla has supercharged version issit?...it was from levin...

anyway... guys.. he just posted 3 post ler.. we dun flame him r... we poison his mind with NA, Turbo, Supercharge, VTEC, VVT-i, VVTL-i...
:biggrin:

anyway, t4kako... my guess was
1:u read about supercharge and turbocharge from internet and somehow the info was half understood from you. :)
2: You buy a new toyota AE101 with a converted version of Supercharged 4agze inside.^_^

but when u related waja and others... err... 4afe got DOHC head there... bcoz they are injection engine.. waja also got DOHC head ma..

:D kakkaa!! I am making u confuse back.. :P

have to wait u answer this question first...

minivan said:
yalor... since when are these cars supercharged?? Proton for one has never had any form of forced-induction engine....

Those are not supercharged, but those are "super duper charged"... ekekekek

nvm lar.. he's a newbie, dunt bully him lar.. ..please support and teach him some..

Hi, guys. Sorry to interrupt, from what I have heard, if both are of the same capacity(c.c.), a supercharged engine will have higher fuel consumption compared to that of a turbocharged one. Please correct me if I am wrong, thanks... :tongue:

But personally, I think both Turbocharged and Supercharged engines have their pros and cons respectively. But, in the end it comes down to personal choice, whether a person prefers Turbo or Supercharge. :wink:

sorry alittle out of the topic... too free donno wat to do, so i drop sumthing here k...
supercharger no lag, turbo got lag... so supercharger will go 1st... :biggrin:

:D

hahhaa.. yep.. supercharge run 1st, then NA r... Vtec r..VVt-i r...turbo follow.....but then gear change... turbo starts kicking in... then hahaha!! ending result.. all tepi kat emergency line.. coz all running 180kmph and kenak cut meter :P hahah!!

actually Kelis, I also wonder sometimes.. btw upthere is for fun ler.. dun flame me r.. ^-^ supercharge is something wherby once u start, they follow started running.. while turbo, u start time..they are started but no boost de... but when comes to fuel consumption... so say turbo and some say supercharge..

frankly.. ok r.. this is my point r.. we put 2 original engine r.. one is turbo and one is supercharge... when an engine is powerfull, of course ur foot pedal on fuel no need to hantam that much... so this applies for both engine from my opinion actually..but no matter how save fuel also.. both also not a NA already de... guess.. rm10 r.. :) kindya hard to get 80km already le... *dun say about starlet r.. itu benda I sometimes a bit mad ones..haha! turbo but rm10 can go 100km...*

pity my wallet when I see starlet..

my guess is if engine comes original...dun care half cut ler.. before all the powers kicks in.. they actually save fuel.. but hahah! u know ler.. kaki itchy all de time... nampak people siok running... surely go tumpang ones and result u see ur oil tank meter fall down.. then end up..petrol station... :biggrin: so there is always why one quote is correct

"U want power, u run rich fuels"...

^_^

plus, people with turbo or super charged machines... they most of the time...HAHA! right hand outside..with ciggrates... then left hand on steering... while 0.05% right foot strenghts on pedal... kasi golek la... malas nak burn fuel ler.. later tayar habis, then black oil also habis kering kenak burn :P

guys dun flame me r... on the turbo and supercharge side.. it is kindya true de.. :P

I am the slow..... :turtle: bai bai!~~ hahha... wwuuuukkuuuaaiii~~~~

sbirdz said:
:D

hahhaa.. yep.. supercharge run 1st, then NA r... Vtec r..VVt-i r...turbo follow.....but then gear change... turbo starts kicking in... then hahaha!! ending result.. all tepi kat emergency line.. coz all running 180kmph and kenak cut meter :P hahah!!

Ha, ha... Nice one sbirdz. :tee: :)
Yah, thanks for sharing your knowledge with me. I am trying my best to learn from all the sifus-sifus here. Thanks... Everyone. :tee:

i believe newer s/c kits are designed with clutch to minimize fuel consumption. car wud only be running in vacuum unless u accelerate.. my 2 cents