Turbo Service??

kob3bryant

hi every sifu,

wat is the really means of turbo servicing?reoilling ir something like tat?how frequent for the turbine to send for service?for those newly transplant turbo engine,how to check whether service is required?

thanks for everyone helps

no bro , bt b4 that please go to how stuff works n see how the turbo works

ok i help ya abit
turbo usually uses oil n water, for cooling n also lubrication.
when u send for a turbo service, they change the bearings , bushes and oil seals

do check ur manual book , then u can see when to service ur turbo
wear in bearing n bushings can also injure ur turbine shaft

brother;i check how stuff work already
by the way,transplant engine dun have service manual that's why i asked all the sifu here lohand i still no yet understand turbo charged enngine so i need to know more b4 i really transplant one into my car

okok,one more thing
how frequent should this service done?coz i read the turbo.com.sg website
only a thin layer of oil consist in the turbine,so i think extra care should be adopt

and bro jinkl,oil temp,oil pressure,exhasut gas temp gauge is a must for turbo car or not?for std non modify one

u dont have to worry bout the oil
the oil keeps running from ur engine to the turbo constantly

std , would need only one thing , most important, boost meter
u dont want to overboost ur car

kobe,

if the turbine is new, it'll last u for quite a long long time, i'm talking bout 5 years, 10 years if u dun boost over the limit, however, since u getting a transplant and the turbine comes with the halfcut, condition is unknown though still can get it serviced from SDF or Tong....

nice info there
by the way,let's say the std boost control by the ecu is 0.7 bar(am i correct for evo3?),then the max boost i got is only there rite?then why i heard many sifu talkin about overboosting issue?how is the story?is that means when i use gear one then the boost start to increase ,it will be stop at 0.7 bar then no more power and boost cut at this point then i need to shift gear2 already?or the boost won't be cut if i pull gear 1 w/o shift to gear 2?

tong turbo or turbo tong (somewhere in cheras) can service ur turbo....

nice info there
by the way,let's say the std boost control by the ecu is 0.7 bar(am i correct for evo3?),then the max boost i got is only there rite?then why i heard many sifu talkin about overboosting issue?how is the story?is that means when i use gear one then the boost start to increase ,it will be stop at 0.7 bar then no more power and boost cut at this point then i need to shift gear2 already?or the boost won't be cut if i pull gear 1 w/o shift to gear 2?

ohhh u r running on a e4 , then its easier to say hehehe
so we assume that u r running on a halfcut condition turbo
if ur car is stock , then its 0.6-0.8bar boost.
overboosting issue is when ur actuator kong or ur vacuum hose to the actuator got a leak. it has nothing to do with ur gear :)
when to send for service ? check the mouth of ur compressor see if got oil
see ur intercooler piping got oils , meaning ur turbo oil seals are gone need service
see ur car exhaust got white smoke or not, if got then possibility turbo kong also
put two fingers n move the compressor fin, see if got movement, if yes then it could be ur bush was worn out.
other than that, happy boosting, dnt worry

so where can i repair the turbo. I read someone said in cheras got one workshop. It near where I stay

wsonny,

i'm not from KL so i dunno where is cheras but u can look for
KL Turbo One Sdn. Bhd.
Address: No. 45, Jalan SBC 6, Taman Sri Batu Caves, 68100 Batu Caves, SelangorTel: (603) 6187 8833

thanks every sifu for the contribution

and bro jinkl,i intend to dump in an evo3 into my perdana v6,but still inconsideration for the jpj issue.so not evo4 huh,if can put evo4 legally,i think i cannot sleep for many days.coz the outlook of evo4 4g63 and above is very beautiful lah!!!

one more question to ask ya,
wat is the relevant parts i need t purchase/make if i wan to install a bov?will there be any different if apply bov to imprezza and evo(i mean the relevant parts to change/make))?

kobe,

posted many times in the forum too, running a BOV with MAF will decrease ur engine performance, do a search n u'll find out y.....

however if you insist, there's nothing else needed to purchase except: the BOV itself, the BOV stand (which is an extension to lock the BOV in place), a vacuum hose (get a samco), some customized piping to fit, however try n c whether the new BOV can fit precisely into the hole if u take out the original bypass valve, if yes it's precise then u dun need extra customized piping, then get some 2.5 or 3 inch solid piping with 2-3cm long (measure the diameter first) and insert it into the piping near ur MAF piping going to your turbine to block the air from leaking in.....

if u do it urself, need to get a few tools esp the twig plier (is this the right term? haha) to insert the ring in order to lock ur bov to the stand (applicable for HKS SSQV only, others not too sure)....

regarding the MAF sensor issue,i know a little bit about tat.but the only thing i dun know is which car is running on MAF or MAP.so is there any way i can refer to?so tat i know which one is MAP and which one is MAF.perhaps by the car make?like,mitsubishi is MAP,then Daihatsu is MAF.

Turbo

Hi all,

Tong Turbo actually at Taman Len Sen Cheras. Is behind the Phoenix plaza and some near a Good year tyre shop after a down hill from Phoenix. Actually, i also quite blur because what kind of service can be done for the turbo? To service it, around RM250++ depend your turbo saiz. But somebody said that, there is another Turbo service near wangsa maju. Its cheaper, not sure la. Find out your own. If true let me know. Thank you.

kobe,

mitsu produces both MAF and Map sensor for its range of vehicles.... all evos, vr4, 93T or no T, comes with MAF sensor, mivec comes with Map sensor.... it's all vehicle specific....

just send an td06 for service just now...will cost around rm5++ acording to tong...tong is the same row with restoran doremon...from phoenix, go up the hill and turn right b4 u go down.

mitsu got MAF and Map sensor...what about mazda's engine eh?

Re: Turbo

Hi all,

Tong Turbo actually at Taman Len Sen Cheras. Is behind the Phoenix plaza and some near a Good year tyre shop after a down hill from Phoenix. Actually, i also quite blur because what kind of service can be done for the turbo? To service it, around RM250++ depend your turbo saiz. But somebody said that, there is another Turbo service near wangsa maju. Its cheaper, not sure la. Find out your own. If true let me know. Thank you.

near wangsa maju??any1 know where is it? tq!

Write your reply...