Transferring Plate Number

hattech-v

is it possible for me to have a new plate number to be transfered to my current car.

let say person A want to buy a new motorcycle..
i deal with him to buy the wanted plate number from jpj.
later when he get his motorcycle, can i straightly do the transfering process?

or i must register the new number under my name (mean i have to buy new motorcycle) in order to get the plate number that i want..

anyone done this b4 please give some comment...

it is possible for u to do the transfer thingy...but if u want to transfer an old plate to ur registered car(meaning already with a number plate) its not possible.....but the name name thing i not too sure...think those motorcycle shops will help settle ur problems...

I am donig mine right now and the process is a biatch.

I hope I am getting your question right otherwise do correct me.

IF you plan on getting your car a new number ie: WMX 888 (assuming your car already have a number ie: WKL 1234) You'll need to get a new bike, have puspakom "test" the bike for its engine code and such then you can proceed on registering the WMX 888 on your bike. After that, you'll need to sign a release form that notify jpj youre transferring the new number onto your old car and vice-versa. From what I know, this has to be done simultaneously.

The easiest way to do it though, is to bring it to a motorbike shop like what lumghini said and pay them do it for you. That's how i did mine anyway. I paid RM600 for the whole process without having to get a bike. Mind you, the "hottest" (easiest to resell) bike on the market now is Honda Wave and the price tag is like 3600. You can, also opt for the infamous among the rempits' bike - the yamaha Z (which is also pretty easy to resell, I think) for a few extra grands. I myself chose to not have to go through the buying/selling process so I paid the shop to do it for me.

aetobatus,

thats mean withoung buying any new vehicle i can do it for RM600?

everything settle?

prefer that way... less hastle...

otherwise have to buy new vehicle yet to do a lot of biatch process..

hattech-v,

It could be cheaper in KL. I mean look around and ask around. I did mine here (in kelantan) and the dude charged me 600. I didn't shop around as I needed it done asap. but yeah, you wont need to get any new vehicle.. and everything will be settled for you. :)

it can be done....as long as it is interchange with new vehicle than it can be done....

how about buying other vehicle than motorcycle

for example...

how if, my dad bought a new car. but i want the new reg. number.

let's say:

my current car : QC5785
dad bought new car :QMH8888

and i want to transfer the QMH8888 to my car, and the new car will be using the QC5785.

can or not?

i believe KL price tag is much higher, last quote from motorbike shop was RM1500

click on this website
http://www.jpj.gov.my/malay/
I've done it b4 by myself..the staff are rather too cocky and even asked for duit kopi to speed things up..me just ignored the old lady.spent 4 hrs just to transfer plate no..my advice,use a runner if you got extra money..

Originally posted by pdj1103@Jan 28 2005, 15:59
click on this website
http://www.jpj.gov.my/malay/
I've done it b4 by myself..the staff are rather too cocky and even asked for duit kopi to speed things up..me just ignored the old lady.spent 4 hrs just to transfer plate no..my advice,use a runner if you got extra money..
u bought new vehicle for transferring the plate number or not?

http://www.jpj.gov.my/malay/kenderaan04.htm

so following the steps here can settle everything in a day?

Both vehicles have to be under your name for the number swapping process.