Toyota Chaser..

just to share experience,

went to workshop in subang airport last month, saw old uncle (more like ol'timer) with what looks like a year 90'an chaser. i saw that its fitted with 1jzgte. borak2 n found out that it's actually a local teksi airport converted.

body part all done by previous owner (his friend). imported all bodypart from japan including dashboar n the whole lot i think. seat n door trim all dark maroon colour. very2 nice. digital meter.

think cost him around RM 20+ K just for the car. converted the engine himself.

but i must say. it's really impressive. cantik gile with the chaser front n rear lights.

any comment guys?

The MkII comes in a few models, depending on year. JZX80, JZX90, JZX100, and the one currently on sale in JDM is JZX110. They come in 2L or 2.5L, usually automatic. The 2.5L is the luxury version, with the holographic dashboard, nicer seats and trim, etc. The suspension is almost the same as that of the Supra.. almost. The rear is a bit different.

Those airport taxis are MkIIs as well, and just a bit older, late 80s. From my jap tuning magazines there are a lot of those being modded for drifting, with bodykits and 1JZs being de-riguer!

Those mad japs mod and drift anything that FR, and the Celsior is also popular. The Celsior I beleive came in 2L, 3L, and the 4.4L V8 engine similar to that in the Lexus. My dream is to get myself a Chaser JZX110, failing that a JZX 90 is nice, but as a family car the ultimate would be a the Lexus V8 throw on a supercharger and vroom!!!

If you do find Chasers here, its usually the JZX90. Djan has a 2.5L 1JZ but non-turbo, bought for 70k a few months back, beautiful condition, can take loan too!! I know Terence bought a 2L recently, but not in such good condition, about 40k if I'm not mistaken.

adian: got any pic of the local taxi airport converted?

damn should have taken a pic of that ol'timers car. oh well didn't have camera that time, nor do I have one now :D

Its true that hard to find celsior seller.
Its been 3 years i looking for it and finally found 1, as usual, the V8 is killing me.
so i change it to 1JZ-GTE.
If u r so lucky to find another 1, wat i can suggest u is JUST change to Toyota Soarer half-cut which will giv u less problem as the petrol float is the onli issues u need to settle. other things else is just like drag n drop into the celsior.
Dun ever try change 2JZ into it. I have seen 2 unit of Celsior DIED for 3 years at workshop just bcoz the conversion not success.
Oh ya, there is 1 Celsior wit 1JZ for sales also in this forum. Wat a nice car he made.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...6-for-sale-rare-lexus-ls400-with-1jz-gte.html

ha ha..jom..come to kuching..here u can find many chaser or mark II drive by b"otai" drive it with 1JZGTE or 1GGZE

on my way from bahau to temerloh during CNY holiday ... bumped into 2 taxi chaser ... one green and the other one is red ... hahahaha