Toyo or Achilles or FTZ RR ???

Ceffy_999

Hey guys,

Just want to check with you all. Anyone use below semi-slick tyres in track before? And need some comment on from you guys.

Toyo R888 - Heard is very good

Achilles - Heard it's cheap but how much? Saw Kegani & JC Racing EK also using it. Is it good?

Silverstone FTZ RR - how about this? Good enough?

Hope you guys can input some info. Thanks...

currently ad07 stock running out..
but ad08 coming in.. higher price (and maybe quality)..

dont waste money on Achilles... grip is very bad god some comment from friends...

Do not spend your money on FTZ, simply as it is not that good as you think.

3 of this, I strongly suggest go on Toyo R888. Please bear in mind that the tire itself are not that cheap as you thought.

Kegani & JC Racing using Archilles because of 1000km race last year. Whatever they are using now are most probably leftovers and the price then was only rm275 (subsidised by SIC). Just like above comments, you can forget about Archilles, expensive and substandard compare to others.

AD07 is of course very good. a street tyre that can match R888 semi. unfortunately, it already extinct. can only find 2nd hand. AD08 is hyper expensive. 195/50/15 about rm450 each. other size i have no idea how much it it. and 15" is the smallest size they have.

Other than R888, you can try Federal 595 RS-R. Slightly cheaper than R888, but the grip is very very good. But at 140threadwear, it will wear off faster than the rest. The performance really surprised me.

275rm each if u pulang balik the tyre(s). if belum habis guna, and decided not to pulang balik to SIC & manufacturer, 325rm per piece. rm50 is for deposit. hahahhahha very clever eh? outside, at itu sunway tyre shop, also selling at 300++ i think last time i did ask.

Kegani & JC Racing using Archilles because of 1000km race last year. Whatever they are using now are most probably leftovers and the price then was only rm275 (subsidised by SIC). Just like above comments, you can forget about Archilles, expensive and substandard compare to others.

AD07 is of course very good. a street tyre that can match R888 semi. unfortunately, it already extinct. can only find 2nd hand. AD08 is hyper expensive. 195/50/15 about rm450 each. other size i have no idea how much it it. and 15" is the smallest size they have.

Other than R888, you can try Federal 595 RS-R. Slightly cheaper than R888, but the grip is very very good. But at 140threadwear, it will wear off faster than the rest. The performance really surprised me.

Yo bro,

How much is the Federal 595 RS-R per pc? Is it the size is 195/55/15 same as Toyo R888?

sifu n0thin, yeah i forgot about the pulang balik scheme. buruk siku btul kan?
so this year 1K race, apa tayar kena pakai? ur trackcar laju melampau, i think ko pakai goodyear ducaro also can tapau everyone already....hehe.

Ceffy : last year i bought federal 195/50/15 at rm310 each. other size, i've no idea. u can ask Hup Soon in Sunway, they do sell this brand. for more sourcing, can search around in lowyat.net, there some some runners selling new tyres there. just make sure it's rs-r because Federal 595 itself got 3 different model, rs-r being the top.
size is the same regardless what makes.

Achilles - non semi slick tires

If ure comparing this 3 tires of cos R888 is the best
silverstone - buatan malaysian (so quality wise u be the judge) no idea
Achilles - Indon tires (not as good as ad07) abt 200+
R888 - made in japan with 100 trade wear (RM350 but always out of stock)

R888 is the most value for money semi slick tires but for SIC it give me grip for the first 3-5 laps only after that not so good but ok la, can pit and cool down tires
best ive tried is Bridgestone RE55S and Yokohama A048

all prices that i mention is 15inch
AD08 cheapest ive seen for 195/55/15 - RM 480

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:54 PM ----------

Yo bro,

How much is the Federal 595 RS-R per pc? Is it the size is 195/55/15 same as Toyo R888?

Federal RSR only got 195/50/15 (RM285) and 205/50/15 (RM360) for 15"

Achilles - non semi slick tires

If ure comparing this 3 tires of cos R888 is the best
silverstone - buatan malaysian (so quality wise u be the judge) no idea
Achilles - Indon tires (not as good as ad07) abt 200+
R888 - made in japan with 100 trade wear (RM350 but always out of stock)

R888 is the most value for money semi slick tires but for SIC it give me grip for the first 3-5 laps only after that not so good but ok la, can pit and cool down tires
best ive tried is Bridgestone RE55S and Yokohama A048

all prices that i mention is 15inch
AD08 cheapest ive seen for 195/55/15 - RM 480

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:54 PM ----------

Federal RSR only got 195/50/15 (RM285) and 205/50/15 (RM360) for 15"

Hey. I agreed with you. Last year I can't find stock in Klang Valley for R888 but able to buy it in JB Toyo dealer. I got it RM330 per pc & I can tell you with this price, you will never regret as the grip is damn good. I used it for 5 track days & still grip but not as grip as 1st 2 track days but still manage to corner fast...

Ceffy_999, go for R888. Trust me... Don't shoot me bro if I offend some user that use others tyres. Just my 2 cent :biggrin:

I'll vote for R888 too cos got few frens using it and they say it's good!..

for semi, yes R888 is superb and the best among the options u listed. agreed with Clement, yoko a048 is also damn good.

street tire, well u have federal 595, ad07, ad08 those are closest to semi u'll ever get and still road legal

Im using achilles for track .....cost me RM260/pc.
very good compare to Silv.....nice price.seems selling like hot cake.......few of my fren bcame addicted to this pattern. worth to try.....unless you are able to burn wth AD08 n TY888.

SILVERSTONE FTZ RR is totally different rating tires compare to those 2
it is consider near full slick tyre range UTQQ60 A.K.A. Treadwear 60

Check the comment from UK
http://www.tr-register.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=29828

Check the pricing
Silverstone FTZ RR
http://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motorsport/competition-tyres/silverstone-ftz-type-rr-tarmac-tyre-e-approved

again
R888
http://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motorsport/competition-tyres/toyo-r888-tyre

AND THE SILVERSTONE ULTIMATE TIRES

http://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motorsport/competition-tyres/silverstone-ftz-slick-tyre

But i am have very hard time finding these tires nowadays