Totally Speechless!

hhmm..... I kinda wonder what's the link between monks, and fish mongers or fried kuay teow sellers or people who does business for a living. Monks are, typically, people who don't run businesses for a living. Well, that's probably what majority of the people think. I just find it odd that the monks (non business people) could be compared with people who does business for a living. It would be obvious enough that those who runs business would (assuming their biz is good) have a wealthier life style.

As related to how they can drive luxury cars, fritz have already mentioned one of the possibilities, which is that the cars could be donated by people who always have extra RM1mil in their bank account every month. So really, without the REAL truth, I guess we won't know for sure how their luxury cars come about. Well, just trying to look at things from a different point of view. Anybody else with yet another different point of view? Kinda interesting to actually wonder about the monk's life. hahahaha

Ok..one more possibilites or mayb can be said as example that I know..the car is borrowed as the owner got too many cars in their house. One more..the rich man need to "run" their tax..so they buy a car..hehe!! ANOTHER one..the rich man need chanting every week in their house so they as the monk to drive to their house every week, so they bought a car for him. hm..anymore?! Cant think of any..hehe...BTW...many things we really cant explain...

Too many fake monks around.

I've seen that Daytona monk dude in MV too. When he sat beside me to insert a coin I actually backed off from him a bit.

I've seen a monk buying a cuddly teddy from Memory Lane in MV once... Haha... Kinda freaked me out... I was wondering who could be that adorable cute teddy's new owner... Hmmm... Perhaps a female acquaintance...? Haha...

And that wasn't the best part... The best part was that he actually paid by sliding a GOLD CARD... Haha... Hmmm... Since then... I started wondering if they took in donations through credit cards nowadays... Haha... :angel_smile:

koolspyda said:
but at least its not a Yota 3.4L alphard) Expect them to haul in a nissan venntte??

I didnt know that Toyota made 3.4 litre Alphards. :shocked:

In my opinion, those monks are probably driving a car belonging to another devotee. Apart from those conman monks which walk from table to table to ask for donations, i really don't see how monks are able to earn that much of money to buy a Toyota Estima. I know a few rich people who are really devoted to the temple they visit and these big bosses actually pay for the construction of the temple and whatever monthly expenses incurred. This includes the food which the monks eat at the temple and of coz these monks still need some offerings by the devotees to maintain their day to day living expenses. Like many said, i believe the van most likely was donated by someone or quite simply the monk needed transport, so one of the devotee lent his Estima away.

but but but...monks aren't supposed to beg for money right?
the bowl they're having is supposed to be for food, and they can only ask for food before 12pm, cos they're supposed to have only one meal a day right?
but this is wat my gf told me, there are rich monks around, she knows some, rich business men but they want to serve buddha, so they beceom monks, but they only stay in the temple and do not go out seeking donations.
real monks i guess dont seek donations.
so those u see asking for money are obviously fakes, and if they are driving big cars, its a big time con job ler.
try putting food in the bowl the next time a monk ask u for money, see wat happens, but be careful la, there's a syndicate around.

maybe the monk is borrow the 5-series/Alphards from some millionair because they dont have own car. And of cos this millionair have dozen of car at home and they will dont mind borrow them.

Or maybe they use bank loan to own the luxury car, hehe..10 years loan mah!

EcstacyElmo said:
the bowl they're having is supposed to be for food, and they can only ask for food before 12pm, cos they're supposed to have only one meal a day right?
Yeah, that's true. The Star ran an article about fake monks long time ago and they interviewed this "high monk" from a temple. He said monks only ask for food, not money and it has to be before 12pm

do they need luxuries to go around?
imagine they get down from a luxury car and start askin for donations.
certain monks are real and certains are not.
they just give trouble to the real monks.

EcstacyElmo said:
but this is wat my gf told me, there are rich monks around, she knows some, rich business men but they want to serve buddha, so they beceom monks, but they only stay in the temple and do not go out seeking donations.
real monks i guess dont seek donations.
so those u see asking for money are obviously fakes, and if they are driving big cars, its a big time con job ler.
try putting food in the bowl the next time a monk ask u for money, see wat happens, but be careful la, there's a syndicate around.

im not buddhist. but i agree too to wat u said.. coz i noe some ppl around..

And about the monk buying the bear at Memory Lane with a Gold card .. There are some monks who are actually normal ppl like me n you, who wants to be monks for awhile (i dunno wat they call it , i forgot) .. it normally will be a few months. The ppl will follow the procedure in the temple juz like monks.. they have family wan.. So it cud be one of these ppl tat u saw buying the bear..

err...sorry for my ignorance...but i always tot that monks shud never accept material things...i tot they can only accept foods...thats wat the bowl was for...i tot they devoted their life by living a simple life...i also saw a couple of 'blessed' monks driving around in fancy cars and watnot...sorry again if i offended...donations were to be made to help maintain the temple...not to give the monks a new way to go around town...

the world is different and advanced now. the monks have to adapt to it.
but driving and living in luxury life is definitely a different story.

nickchl said:
the other day, i saw three monks walking towards a row of cars. then i noticed a new model estima. on my mind was, couldnt be the estima.

then the monks got into the estima and one of them is driving it! REAR GLASS BLACK-TINTED! luckily its not fully bodykit.
I AM TOTALLY SPEECHLESS AND STUN!:shocked:

then i think, why do we have work like cows and most of us got nothing. but they got to drive estima. what do u all think?
2 weekz back, wuz at a mamak store wif frenz. then suddenly saw a table opposite ther, sitting 2 monks with their full 'uniform' having roti canai!
WTF!
i asked the mamak " depa orang makan kuah ayam ka? kuah sayok "
mamak giggle n said " roti kosong."
then to more surprise, one of em took out a O2 handphone n start toking! tns!
sumore b4 they left, ther tarpao a bag of roti....n drive away in a BMW 725 parked nearby!

* i picked up my drop jaw n continue my roti...

SataniC said:
err...sorry for my ignorance...but i always tot that monks shud never accept material things...i tot they can only accept foods...thats wat the bowl was for...i tot they devoted their life by living a simple life...i also saw a couple of 'blessed' monks driving around in fancy cars and watnot...sorry again if i offended...donations were to be made to help maintain the temple...not to give the monks a new way to go around town...
agreed

hi

just drop by to say that monks are human too! they are not GOD..so in other words they will also be evil man disguised as monk or become a monk just to get $$$,,any religion also got this type of ppl....

dont flame me cause all human got LUST,GREED, ETC...if not they are not human!!

true true.....starkiss doing very well nowdays. thats y u see blackie can sell teddybears. coz he used to sell in starkiss for the customers to give the girls. now he expand business dy......

Hock said:
Maybe the luxury car is sponsor by other rich people for the conveniences of the monk to go around le.
So we cannot blame them. Other people willing to give them or sponsor them with $$$$ and car. So this is their capabilities.

No comment........................................

No like our Blackhowling taiko, driving SUPRA because of his capabilities on STARKISS business. kakakakakakaka

I as buddhist, but i must admit i also cant stand for some temple and vege hall on thier act and porperties posses.

just like in Spore, u would be suprise how rich those "father" was. U will be even shock on those claimed "non profitable organisation", thier monthly income contribution.

i guess nowdays, many thing was taken for granted. Be it religious body, charity body and other's, all was side track liao. look at the previous a Spore pastor cheated fund and the most recent NKH drama, its clearly enaugh to know its no longer the same.

yes, a monk maybe a human as well but they dun practise materialisme and also taking flesh. whn offered, they shld suggest the "items" to be convert into something else which can benefit the temple on daily usage or activities.

just like this teory. u may can go for pros or drinking but once you're in uniform, you're represented and must well behave. Monk can eat roti prata, but not whn they are at thier uniform. I've even seen Monk in Pizzahut. Kid u not.