timing belt putus

legend7

want to ask some opinion. what do u guys think? which is better? either repair(overhaul) or replace a new (potong) engine?? when timing belt putus

if the valves oredi bengkok....juz overhaul...change new head..change gasket oni..
if got money...then str8 go 4 gsr/mivec/toyota engine..or any1 of ur cars choice..
2 me..check 1st what need to b done...if it's teruk..then shud consider tukar engine ...

thanks bro, already check the cost of overhaul & new potong engine it about the same. according to my pomen the piston is all rite its only valve that is bengkok & it was all of them :(

what car r u driving, brader?? Diferent car with timing belt putus incident will result different extent of engine damage lor...

It all depends. When the timing belt snapped on my NA 4G63, I was accelerating. As a result, both valves and piston gone with the wind.

usualli u onli hv 2 options la

1. overhaul
2. change engine

depends on ur budget n depend on wat damaged in da engine

if u r askin which is better then i would say repair it la if u change da engine u hv to go JPJ n insurance to change da number then wat if da condition of da engine is not good as u expected..u might nit to spend on repair some more .

:)

then there was this non-inteference engine,whereby supposedly when putus,engine internals still alive...like my car

i would say change engine kosong.... later when you fix it back any prob you get more headache

legend7,
better change engine if u found a lot of thing kong...
wasting money only... like initial-D... hahaha...

well, depending oso on ur needs..

if im u, i will go for turbo for sure

hahahaha

for Toyota cars, if timing belt putus for 16 valve and 8 valve engines normally everything would be ok. just change the belt and off we go. if we drive the 12 valves 4 cylinder engines, our luck would be different. now things had changed for the better. all Toyota passenger cars now using timing chain.

for proton aka mitsubishis.... haiya..sadly still using t/belt. if snapped - damage will sure occur. the campro engines should have use timing chain. more reliable, lower maintenance and the 'in' trend now..

thanks, ive decide to go for overhaul. at least i dont have to deal with jpj & ins which i heard would be more troublesm, as much as convert my car back to ori spec. thanks again for ur kind view. appreciate that.

legend7 said:
thanks, ive decide to go for overhaul. at least i dont have to deal with jpj & ins which i heard would be more troublesm, as much as convert my car back to ori spec. thanks again for ur kind view. appreciate that.

yeah, buying used engines has its own risk. it maybe good for a short term only. doing a complete overhaul maybe cost higher but at least all damaged parts would be replace new and would extend the life span of the engine.