some 1 explain?which 1 better

AccordRacing

if stock engine never take care,then happen oil leak,piston ring or piston loose,or either the engine head valve seal broke,those condition will make ur exhaust come out white smoke,n bad fuel comsuption.
overhaul n swap engine,which 1 better,lets bring up ur opinion,such like wat kind of problem will occur or maintance problem,parts replace problem or etc.

Calculate all the cost for the rebuild vs swapping a new engine... Which one better, then go for it la... Just my 0.00002 cent opinion ;)

my dad spent 1K overhaul the engine then a few months later had to change the engine.
safer to change engine . even if you change piston + ring dont know if your silinder loose.

normally watz mean overhaul,i got some fren say its just open the engine head n cleaning inside,some more ppl can explain more clearly?

there are 2 types of overhaul, 1 is full overhaul and 1 is top overhaul. open the head n cleaning is top overhaul only it cost less than full overhaul where your motor must be striped down piece by piece and replace all the wear and tear parts, remember to replace all that parts if you are a bit stinky then another probs will arise... remember young skywalker.... ;)

correct me if i'm wrong...

Originally posted by kruger@Mar 4 2005, 00:48
there are 2 types of overhaul, 1 is full overhaul and 1 is top overhaul. open the head n cleaning is top overhaul only it cost less than full overhaul where your motor must be striped down piece by piece and replace all the wear and tear parts, remember to replace all that parts if you are a bit stinky then another probs will arise... remember young skywalker.... ;)

correct me if i'm wrong...
yup you are right.IT all depends on your engine wear and tear. But when doing full overhaul, best try to change the piston , piston ring, and the valve seals to new one. like mine I did a full overhaul to single cam engine bout 6years back and the engine lasted until 2003 b4 my block crack.

just my 1 cent knowledge.

full overhaul need to grind valve,skim block,skim cyclinder(std,025,050,075,correct me if i 'm wrg),polish the crank shaft pulley,replace those main bearing,conrod bearing,new piston ring set n piston,head gasket,valve rubber cover,valve seal,recondition it like new,just the piston got little bigger n the power increase little bit(got increase 1 or not?)wondering :rolleyes:

if you need to change the piston to a bigger size, then u need to rebore the block maa... then lagi byk upah u'll have to bare. sure the power will increase cause if you rebore the block n add a new size of piston, u're motor displacement will increase eg. from 1.3 to 1.5 just by using the 1.5 piston.

i dunno about full overhaul or top overhaul or anything.. i just know i overhauled my engine, more than 1 year ago, changed everything that is worn out inside, mainly the piston ring and the bearings, RM800++

if you swap the engine, its going to cost you more, and you don't know if the condition is good, go ask any one with car modification experience they sure tell you this headache that headache... run abit then sometime oil leak again.. which in the end you have to overhaul the transplanted engine again..

so, basically, if you just want an engine that runs smoothly, find a good mechanic/workshop to overhaul your engine. only consider transplant if you are hungry for more power that your current engine cannot provide. unless your stock engine really not taken cared at all, so bad that even the scrap metal company don't want it :lol: then transplant the engine lor...

just my RM0.02