The Pro And Cons Of Having A Straight Ram?

WinDz

http://img149.echo.cx/img149/361/project7dv.jpg
i was wondering for quite some times ... what is the pro and cons if i use a straight ram all the way from the filter till the TB rather than using the original wira air ram that got curve like shown in the image i posted.. i hope si fu si fu here can discuss this and give me some enlightment.. tq 1st

Smooth surface will have less restriction and venturi effect...
Would be better to have smooth surface, but I doubt the lenght of the pipe would make a difference...
COLD AIR INTAKE is the way to go...
Insulate the air filter and youre good to go..

CHEERS

lets assume both are using the same surface & same size filter.. but then if i make it straight all the way the air flow should be even better right? since the original wan have curves here and there, where the air will hit the wall of the slanting part. where else in the straight flow air ram air just travel straight directly into the tb.. and besides the diy short ram if its for wira case.. the ram will be very short .. cos there is a brake pump there.. measured it should be only around 5 inches long the air ram.. shorter distance of the air travelling .. will it effect in better response?

yeah winds is right. with the original "s-curve" ram, there are more restrictions and in order to get more air sucked in, u'll need to have a better air- filter. therefore, the straight ram has smoother surface and less restrictions. what more if u have a good air-filter...power....but one thing, like what winds say, when u hv a straight ram and a good filter, the chances of sucking hot air from the engine is also high...this, as we all know may decrease the performance. so.. cold air intake is the thing to do...actually, it can even be done DIY but i am not sure how....i guess there are many in here that knows..

cheers ;)

Originally posted by WinDz@Apr 26 2005, 03:57
lets assume both are using the same surface & same size filter.. but then if i make it straight all the way the air flow should be even better right? since the original wan have curves here and there, where the air will hit the wall of the slanting part. where else in the straight flow air ram air just travel straight directly into the tb.. and besides the diy short ram if its for wira case.. the ram will be very short .. cos there is a brake pump there.. measured it should be only around 5 inches long the air ram.. shorter distance of the air travelling .. will it effect in better response?
[snapback]927805[/snapback]​

well, theoretically, u may be right....shorter pipping means better chances of not losing any air that is sucked in. but i guess, there won't be much difference kua.....

Doesn't matter how long or short the pipe is...
The main concern is getting cold air into the engine...
Look at AEM col air intakes and such...
The pipes are miles long but yet they work...
Don't get too caught up trying to get the shortest pipe possible, as zero_kool said the main concern here is to avoid sucking hot air from the engine...
Best thing I tried is to leave the stock air box and just change the OEM S pipe to a smooth pipe and add a CAI to the BOX...
Much better compared to using a cone filter IMHO...

CHEERS

so by getting a CAI for the straigth air ram should be having it work more efficient rite since a straight air ram would have less restriction compare to the curve ram.

having a straight air ram would give smoother flow or the air into ur tb...but i doubt u will feel much difference...i think the advantages are quite negligible...and if the air ram is staight and short, the fiter will be right smack in ur engine bay where hot air is present...unless u insulate ur filter, u might be getting a lot of hot air which will make the performance worse...and if u make a CAI right to the filter, where is ur cold air gonna come from? from the front bumper oso, rite...so ur CAI hose will also be long and curvy...there goes ur smooth air flow...might as well stick wif ori air ram and install CAI...

Lenght and diameter of intake does affect the velocity against volume of air.

Tats why you can see AEM and Edelbrock intakes are clearly stated "Length tuned".

Engineers at AEM and Edelbrock have tested dozens of diameters and piping lengths before deciding to use the current design.

The test is to measure which intake design yields the highest velocity and the biggest volume of air flow.

Mugen's belly shaped intake is also one of the best deisgn for N/A VTEC.

So joeker, what you are trying to say is even we simple put in straight ram pipe. It doesnt mean that it will perform better rite ? compare to those tuned length wan.

So, if the straight ram pipe is better wan, why ori manufacturers dont put them on as standard equipment ?It also saves cost because to manufacture straight piping is easier then manufacturering piping that have curve. I think that they have calculated the good air velocity they can get from the ori design. Its just my own opinion, dont flame me okay ?? :(

because you cant just simply put in a straight air ram and assure that it will perform better. I would really like to see some satistic figure. using ori filter, then swap between ori air intake pipe and straight air ram. See if theres any difference we can find... :)

but then those kindda statistic we have to obtain from dyno ah ?? dyno expensive leh ..if use ori filter kenot change ram lerrr.. cos kenot relocated the ori air box.. im just assuming both are using open pod air filter

Really have to do some real time testing then only can see or get the results....I'm a bit confused also.... :confused:

general rule of a thumb

the longer the intake tract, the more torque results

please take with a pinch of salt

How ah saru-kun...can explain a bit more ah ??:)

yea...wit longer ram pipe in my previous kenari...it gv more torque when u tarik d engine.....n d sound very nice.......but then i change to shorter ram pipe....no sound oledi......not syok.....shit

wit heat shield in d car.....it helps d car actually.......n it is better if support with CAI.....u can see d diferences if u hv meter on ur car

explain arr...not really sure how lor...

something to do with the velocity of the air moving through the pipe.

also how much air can the pipe flow in a given time ie; flow rate

i learn more first, then i come back to you ^_^