Superstrut vs upgrade Abs/spring

Hm... just wondering, can SuperStrut be retro-fitted onto Corolla SE Limited(EE90/AE92) as well? :_:

Just for your info, SS is a servicesable strut. The shaft can be easily pull out by unscrew the top cover. So if happened that your SS is leaking in the future, you can either send it to absorber factory for refurbish, or just plug in a Koni strut. But, if one of the lower arms' ball joins is gone, it can't be service at all and you will need a replacement.
I heard QiW has has some lubang on servicing the ball joints. Perhaps he can share share some tips with us...
To replace McP with SS, you need a complete swap for the cross member because McP's and SS's cross member is different. You also need to drill 2 holes on you chassis and welded 2 nuts on the other side in order to screw in 2 lower arms. The draw back of SS system is, it is 20kg more heavier than McP, and you will get more tight feel on the steering.

I don't torture the car at cornering so i can't comment on SS performance over McP...:biggrin:

Sifu Wong... I envy your car la....no noise at all from the lower arm...:shades_smile:

Mine not only noisy but handling also out oredi....heheh....time for replacement i guess...

Normality, seriously, if u feel that the handling improvement of SS over McP is worth it, then by all means go ahead with the swap...

Erm BTW... a noobie question here...can springs from McP be used on SS and vice versa??

spring mounts are the same for both McP and SS .. only spring rates different .. stock to stock .. McP spring rates are lower than SS rates ... ie SS springs are harder ... so far have never tried to swap coz my engine too heavy at the front anyway .. so cannot use softer springs laaaa ... but u can try .. hehehehe

bcoz with the SS setup plus the brake kit, its costing me rm900. but if i were just to buy KYB Excel G absorber, its already cost me sgd350 for all 4 pcs which after convert would be RM7xx. so its the cost justify here

Hm... great explaination from levin818 :_: But does anyone know if SuperStrut can be retrofitted to a Corolla EE90/AE92 Sedan?

ee90/ae92 cannot use this SS setup laaaa ... x members and everything oso different laaaa ..... unless u wanna potong sambung your chassis laaa .. hehehehe

normality ... the rm900 SS setup u thining of getting .. what abs and springs laa ??? stock ones kaa ??? if everything stock SS then rm900 is way tooo expensive liauu lorrrr ... hehehehe ...

go Super Struct. go go go

hahhahha... experienced using it.

thank god, ever since using it from 2004, just 2 times gave me problem. lower arm rosak (the small lower arm) and the craking sound from the springs.

contras: cant set the camber. to solve : use pillow ball

McP, havent try whacking with it yet. no comment. sifoo said, 'once SS, tak mau McP'

QiW said:
normality ... the rm900 SS setup u thining of getting .. what abs and springs laa ??? stock ones kaa ??? if everything stock SS then rm900 is way tooo expensive liauu lorrrr ... hehehehe ...

What included of RM900 was the suspension kit, yes, stock ABS and spring, Antiroll bar front and rear, twinpot brake kit and labour fees. ok tak?

Hm... basically the EE90/AE92 can't use SS even though have the full set of stuff? :(

my mechanic quote ... rm750 .... for installing full set SS ... incldg x member ... stock abs + springs .. twin pot ... stock SS ARB ... labour .... all in ... rear ARB for McP and SS is the same one ...
your car is ae101 rite ????

normality78 said:
What included of RM900 was the suspension kit, yes, stock ABS and spring, Antiroll bar front and rear, twinpot brake kit and labour fees. ok tak?

Please make sure that your mech is able to guarantee for "Noise Free".
Or he may turn back and tell you: "old stuff is like that one la, else you go and buy new one lah."

QiW said:
my mechanic quote ... rm750 .... for installing full set SS ... incldg x member ... stock abs + springs .. twin pot ... stock SS ARB ... labour .... all in ... rear ARB for McP and SS is the same one ...
your car is ae101 rite ????

Wah... that is cheap leh. i guess i got to nego with him more... mine was Ae111

levin818 said:
Please make sure that your mech is able to guarantee for "Noise Free".
Or he may turn back and tell you: "old stuff is like that one la, else you go and buy new one lah."

Well he did mentioned to me some little little noise sure got one. .... bro, ur side can do noise free? i dun mind give it a try

mine was noise free for a long time laa .. now grik grok again liauu .. going this evening to try and fix that problem ...
cannot compare myself with sifoo LEVIN818 one maa ... i trash my car thru all kinds of road and oso do quite high mileage one maaa .. hehehehe .. so cepat sikit rosak lorrrr ... wear and tear !!!!

Wahahaha... anyway i've tested SS setup today. But cant really judge frm it coz it was with TRD abs. That time whn my mech installed that TRD abs, he already mentioned very hard and today whn i test drove it, hm.... indeed hard like rock but thn not bumpy and jumpy.

u tested it rite ??? whats the feeling compared to McP ??? whats the difference ???
if u cannot feel any difference then no point for u to install SS liauu .. jsut use McP good enuff liauuu ... huahahaahahahaa

well i cant really say much coz the road i went thru very uneven and 1st time driving his car, tend to be more carefull. let me find 1 day to do full blast post it here. whahahaha

One of my friend after changed to SS comments that the feeling is totally different when go cornering. It is because the lower arms will keep your outer tyre stay 90deg on the ground and give you a max grip.
The other freind gatal go changed to McP after transplant new engine and regrets for his decision later.
I just swap my entire lower arms to a used set that only done 50kkm last year. All the ball joins are still hard to move at that time. Since that i have noise free ride till today.

my "re-conditioned" lower arm on my right side lasted me quite long liauu laa .. i think about a year or more laaa .. plus i go on those construction like roads when i go fishing one sommo sometimes .. hehehehehe ...
recently left side bising liauu .. so changed another "re-cond" arm .. but this batch no good .. dunno why .. fark up after 1-2 days ... but all these "re-cond" arms got warranty 30days maa .... so go tukar lorr .. still cannot get it rite .. in the end just change another USED one from kedai potong .. so far no sound yet .. will just have to wait for a better batch of RE-COND ones lorrr .. nasib no good ...

as for feel of driving ... i feel SS responds faster than McP laa .. traction maybe a little more due to wheel angle as stated by sifoo WONG .. but basically its the fast respond and feedback that i like about the SS .. :p