ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

:proud:hahaha!! My baby is out! After a long long time, i get to be with her again! Will be driving up to sitiawan and pick her up today and meet with 2o2r who would have maybe got a chance to test her out... Happy deepavali and happy holidays everybody!!

:rock: got my car today and enjoyed every single minute of driving! lucky it was at night and other drivers can not see my :evil:!! superb power on the tap of the pedal! long live 3sge:adore::party:

Will somebody wipe that smile off Shan's face ?:biggrin:

Or get a plastic surgeon to push back down the cheeks due to prolonged smiling cause by his drive:biggrin::driver: home with his "new"car....

:laugh::laugh::laugh:

I'm dying to listen to yr comment on the comparison of the 3S with the BT, Shan & make sure you let RR drive it as well so that he too will know what's the difference between a 3S & the BT, ya ?

Bro chinozie,

I think the AE101/111 suspension will fit but not sure if the rear shox are "tall"enough coz if I'm not mistaken, the 171 rear shox is taller than the AE's. So if you're getting adjustables, make sure you get those that are really "height"adjustable. I'm sure you know what I mean, rite ?

Congrats Shan on ur new beast :biggrin: When gona TT again, never seen a 3S-GE in a ST150 before hehe.

Abit off topic, can starlet's 4E use the 4A's tranny? Fren of mine thinking to use it.

Congratulations on the rebirth of your ride, bro Shan!:biggrin::biggrin:

TT next weekend la.. 13th Nov is good for me. The papers on 15th and 16th aren't that tough.. This time surely full attendance yo, with the presence of Shan's Corona boasting the legendary 3SGE :adore::adore:

This time, it will be my turn trying to catch up to you at the flyovers, and it will be your turn to shoot off to a distance!:rofl::rofl:

Guys,

Playing catch is one thing but just get anyone killed in the process, k.

RR,

Better not say so loud about "killing" anything, k. Or it'll offend others & they'd probably mistake it for a challenge & we don't want that nor do we wanna upset anybody, right ?

Naz,

You've never seen a 3S in a ST150 before ? Serious ? Well, actually, there aren't that many around anyway. So Shan's ride has gone into the rare species catalogue.

I believe even more rare is the BEAMS 3S in a ST150. Seriously, I have never even seen any on the internet beside mine. So I strongly believe that I'm the only ST150 Corona with the BEAMS 3S running around todate but pls correct me if I'm wrong.

ST150 with 3S-GTE has more population; at least 2-3 in our thread here; right ?

ST150 & AT151 with the 4A series; plentiful running around; all models from the 16v TVIS to the BT.

Just imagine if we could round up all the Corona owners for a mega gathering....I'm pretty sure it'll be an event that is going down in history ! LOL

Ok boss, post edited as to not offend anybody :biggrin:

Me had to make do with 4AGE coz mine's an AT151.. Not ST150 :bawling::bawling: or I might have gone with the 3S as well..:bawling:

A very attractive proposition is to get an ST150/ST171 and put in a BEAMS.. Rare engine to show off.. Or even a TT141 and put in a 1G/1JZ/2JZ.. Imagine, on the outside it's "just a Corona" but once you pop the hood..:evil: Imagine the oomph!

Another attractive proposition is what you had seripously contemplated before, Mr. Yau, getting an A31 and... Ok, stop with the daydreaming!

Hmmm.. Now to think about it, why didn't you put the BEAMS Blacktop Dual VVT-i from the Altezza into your Corona, Mr. Yau? Was it due to lack of space?

Ok boss, post edited as to not offend anybody

Me had to make do with 4AGE coz mine's an AT151.. Not ST150 or I might have gone with the 3S as well..

A very attractive proposition is to get an ST150/ST171 and put in a BEAMS.. Rare engine to show off.. Or even a TT141 and put in a 1G/1JZ/2JZ.. Imagine, on the outside it's "just a Corona" but once you pop the hood.. Imagine the oomph!

Another attractive proposition is what you had seripously contemplated before, Mr. Yau, getting an A31 and... Ok, stop with the daydreaming!

Hmmm.. Now to think about it, why didn't you put the BEAMS Blacktop Dual VVT-i from the Altezza into your Corona, Mr. Yau? Was it due to lack of space?/QUOTE]

Actually, I've changed my mind about having big clumsy Godzillas. Now I'm thinking of a giant killer that comes in a small package.

pZOGiywMT6c&t=1&usg=__aNXHgE5N9ZzHp9RIa7iKDtJlBs8=.jpg
with this:
M9U66Yq0ClM&t=1&usg=__OyiuLcJciYFhJZBLU6PVJIq-7BI=.jpg
=
7ZdUufDAu0I&t=1&usg=__sXzcpnc0YC3zNR0_LHsvzC64ZHc=.jpg

As for why I didn't dump in the Altezza 3S into my car is because:

1. I found an Altezza halfcut & the shop wanted RM 9k+ for it. RM 9k for the extra 10 Hp ??:stupid::stupid:
2. The black color doesn't look as mice or exclusive as the red :love:to me; I mean the engine color.

simple as that; I'm not gonna pay so much more for so little gain in return. If Hp was what I wanted, I'd dumped in the 3S-GTE, which is cheaper ( I mean the halfcut).

Well, I tend to agree with you on the red being exclusive.. Really gives your engine bay the "oomph" factor..:love::love:

Haha.. Is that the Rotary in a Starlet you had told me about before?
The 3rd pic.. Really "Dominic Torretto" style..:biggrin:

The color red actually doesn't make it any more exclusive than the black; infact most top of the range engine these days are black in color. Red was, in those days.... as in VR4, the 1st gen of the SR20 & of course, the Type R. So to me, the BEAMS is the Type R of Toyota.:love::biggrin:

When I was younger like you guys, I was always dreamt of building myself a "race car"...or well, at least a replica that's as close as to a real race car as I can get but as I grew older....

I just wanna build myself a FUN car; a car with lots & lots of SMILE factor, not numbers on papers. Oh, I have so & so much horsepower kinda thing. I've learned that sometimes ir should I say, most of these figures actually meant nothing in everyday driving unless you're in a track or a race ! It's difficult to explain that feeling but a FUN car is different from a race car.

I think I managed to get Shan to understand that concept a little now.:driver::biggrin: He just told me that he registered 180 km/h on his GPS without even realising it. So to me, that's a lot of SMILE factor.....:biggrin:

hahahahaha!!!!!!! finally i'm here to answer all question and the final verdict!
but first i really need to thank mr yau!:adore::adore: for:
1)selling ur engine to me!
2)keeping an eye out on the conversion process
3)test driving and problem solving/troubleshooting after the conversion
4)being really patient with this really novice car engine modder
5)for taking car of my personal safety!
6)and so much more!

second the verdict!:biggrin:
with no disrespect to any other engine owners.... i really have to say, the 3sge is a beast of an engine! the torque, the pick up, the induction roar, the power, the smile on my face is uncomparable to the engines, i have driven so far which includes, bt, svt, supercharger, superturbo, carb turbo, vtec, mitsu's 1.8 turbo..... like mr.yau, said, today around noon driving back to seremban, i accidently drove to 182km/h on my gps.... gave me a huge shock when i looked at it, bcoz i seemed to only be cruizing on the nkve!:slug: i feel that when i install my adjustables and larger rims, i would be getting daily summons from our beloved officers:rofl: rage, don't worry, u will be getting a test drive during our next tt, but i would have to warn that, for now u would not be able to enjoy much until i upgrade my suspensions, brakes and rim.... plus the pick up now seems better coz i have the 3sfe gearbox need to change it soon to the 3sge to enjoy better gear ratios to enjoy lower rpm at higher speeds...metaru, come come! see my 3s!!!:rofl:

so this coming week, TT anyone???? :biggrin::biggrin:

Hehe.. I agree 100% with you guys about a car that is fun to drive. Or the way I had said it, nice to drive lor. A drive that will give you a satisfactory adrenaline rush and allow you to enjoy the drive all the same. :biggrin:

That's why I'm not happy with my ride ma.. With the driving enjoyment I'm getting from the car right now, or should I say the lack of it, it's rather disappointing. Maybe it will be better once I settle the handling issues, the sluggish issues, etc etc..

I'm so jealous of you now, bro Shan!:evil::evil: How come I didn't have Mr. Yau oversee my BT conversion!:bawling::bawling: Hehe, just kidding lar. But seriously, I'm really envious but glad you got it right the first time. Don't mention the time your car spent at the workshop la.. But at least you didn't have to deal with sluggishness, sagat, changing spring after spring and still not getting a satisfactory setup, etc etc right?

I do agree with you that it's rather easy to exceed the speed limit with the new engine, though.. I was just cruising on Federal Highway with 6 people in the car when one of friends pointed out that my meter was displaying 170! I know, it's an analogue meter so I was probably going 10-20km/h lower than that but seriously, I felt like I was going only 100. It was pretty surprising, really.

About TT this coming week.. I'm soooooo coming :biggrin:
So, date is 13th November? What about the location?

Hehe.. I agree 100% with you guys about a car that is fun to drive. Or the way I had said it, nice to drive lor. A drive that will give you a satisfactory adrenaline rush and allow you to enjoy the drive all the same. :biggrin:

That's why I'm not happy with my ride ma.. With the driving enjoyment I'm getting from the car right now, or should I say the lack of it, it's rather disappointing. Maybe it will be better once I settle the handling issues, the sluggish issues, etc etc..

I'm so jealous of you now, bro Shan!:evil::evil: How come I didn't have Mr. Yau oversee my BT conversion!:bawling::bawling: Hehe, just kidding lar. But seriously, I'm really envious but glad you got it right the first time. Don't mention the time your car spent at the workshop la.. But at least you didn't have to deal with sluggishness, sagat, changing spring after spring and still not getting a satisfactory setup, etc etc right?

I do agree with you that it's rather easy to exceed the speed limit with the new engine, though.. I was just cruising on Federal Highway with 6 people in the car when one of friends pointed out that my meter was displaying 170! I know, it's an analogue meter so I was probably going 10-20km/h lower than that but seriously, I felt like I was going only 100. It was pretty surprising, really.

About TT this coming week.. I'm soooooo coming :biggrin:
So, date is 13th November? What about the location?

don't worry bout the issues u're having now... if u look at the earlier pages, i was doin a lot of stupid things trying to improve my car, when mr.yau from page one gave the same advise over and over again... i guess until we wise up, we would still follow other ppl advise and waste alot of money... now i regret not listenin from the begining and enjoying it for at least 4 years ago....

13 nov can la.... place the same first till we find sumwhere else better??? time while the sun is up would be good so that a mod can be seen.... it's a saturday rite???

hahahahaha!!!!!!! finally i'm here to answer all question and the final verdict!
but first i really need to thank mr yau! for:
1)selling ur engine to me!
2)keeping an eye out on the conversion process
3)test driving and problem solving/troubleshooting after the conversion
4)being really patient with this really novice car engine modder
5)for taking car of my personal safety!
6)and so much more!/QUOTE]

You're most welcome, bro Shan. Actually, no thanks is required coz that's what friends are for. Infact I was so worried that it may not meet your expectations coz everyone has different expectations, right ? So I'm really glad that you're happy with it.

As for the gearbox issue, it has always been the problem of 3S conversions unless it's a complete halfcut. Maybe if you come across a BEAMS gearbox with a reasonable price, let me know so that I "may" take that & sell you the gearbox that I'm using now.

RR,

don't be so disappointed just yet coz you've not sorted out yr exhaust system & other stuff yet. I'm sure it'll improve as soon as you get those issues sorted out. Actually the it is not exactly fair to compare the BT with the 3S coz it's 2 liter vs a 1.6, right ? It's just that I'm trying to say that torque is sometimes more important than Hp in everyday use, that's all.

Shan also needs to upgrade his exhaust piping size coz the standard one is too small. So maybe you guys can go to the exhaust shop together & get a discount, huh ?:idea:

yup the exhoust sounds likes a good idea...only thing if we can agree on the same shop... but first i need to go to the jpj this week... will get the registration complete than start on all the upgrades on the absobers and stuff... saw the absorbers that i want... earlier i saw those cheap hrc absorbers, till i saw in eneos the black gab fully adjustables, h/l s/h only 2999 the hrc was 2800... so add 200 and get brand should be good la... rims, i saw vip dad rim second hand for 900 17'' so that's what i'm going for... for now it's checking a few wiring that's giving a few problem(power window, alarm and speakers) others looks good! oh ya plus i saw the auto gauge meter that goes up to 300km/h! i'm getting that!

Wow.. 300km/h meter?:adore::adore: That's like, a digital Corona meter, or a separate Pivot or something like that?

Hehe, so now going for black GAB and not Titan eh? The GAB is made in Japan?

Really excited to see your ride, bro:biggrin::biggrin:

Oh yeah, you've done the PUSPAKOM inspection? When are you planning to go JPJ? If it's after Wednesday, let me know, ya. I need to do it this week or I'll never get it done :S

Wow.. 300km/h meter?:adore::adore: That's like, a digital Corona meter, or a separate Pivot or something like that?

Hehe, so now going for black GAB and not Titan eh? The GAB is made in Japan?

Really excited to see your ride, bro:biggrin::biggrin:

Oh yeah, you've done the PUSPAKOM inspection? When are you planning to go JPJ? If it's after Wednesday, let me know, ya. I need to do it this week or I'll never get it done :S

The speedo's brand was auto gauge... The gab, coz i don't have the time to wait for titan to customise for me... Puspakom will be after wed so ya we can go together.

hey guys! where is everybody???
well sum minor updates! went to the puspakom and failed my brakes twice... but congrats to ragerunner, for getting his passed! today i went to rage's mechanic and sorted my brakes out.... 2o2r... i guess i would be seeing u here to get it done here! the handbrake only need to be pulled halfway to get a full lock... sumthin bout the bottom part that needs the screw changed to the other way...cost a bit more expensive than u would be normal to, but safety? can't put a price on that...

so kl guys... are we confirmed gathering on saturday??? around 7++pm??? keep us updated!

2o2r... i guess i would be seeing u here to get it done here! the handbrake only need to be pulled halfway to get a full lock... sumthin bout the bottom part that needs the screw changed to the other way

Wey, you should've taken a pic of it to show me mar...so that I can show my mech & screw him up as well !

aiyah so sorry boss!!:adore::adore::adore: when i sent the car, he told me would take around 6hours to finish, but i still waited... when he took out the disks for skimming, i decided to go for breakfast and a shave... came back 1 half hours, all fix back and testing! rage, do u remember what he said, took him 5 times to do ur car than only he knew what to do???? remember where that was????