Spyware

SiGNAL

Hi all the sifus out there.....

I've had some serious spyware problem which I couldn't seemed to get rid even I scan with the famous Ad-Aware with latest update. Can anyone teach me how to remove this spyware?! I'm not sure where this spyware comes from but it certainly does not come frmo Kazaa cause usually Kazaa popups are in IE form but this one isn't. I'm using Kazaa Lite btw. So what to do?! I'm going crazy trying to remove this spyware..... I'll try print screen the thing and post up to you guys and let u ppl see. I heard spybot is good but sometimes it deletes too much stuff.. may cause windows to corrupt I heard.... anyone using it?!

Thanx all sifussss

Both Ad Aware & Spybot works fine for me. But if you using Spybot,
go through the scan list before any attempt to clean it. I used to see
Windows media player's file there. Check / Uncheck those which you think necessary.

visiting sites that has active x enable will cause the spyware to enter , will prompt a window asking you to install a plug in , etc etc . normally it comes from gator or ibonze shit like that .

Go to google.com and seacrh for HIJACKTHIS and CWSHREDDER.

Of u could go to www.merjin.org and download them.

Run cwshredder first. Then run Hijackthis. Remember hijackthis can effectively remove adware startups. But be careful not to remove .OCX files. Its pretty easy to figure out what to remove. If you have problems, just attack a screen capture and i'll try to guide you on what to remove.

heya...it's not "spyware" as you guessed it, but more of an exploit in the windows messenger service..

just open your task manager and kill the program msmsgs.exe

then run msconfig and uncheck the unnecessary programs from running at startup..

the program is windows messenger service

NOT msn messenger 6.1

this is different program..used as instant messaging in the network domain... or from microsoft...

it might due to some plug in installed quitely and run as service.
Try to locate hijack ths software.. it can 100% solve ur problem.

Hi guys..... I've solved the !@#$%^ problem already. jerm is right about the messenger stuff.... It's stupid for window to run this shit..... I also dont know got this kinda thing cause I never kena before leh. Been using Windows XP for like 2 years? First time kena this kinda message bugging shit.....

Here's how to disable it....

Control Panel --> Administrative Tools --> Services

Then there's a whole list of things, look for "Messenger" and right click and disable it. It should do it. I havn't receive any msg "yet" after disabling it. Will keep you guys updated if I do get it again.

:ph34r:

Simple solution!

Go to Computer Management -> Services and disable Messenger service.

Voila! Done...

you can also uninstall it from the add/remove programs area
under the add/remove windows components tab