Windows XP Update

SiGNAL

Anyone download and install this windows xp sp2??? i heard from my friend it's real good especially for pop-up blocker and spyware..... need to hear opinions from you ppl.... hehehe ;)

I'm using it now... also deployed to my office PCs too... so far, very stable and the built-in security is a lot better than ZoneAlarm! Easier n better integration to the OS.

Yes... many!

Old software won't run... need 2 update everything to latest b4 upgrading to SP2.

And... beware of Low Yat keys... they won't work after upgrading... got blacklisted already. Change 2 new key 1st. Use RockXP to replace the old key to new SP2 key... u need 2 search for SP2 key somewhere 1st.

Dunno what is Low Yat keys.... but the old software seems troublesome. dang..... to update or not to update is the question!

Yes... if u want stability n smooth migration.

I'm going to format my laptop n start from scratch next month... once my 40Gb HDD is here. Too much junk on the current OS (WinXP SP1).

just installed the sp1 & sp2 last night , since im going to format my hdd soon , so might as well give it a test , looks like my anti virus " norton " does not intergrate with the secure panel . so far its okay no probs with it .

Hmmm thanx for everyone's input. I'll go download the sp2 installer and start reformatting. Since nothing better to do. lol

One more thing i wanna ask u sifus,

The sp2 should have patched up all the loop holes that existed in sp1 right??? that means i dont have to update all the virus patch such as sasser and blast and netsky??

Yup... it is meant to install even on stock retail versions of Windows XP (unpatched).

Ehm sorry forget ask u about one more thing.....

If I'm gonna do a fresh install, do I need to install service pack 1 before i install service pack 2? or sp2 should have all sp1 update? wanna make sure before i reformat....

By the way, anyone know how to download the SP2 offline installer?

I don't want it to install online everytime.

Here's the link to the offline installer....

http://www.download.com/Windows-XP-Service-Pack-2/3000-2098-10308947.html?tag=lst-0-1

Originally posted by SiGNAL@Sep 2 2004, 01:52 AM
Ehm sorry forget ask u about one more thing.....

If I'm gonna do a fresh install, do I need to install service pack 1 before i install service pack 2? or sp2 should have all sp1 update? wanna make sure before i reformat....
You don't need to install SP1 or whatever patches to install SP2... even 'virgin' XP also can... :P

Write your reply...