Some Technical Terms...

pennywise

I recently decided to pick up car's modification as my hobby. I've been through a few shops at Sunway and Klang, looking at car parts for my car. I roughly know what I want but there are some technical terms which I dont understand.

I havent seen any thread that's stickied saying 'FAQ For Newbie' so I thought this will be a good place for me to ask some of the questions that's in my head.

For rims:-
What's P.C.D?
What's Offset?

For exhaust:-
What's downpipe?
What's frontpiping?
What's muffler?

P/S: Moderators, if there's already a thread like this, kindly direct me to it and delete this off the board. Thank you.

pennywise said:
I recently decided to pick up car's modification as my hobby. I've been through a few shops at Sunway and Klang, looking at car parts for my car. I roughly know what I want but there are some technical terms which I dont understand.

I havent seen any thread that's stickied saying 'FAQ For Newbie' so I thought this will be a good place for me to ask some of the questions that's in my head.

For rims:-
What's P.C.D?
What's Offset?

For exhaust:-
What's downpipe?
What's frontpiping?
What's muffler?

P/S: Moderators, if there's already a thread like this, kindly direct me to it and delete this off the board. Thank you.

good question...:) i've also need to know all this term. anybody can help?

PCD is the Pitch Centre Diameter i.e. the lug pattern of the wheels.

Offset is the distance of the wheel hub to the centre.

See this website : http://www.tyres-online.co.uk/techinfo/alloy.asp

Exhaust terms I am not too familiar. Muffler is the silencer box at the back of the car.

im no sifu or otai..tryto answer few question for you.

1)pcd..terms use for rims lug hole size (ranging from PCD100 to 114.3 correct me if im wrong).for sports rim with 8 lugs hole s it will fit both pcd100 or 114.3 cars.

eg. wira is using PCD 100 and waja is using 114.3. so you wont see any wira will be using waja's OE rims (xcept they've change it purposely by doing the "bom" -terms use to change the lugs.

tips- if you're buying any sports rim, do buy the one with 8 lug holes.(easier to trade in or resell it to zth members.) hehe...

2) muffler - box which located at the end of your xhaust system.

cheers:p

Downpipe, its a pipe that is connected to the outlet of the wastegate or turbo actuator that allow excess exhaust gas to be vented out.

Turbo uses exhaust gas to spin the compressor fin to suck more air into the engine. We call compression rate as boost. So when the turbo generates boost it generate more pressure but you cant keep on increasing the boost cause it will over boost. Overboost will blow ur engine. So in order to control the boost level an internal actuator is built-in in every turbo for big turbo they uses wastegate.. When the turbo reach its specific boost level say at 1 bar. Then the actuator or wastegate will open if the boost goes beyond 1 bar hence the excess exhaust gas will bypass the compressor fin at the exhaust side and out to the atmosphere or muffler.

wahh.. thank you very much to all the sifu's..:) very educational.. now at least i know some of the terms...thanks alot

rims.....depends on ur car...whether u have 3 lugs, 4 lugs or 5 lugs

there're various kinds of rims, pcd 110, pcd 100, pcd 114.3...etc

do make a research, 8 holes aka, pcd 100 and 114.3 can masuk, most cars use this kind of rim cause it's easier to sell, but for me i prefer 4 holes cause it looks nicer, i'm using TE37 replica 4 holes

for 10 holes, same...but for 5 lugs cars like cefiro....etc

Oh..not forgetting PCD 108 for continental cars like Peugeot and citroen.

Besides PCD & offset, you also have to look at the width of the rim and the hub diameter.

eg Proton Wira is 4/100 PCD, offset 35 and hub diameter 56mm. Certain Toyota models use same 4/100 PCD and offset 35 but hub diameter 54mm. If you fit the Wira rims onto the Toyota, then your car will vibrate.

If you upsize from say 15 x 6j to 17 x 8j, you may need to decrease the offset to accommodate the wider rim though this is not always the case.

tell, you what.

next time, ask google first.

More often than not, it has the answer.