SMT6 - piggyback

Nope for the SMT you cant use it to go MAFless. The MAP sensor is just used to read manifold pressure so that on the SMT module can take the inputs to display on the tuning software for the tuner to do the mapping. How else you want to tune a Turbo via TPS? Nooo, You want boost baby!!

pesonally I'd go for the OBIT piggyback ecu which is basically the same features as SMT6 but a higher speed processer, you get faster response for a little bit moe $$$

Oh Yeah, You can actually go to a MAP matering with the HKS VPC without the need of switching to a standalone.

a noob ques hoping u sifus can enlighten...
can SMT6 handles Mivec Open Point with Ori 4g93 ecu?
Meaning the ori Ecu itself cannot handle the open point
but can smt6 handles this?

AlucarD said:
Nope for the SMT you cant use it to go MAFless. The MAP sensor is just used to read manifold pressure so that on the SMT module can take the inputs to display on the tuning software for the tuner to do the mapping. How else you want to tune a Turbo via TPS? Nooo, You want boost baby!!

hi Alucard...

thanks for the info.

does the smt6 tune fuel/ignition via fixed 3-d fuel/ign vs load vs rpm map.

beside using the map sensor to display boost on PC as the tuner tunes the engine,
does it use the map sensor when running to modify fuel to extra injector...or is the fuel map fixed after tuning...cos if like this waste a lot $$$ for the bloody map sensor if its used only during tuning....can put first to tune then take out? heheh....try to save $$ laa

thanks,
140dB

Yes, it does Fuel/Ign/rpm as it has 1 map for each function. If your tuner rajin and u got lots of moolah.. the rpm points can be calibrated according to your preference not fixed like the SAFC.

SMT6 has another output for the extra injertor and a AUX output for other stuff like Nos and not sure if can do Mivec activation. (For Gti) Your stock 93P ecu will not have MIvec control u have to use and external controller of some sort.

If i'm not mistaken, You will still be using the same fuel map with the extra injector. The purpose of that expensive MAP sensor is to read your engine load/boost so that the tuner knows where to + and where to - the fuel base on the rpm. As you know Ign is related to the above as well to find your optimum/target AFR at max boost/power.

You forgot that SMT has 2 settings as well MAP A and B. So again if tuner rajin and you got $$$ you can tune for 2 3D maps to your heart content and ... not bad for a piggy eh. Oh the answer to all your question is a YES.

Take the MAP sensor investment as a contribution to your Haltech project later :wink: ... you'll need it anyway, what happnes if you do some mod and want to retune? Buy it again? :tongue: cheers

140dB said:
hi Alucard...

thanks for the info.

does the smt6 tune fuel/ignition via fixed 3-d fuel/ign vs load vs rpm map.

beside using the map sensor to display boost on PC as the tuner tunes the engine,
does it use the map sensor when running to modify fuel to extra injector...or is the fuel map fixed after tuning...cos if like this waste a lot $$$ for the bloody map sensor if its used only during tuning....can put first to tune then take out? heheh....try to save $$ laa

thanks,
140dB

AlucarD said:
Yes, it does Fuel/Ign/rpm as it has 1 map for each function. If your tuner rajin and u got lots of moolah.. the rpm points can be calibrated according to your preference not fixed like the SAFC.

SMT6 has another output for the extra injertor and a AUX output for other stuff like Nos and not sure if can do Mivec activation. (For Gti) Your stock 93P ecu will not have MIvec control u have to use and external controller of some sort.

If i'm not mistaken, You will still be using the same fuel map with the extra injector. The purpose of that expensive MAP sensor is to read your engine load/boost so that the tuner knows where to + and where to - the fuel base on the rpm. As you know Ign is related to the above as well to find your optimum/target AFR at max boost/power.

You forgot that SMT has 2 settings as well MAP A and B. So again if tuner rajin and you got $$$ you can tune for 2 3D maps to your heart content and ... not bad for a piggy eh. Oh the answer to all your question is a YES.

Take the MAP sensor investment as a contribution to your Haltech project later :wink: ... you'll need it anyway, what happnes if you do some mod and want to retune? Buy it again? :tongue: cheers

hi,

no laa.... "force" the tuners to pinjam me first la......anyways can smt6 run on the "saved" map( tuning with map sensor) with the map sensor removed? im serious abt the saving $$ part btw...

140dB

AlucarD said:

Thanks for the info. BTW where can I find a good SMT tuner in kl? Any idea how much they charge to tune SMT6?

Cheers.

niceputera said:
Thanks for the info. BTW where can I find a good SMT tuner in kl? Any idea how much they charge to tune SMT6?

Cheers.

Bro

If u intend to get SMT6 better to add a bit more and get OBIT, it is excatly the same as SMT6 only that it has a faster processor, thus more accurate and better response..

AlucarD sifu,

just a question....what will happen if SMT6 installed on a engine that have closed loop capabilities?theres certain engine will take into account the input from O2 sensor and then modified the closed loop value????? maybe im wrong la.....example....4age 20v

thnx

Wah, your tuner so good to you.. so i guess you gonna pinjam to wideband 02 also la .. yes the SMT will run on the saved map. If you short of $$ go find subaru map sensor also can mah noe need Haltech 3bar lor ....

140dB said:
hi,

no laa.... "force" the tuners to pinjam me first la......anyways can smt6 run on the "saved" map( tuning with map sensor) with the map sensor removed? im serious abt the saving $$ part btw...

140dB

Not sure if GT still does SMT.. heard they switch to Haltech interceptor. Anyway, call them TOBY 0122125840.

niceputera said:

Cheers.

Wei wei ... what sifu sifu ... no lah, we are all here to share share mah..

Anyway, sorry the SMT does not do close loop function. You would need a haltech or something similar.

GT20v said:
AlucarD sifu,

just a question....what will happen if SMT6 installed on a engine that have closed loop capabilities?theres certain engine will take into account the input from O2 sensor and then modified the closed loop value????? maybe im wrong la.....example....4age 20v

thnx

hehhe.i know.....i know....

and i know SMT6 doesnt do closed loop.What i mean if let say the have have a closed loop feature..will SMT6 tuning go on effect during closed or only open loop????aiih dunno how to ask the question...hope u understand..

GT20v .. Hmmm, good question. Frankly speaking, I'm not sure about this one. But I dont think that it will not affect the close loop function since it does not have that feature. Most car have a close & open loop control but in order to tinker with that you will need some thing that does it. Anyone? can help out..

from experience....

SAFC be it 1 or 2 version.........during tuning with 4age 20v ie 4 wire O2 sensor.it goes smooth and power.......but afetr 3-4 days of driving.....the ecu will auto compesate the safc and mod its value ...this will render the tuning with safc useless......

newbie here,smt6 got wat function ar beside can adjust fuel?can adjust the ignition timing?how much the market price + installation?thank you

When I installed the oBit (similar to SMT if not the same thing) more than a year ago, i spent 1.4k SGD. That is almost RM3K. However, I was doing forced induction, so the tuning was more comprehensive since I was driving extra injectors etc, etc... Also, depending on cars, mine has a very clever ECu whcih relearns and adapt to the driving habit in a week or two. I tried eManage before, but somehow, it cannot overcome the "learning" well.. so, i dumped the eManage and went with oBit. Was pretty happy with the results, except that my fuel consumption went up a little.

I dont have experience to comment on SAFC, but the guys in other forums was pretty happy with the results as well, but I doubt that would be a good investment for the moolah...

If I got $$, I would definitely go full swing EMS. After you install any piggy back, there will still be limitations. However, if you go EMS, you will loose the standard OBD codes machine scanner compatibitly (you will always be stuck with someone who is familiar with your EMS) Again, these are my personal opinion....

duh! said:
When I installed the oBit (similar to SMT if not the same thing) more than a year ago, i spent 1.4k SGD. That is almost RM3K. However, I was doing forced induction, so the tuning was more comprehensive since I was driving extra injectors etc, etc... Also, depending on cars, mine has a very clever ECu whcih relearns and adapt to the driving habit in a week or two. I tried eManage before, but somehow, it cannot overcome the "learning" well.. so, i dumped the eManage and went with oBit. Was pretty happy with the results, except that my fuel consumption went up a little.

I dont have experience to comment on SAFC, but the guys in other forums was pretty happy with the results as well, but I doubt that would be a good investment for the moolah...

If I got $$, I would definitely go full swing EMS. After you install any piggy back, there will still be limitations. However, if you go EMS, you will loose the standard OBD codes machine scanner compatibitly (you will always be stuck with someone who is familiar with your EMS) Again, these are my personal opinion....

bro

what car are you driving? I'm using OBIT too, my car also has latest Siemens intelligent ECU, but OBIT can handle this type of ECU very well..I also thinking of going forced induction. I'm in Singapore too...Pm me your contact number then we can go yumcha together...

Razaksa.... well, i am happy with oBit too. However, right now, seemed to have some issues when removing the unit. I thought of using the CAMCON VVTi controller, but in the process of removing the piggy back, my ecu somehow has real problems in closed loop operation. I am not pointing finger to anyone at this point of time, but I am investigating at the moment... dont get me wrong. I will still say that oBit has proven to me to overcome closed loop problems inherent in my current ride.

Btw.. me on Altezza now.. not 6MT but 5AT unfortunately.. which makes modding a real nightmare...