SL55 or Boxster S

starkiller..
yeah long u MIA....y not continue your masters then yr dad could buy u a ferrari or lambo haha...manatau...
anyways y not u test out both cars & pick the one u like....follow your instincts.....

Brother Danz ya wei lama tak dengar crita from u, I memang plan to do my masters. Actually that doesn't sound too bad ey? F430 (my dream car) price would've dropped by then haha. True, testing would definitely the best method. Anything other cars you could suggest?

The Boxster is better as it has Porsche's PDK which is double clutch like DSG.

Still confused on the PDK system, i see alot of people praising it but in reality I have no clue whats it about, but DSG tau la.

So would the boxster s be perfect for my usual blasts on the highway? or should i be considering other brands?

the SL55 would be the better autobahn cruiser down the highway despite the age... that being said the cockster S has better ZTH numbers... maybe it would help if you tell us why you shortlist these 2 cars that are so different.

btw, ignore the haters. people just butt hurt they weren't born with a silver spoon. just make sure you take pics of your ride when you get it :)

the SL55 would be the better autobahn cruiser down the highway despite the age... that being said the cockster S has better ZTH numbers... maybe it would help if you tell us why you shortlist these 2 cars that are so different.

btw, ignore the haters. people just butt hurt they weren't born with a silver spoon. just make sure you take pics of your ride when you get it :)

Well the reason i chose the Boxster S was mainly because at first glance I thought "WOW YOU SEXY THANG" so I watched a Chris Harris review and he gave it a pretty good overall, as far to say it was almost as good as a 991. So naturally it enticed me.

Then I looked through the Second-hand market and saw an SL55 for a bargain, and i've always loved AMG's for that rumble and presence. I didnt really shortlist, which is why i put in my first post 'thus far' :). Thats all really, not because of anything specific and whatnot, still pretty much a kid when it comes to cars. So I figured there's alot of petrol-heads in ZTH, why not ask them right? :driver:

Don't worry bro I'm used to haters, I used to drive a satria neo with an Evo-X kit so you can imagine hahahah. & ill deffinately share pics reagrdless of what car it is!

Pre own 997 911 is way to go

Really? Why though?

cause 911 is the benchmark of all Porsche (and apparently Nissan GT-R's target). 997 is only replaced by the 991 last year. the 911 turbo has everything really, power, handling, looks.. a true petrol head will choose it over a cockster in a heartbeat. only a hair dresser would choose a cockster over a 911..

the turbo comes with a dry sump from factory..you know its serious business. the Cockster is a fast car, and its a convertible (do you really need that in Malaysia? - to show your cocky face probably). the 911 is a very fast car. since this is ZTH, we choose the very fast car.

another thing is, if you drive boxster S..it gives people the vibe you can barely afford a real 911 so you settled for the boxter.. its like driving a BMW 1 series hatch, cannot afford a BMW so bought half a BMW.. lol

I like DR78's suggestion.

TVR Sagaris would be psychotically awesome on M'sian roads but highly impractical due to the ride height.

I've seen a couple of ridiculously mint looking TVR Chimaera's on KL roads and they are massively handsome cars.

Porsche 911 is a pretty neat car too. But get the stock one, the GT2 and GT3 stock clutchs are really difficult to handle (for me anyway). Fast like mad on the highway but horrible and impossible in a jam. And modding a GT3 to have a softer less grippy clutch is pointless.

Aiya Ixeo the Boxster isn't that bad a car la. Handling wise and comfort it's in a class of its own. Speed on the other hand I'm sure there are cars faster than it. But who really cares to speed that fast anyway these days?

And don't diss the BMW 1-series la! I'm a huge fan of the sedan 1-series. The hatchbacks are horrible

cause 911 is the benchmark of all Porsche (and apparently Nissan GT-R's target). 997 is only replaced by the 991 last year. the 911 turbo has everything really, power, handling, looks.. a true petrol head will choose it over a cockster in a heartbeat. only a hair dresser would choose a cockster over a 911..

the turbo comes with a dry sump from factory..you know its serious business. the Cockster is a fast car, and its a convertible (do you really need that in Malaysia? - to show your cocky face probably). the 911 is a very fast car. since this is ZTH, we choose the very fast car.

another thing is, if you drive boxster S..it gives people the vibe you can barely afford a real 911 so you settled for the boxter.. its like driving a BMW 1 series hatch, cannot afford a BMW so bought half a BMW.. lol

Alright i get the whole 911 thing, but I really don't get the hate towards the 981 & the hate only seems to be in Malaysia. Based on reviews overseas they don't really see any problems with it, well as far as what i've seen. So is only owning a Porsche cocky or is every Ferrari owners considered cocky aswell? Cause i really don't see the feminine side of it, previous model yes but not the '12.

I like DR78's suggestion.

TVR Sagaris would be psychotically awesome on M'sian roads but highly impractical due to the ride height.

I've seen a couple of ridiculously mint looking TVR Chimaera's on KL roads and they are massively handsome cars.

Porsche 911 is a pretty neat car too. But get the stock one, the GT2 and GT3 stock clutchs are really difficult to handle (for me anyway). Fast like mad on the highway but horrible and impossible in a jam. And modding a GT3 to have a softer less grippy clutch is pointless.

Aiya Ixeo the Boxster isn't that bad a car la. Handling wise and comfort it's in a class of its own. Speed on the other hand I'm sure there are cars faster than it. But who really cares to speed that fast anyway these days?

And don't diss the BMW 1-series la! I'm a huge fan of the sedan 1-series. The hatchbacks are horrible

Actually, should just settle for Fiat 500 Abarth since these 2 cars people hate so much hahah :burnout:

Fiat 500 Abarth is a good choice. There's only ever 1 sighting of the standard Fiat 500 in KL (mainly because of the ridiculous cost of shipping one in) so if you get the Abarth, you'd be unique for sure

At your given price range, there's pleeenty of choices, be it new or 2nd hand cars. Maybe listing what exactly that you want and prioritize will make things easier.

Never said the Boxster is bad, just compared it to 911 Turbo, its not that great.

And I was dissing the BMW 1-series hatch, read again. I made sure to specify the hatch.

Alright i get the whole 911 thing, but I really don't get the hate towards the 981 & the hate only seems to be in Malaysia. Based on reviews overseas they don't really see any problems with it, well as far as what i've seen. So is only owning a Porsche cocky or is every Ferrari owners considered cocky aswell? Cause i really don't see the feminine side of it, previous model yes but not the '12.

Actually, should just settle for Fiat 500 Abarth since these 2 cars people hate so much hahah :burnout:

There's no "hate" towards 981 from me. I call the Boxster a Cockster simply because the people I met bought the Cockster because its the cheapest Porsche badge in the market. They just wanted to be driving a Porsche. So yeah they are cocks. I don't see why a petrol head would choose a Boxster S over a 997 911 Turbo. Unless I'm on the wrong forum and this is a hair dresser's forum :thefinger:

Like I said. For YOUR purpose, I don't know why you want a new Boxster S over a 997 911 Turbo, you pay a premium for it being new and you lose the warranty.

And yeah you have plenty of other choices, Fiat 500 Abarth won't do well on the highway. TVR closed down for very good reason. lol.

Any other cars in that price range that you can list out? Or maybe just bring back a R34 or a Supra better...:biggrin:

Oh. Here we go.

Ignoramuses supporting ignoramuses. Birds of a feather truly flock together.

Let's see.

1) I have no beef with the privileged/fortunate/lucky/silver spoon people of this world. I however have an issue with people who know very little and yet choose to inflict their ignorance on the rest of the world. For the record, if you have the right to post stupid things, threads/opinions online, I have the right to tell you that you are silly/stupid/ignorant.

What's worse, is some other people who know as little choose to advice them. Yes, yes...we all know you read some magazines, may have a few "friends" who own these cars, seen these cars around, maybe even drove them for a little. Just because you know a little, please try not to think you know what is good and what is not. You are NO Walter Rohrl.

Even better, try not to advice a lucky young boy on what to buy. His ignorance compounded by your unfounded opinions is just going to plain kill him (at worst) or if lucky (at best), result in him; hating what he just bought.

If you had this ignorant a$$'s best interest at heart, you would at least advice him to fully understand what he wanted in a car and then proceed to listen to his reasons. This poor little rich boy wants a boulevard lifestyle cruiser and YET mentions that he ADORES touge. Does this even sound logical to any motorhead worth his salt. To be honest, I don't really care if he crashed his car due to his lack of skill/talent BUT what if due to some twat's (from here) advice, this little boy gets himself a 350bhp RWD car and then proceeds to ram into innocents while he is "adoring" his touge up Genting (when he gets back). Are the "advisors" here going to own up and say...I influenced him because I thought I knew what I was talking about... Just because you know a bit and this is a forum DOES not mean you have any right to shirk responsibility when the shit hits the fan. Like what we have seen a hundred times, they're all going to "mourn" the injured/dead/damaged car...say RIP and conveniently forget that they perpetuated this little's boy's ignorant fantasy.

Why am I so adamant that this poor little rich kid is not ready for a car in this league? (Some knucklehead is even asking him to get a 997 turbo!!??) Just look at his inputs, I give him that his grammar is good and he sounds like a genuinely nice young man. ALL the more, should we be sitting here and allowing stupid people to give him stupid advice? Any driver who is even a little talented/good will know that the thing that this poor little rich kid is asking for DOES not exist. He wants a poseur mobile that he can touge and THEN cruise the highways in! HAHA...my gawd. And for these objectives, he's picked the Boxster and an SL55. Objectively, does this even sound like someone who remotely is ready for a car of the Boxster's or SL's performance. He is no teenage karting/open racer prodigy. AND as someone mentioned that there are teenagers who can drive, NO doubt there are and many a time they make even seasoned motorheads look like amateurs on the track. However, these talented few would not even be looking at the Boxsters/SLs... what more asking these kind of amateurish/childish questions.

I am no moral guardian or remotely talented driver but this I know.

To handle a Boxster or SL or any other remotely high powered performance vehicle requires talent/experience and maturity. AND even then shit still happens.

BUT to perpetuate this danger via condoning blatant ignorance whether its through misguided "wisdom" or "experience" is downright criminal. No one said he can't enjoy his good fortune but let's ensure he doesn't kill anyone in the process.

well, if i were in ur shoes bro, i might consider porsche 930 and get it tuned up by nakai-san..it have the looks, and the power..and it will look so damn cool to have it in our beloved malaysia bro!i think for 200k, u can get it

Oh God....

His rather baffling choice of car choices notwithstanding, I don't go about and pretend to know the OP well enough to pass judgement on his driving skill and maturity, what more to call him ignorant or stupid.

If you don't agree with his choices, fine, suggest ones that you think are more suitable or just don't bother. Insulting people won't get your points across, no matter how valid you think they are.

For the record, the OP actually state he prefers a car to blast on the highway more than touge. Not a car that is equally good on both. I find it's better to read between the fine lines rather than make assumptions.

Good day.

I am sincerely curious to know as to how many races have this elsm80 won b4 to even qualify to pass judgement like this. Hope he can show us his trophy and videos to prove it. Otherwise he is just another loser like what he describe. I may be one of the stupid person he is describing here, but i am not ashame to admit i know very little about cars and im not pretending to be a race car driver. However i am proud to say that cars have motivated me to do better in life. It makes me work harder so i can afford a better ride without a single cent from my old man. Some people likes cars purely for looks like me, some just like it hardcore for race track and some likes it in some other sense. Whats wrong? After all your not paying for it right? Im also quite sure TS is intelligent to know the limits of whatever car he is getting. Apa u sakit?:thefinger:

Hello Guys sorry been inactive, wanted to do some reasearch before opening my mouth again (don't wanna sound like a moron hahah). So over the weekend I had the opportunity to join a small supercar convoy, got the chance to talk to an R8 owner aswell as a Gallardo owner. After bombarding them with my questions I've concluded that yeah the cost of owning a supercar is too high, especially if second-hand, wayy too high for any son to incur on his old man just for the sake of "wanting a cool car". So I'm gonna settle for something entry-level or mid-range. Something more appropriate to my age hahah :burnout:

So here is my new shortlist;
2012 Subaru BRZ (£24,995 with the standard six-speed manual)
- 2.0 NA. 200HP
- Performance: 147mph(235KMH), 0-62mph in 7.3sec
DSC_0139b3-500x305.jpg

DSC_0176b1-500x291.jpg

2012/2013 A250 AMG (£28,755 Top Spec)
- 2.0 Turbo, 211HP
- Performance: 149mph(240KMH), 0-62mph in 6.4sec
http://static.autoexpress.co.uk/sites/autoexpress.co.uk/files/styles/article_main_image/public/images/car_photo_542161.jpg
http://speedydaddy.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/SD_2014-Mercedes-A250-AMG-Sport-Rear.jpg

2012/2013 M1350i (£31,595 Top Spec i think)
- 3.0 NA, 316HP
- Performance: 155mph(250 KMH), 0-62mph in 4.9sec
bmw-m135i-xl.jpg

http://s1.aecdn.com/images/news/gallery/bmw-m135i-launched-in-australia-photo-gallery_20.jpg

2012/2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
- 1.6 Turbo, 160bhp
- Performance: 149mph(240KMH),0-62mph in 6.8sec
http://dhybridcars.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2012-Fiat-500-Abarth-Black-Color-Front-Rightside-angle.jpg
http://3d-car-shows.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Fiat-Abarth-2012-728x485.jpg

I know these cars are pretty different in their own nature, so I guess I should make it clear what exactly I want the car to do;

- Drivable everyday (I know the BRZ is abit of a retarded choice here but since there are so many S15, RX8 and other coupe owners that drive their cars everyday I figured its got a shot! I also know that the Beemer is no fuel saver but so many people drive their 3liter 4 or 5liters everyday so I guess its not that bad? And yeah the fiat is small, but maybe its still sufficient? i dont know)
- Fun for that weekend enthusiastic drive, regardless whether its highway mile munching or charging up and down a hill

So just thought I'd get some opinions on these choices, I realize the massive power difference but as it is now I'm driving 115hp daily so 160-200hp is more than fast for me :)

Thanks!

PDK is like DSG, only different name.

---------- Post added at 09:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:19 PM ----------

Pre own 997 911 is way to go

Just make sure you get the 2nd generation 997, preferably GT3 or GT3RS

PDK is like DSG, only different name.

---------- Post added at 09:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:19 PM ----------

Just make sure you get the 2nd generation 997, preferably GT3 or GT3RS

Thanks for the input bro, but have totally changed my list, mind commenting on the new one?

AMG AMG AMG AMG!!

But if you manage to ship in the Fiat Abarth you'd be one of a kind in M'sia. Fuel economy and all would be unbelieably good too. Parts for the Merc would be easier to source though