SL55 or Boxster S

The AMG hands down. Forget the last 2.

AMG AMG AMG AMG!!

But if you manage to ship in the Fiat Abarth you'd be one of a kind in M'sia. Fuel economy and all would be unbelieably good too. Parts for the Merc would be easier to source though

I was leaning more towards the Merc aswell! hahaha, thats true I would only need to go to Mercedes straight. Where would one service a Fiat here? seeing as there are a few :hmmmm:

Does BMW have the M135i in coupe version instead of that hatch/wagon style? If so, I'd go for that one, or the 1M if got budget.

I like the previous M-1 Series...but this one is just fecking ugly man...my opinion, of course.

Hahaha, yeah I agree, I also don't really like the design of the current generation bimmers, many of them are really ugly as well IMHO. The last bimmers that I really like were those early yr2000 ones (E46, E39, etc.) . But design is subjective preference, so up to the potential buyers. They make good high performance cars though.

Test drive, test drive & test drive. Then decide and buy.

Just to share my experience with you Starkiller, Having worked with a MB Authorized dealer for 4 years and then for another 2 years in a workshop that specializes in Continental cars as well, have serviced,repaired, diagnosed, and of course the very lucky privilege to drive both cars you mentioned. From my experience, the SL55 AMG is a great great car. Goes stupid fast in a straight line, not so good in the corners. The weight of the car at almost 2 tons really hampers the handling of the car. It is a great GT cruiser to take out with the roof down when the weather is nice :big grin:. Not to mention a relatively huge boot to boot (No pun intended), a golf bag will fit in there believe or not.

The thing to keep in mind with the SL55 AMG is the maintenance bro, not forgetting the RM13,699.00 road tax for the 5.5 litre V8 M113 engine yearly. 16 pieces of spark plugs (twin spark) every 3-4 years (Approx RM1K), a faulty Sensotronic Brake Control (SBC) (Easily RM4-5k) every 4-5 years or when shit happens, faulty Kompressor intercooler pump, a common failure for the M113 (RM2K), faulty ABC Suspension, if a front ABC strut goes kaput, prepare about RM10K per piece, if the ABC valve block goes kaput as well, another RM8K will be flying out from the window. At the end of the day, it's still a great car. Not to mention one of best standard V8 exhaust notes from factory! Pretty much everything else on the car like the engine, transmission and hardtop is bulletproof. It's the other stuff that rakes up the bills.

As for the Boxster, it's a pretty much solid car as a whole. Of course no where fast and exciting as the SL55 in a straight line, but it will deffinately outperform the Merc in the corners. A quick note on the PDK transmission tho, ain't cheap to repair as well. Common failure for the PDK is the valve body aka mechatronics and if I remembered correctly, costs RM14k. There are some cases if your luck really sucks, a complete transmission is needed if the thing cocks up. Wanna know how much a complete PDK costs?? Lets just say it can buy a brand new Toyota Camry from UMW Toyota. :big grin:

Just sharing my 2 cents, why not get a Cayman S Manual instead? I've driven one, the manual option is very very rare, and it was an absolute stonker to drive!

And since you have the budget as well, how bout an E92 M3? One of the best cars to come out from the ///M factory IMHO. But don't take my word for it bro, go and test drive all the cars you can before you buy. Happy shopping bro!

And yes you are a truly lucky bugger!

Just to share my experience with you Starkiller, Having worked with a MB Authorized dealer for 4 years and then for another 2 years in a workshop that specializes in Continental cars as well, have serviced,repaired, diagnosed, and of course the very lucky privilege to drive both cars you mentioned. From my experience, the SL55 AMG is a great great car. Goes stupid fast in a straight line, not so good in the corners. The weight of the car at almost 2 tons really hampers the handling of the car. It is a great GT cruiser to take out with the roof down when the weather is nice :big grin:. Not to mention a relatively huge boot to boot (No pun intended), a golf bag will fit in there believe or not.

The thing to keep in mind with the SL55 AMG is the maintenance bro, not forgetting the RM13,699.00 road tax for the 5.5 litre V8 M113 engine yearly. 16 pieces of spark plugs (twin spark) every 3-4 years (Approx RM1K), a faulty Sensotronic Brake Control (SBC) (Easily RM4-5k) every 4-5 years or when shit happens, faulty Kompressor intercooler pump, a common failure for the M113 (RM2K), faulty ABC Suspension, if a front ABC strut goes kaput, prepare about RM10K per piece, if the ABC valve block goes kaput as well, another RM8K will be flying out from the window. At the end of the day, it's still a great car. Not to mention one of best standard V8 exhaust notes from factory! Pretty much everything else on the car like the engine, transmission and hardtop is bulletproof. It's the other stuff that rakes up the bills.

As for the Boxster, it's a pretty much solid car as a whole. Of course no where fast and exciting as the SL55 in a straight line, but it will deffinately outperform the Merc in the corners. A quick note on the PDK transmission tho, ain't cheap to repair as well. Common failure for the PDK is the valve body aka mechatronics and if I remembered correctly, costs RM14k. There are some cases if your luck really sucks, a complete transmission is needed if the thing cocks up. Wanna know how much a complete PDK costs?? Lets just say it can buy a brand new Toyota Camry from UMW Toyota. :big grin:

Just sharing my 2 cents, why not get a Cayman S Manual instead? I've driven one, the manual option is very very rare, and it was an absolute stonker to drive!

And since you have the budget as well, how bout an E92 M3? One of the best cars to come out from the ///M factory IMHO. But don't take my word for it bro, go and test drive all the cars you can before you buy. Happy shopping bro!

Right on. Luxury cars especially European. Buying it is the easy part, maintaining it is a whole new ball game. That is why those cars are so desirable, "The harder it is to get, the more we wanted it".
Good luck in finding your dream car.

I suggest the BRZ if you don't mind driving a manual car. If you don't want a manual BRZ, then I would suggest A250 for the good looks and performance. This is just some of my own opinions, so at the end of the day, you should follow your instincts in choosing which car that you would like to buy since you will be the one who drives it, not us :biggrin: Anyway, I wish you congratulations for your graduation in UK. May you have a bright future ahead along with the new car that you're going to buy.

Hey bro! Thanks so much for that input. Couldn't imagine the figures for a F430 ahahha. M3 would be lovely but sadly its around 60-70K Pounds which is wayyy out of budget. Yeah test drives would be the best answer, thanks again for the input! Helps alot :driver:

Right on. Luxury cars especially European. Buying it is the easy part, maintaining it is a whole new ball game. That is why those cars are so desirable, "The harder it is to get, the more we wanted it".
Good luck in finding your dream car.

Yeah, tell me about it. I realize that now. Thanks man!

I suggest the BRZ if you don't mind driving a manual car. If you don't want a manual BRZ, then I would suggest A250 for the good looks and performance. This is just some of my own opinions, so at the end of the day, you should follow your instincts in choosing which car that you would like to buy since you will be the one who drives it, not us :biggrin: Anyway, I wish you congratulations for your graduation in UK. May you have a bright future ahead along with the new car that you're going to buy.

I really don't mind manual, unless F430 la cause if mati engine malu ahahha. But in your personal view would the BRZ be practical for daily use? I've never actually sat in one. Really leaning towards the A250 as i'm a Merc fanboy. Thanks for the wish man! :adore:

SL55 is a heavy car. Don't think you can push it too much. Road tax also a killer.

Boxter S is light & nimble & powerful. It's handling can beat bigger Porsche if not for the power limit.

BTW congrats on your study & car, but drive safely yo.

SL55 is a heavy car. Don't think you can push it too much. Road tax also a killer.

Boxter S is light & nimble & powerful. It's handling can beat bigger Porsche if not for the power limit.

BTW congrats on your study & car, but drive safely yo.

Hey bro, please refer to page 3 for my new shortlist. & i've replied to your post :). Thank you for the wish & yes i'll drive safe hahah :driver:

I really don't mind manual, unless F430 la cause if mati engine malu ahahha. But in your personal view would the BRZ be practical for daily use? I've never actually sat in one. Really leaning towards the A250 as i'm a Merc fanboy. Thanks for the wish man! :adore:

Well, I have not tried before the BRZ yet but I've read several reviews regarding the BRZ/86(GT86) and most of them praised the car for it's handling, practical and fun. Fuel consumption should be quite ok with the 2.0 litre direct injection engine. By the way, I can foresee a great tuning potential for the BRZ in the future. The A250 of course, would be more practical than the BRZ but I'm not sure whether will you be able to have that much of fun in it compared to the BRZ. At the end, I'll say that the A250 is more of a luxury oriented performance car while the BRZ is more focused at it's performance (especially in drifting) while compromising some luxury. Both were great cars so I think you won't regret choosing either one.

Hey bro! Thanks so much for that input. Couldn't imagine the figures for a F430 ahahha. M3 would be lovely but sadly its around 60-70K Pounds which is wayyy out of budget. Yeah test drives would be the best answer, thanks again for the input! Helps alot :driver:

Hehehe if you're talking about new then yeah. But used ones are quarter the price! Here check it out:
Used BMW E90 M3 [Post-08] cars for sale with PistonHeads

Cost of Cayman S is not that high. Parts can be easier found in Singapore.

Can't compare Cayman S with BRZ/FT-86 man. Totally different world. The FT-86 interior is pretty cheap. It's not meant to be luxurious or powerful.

Cayman comes with more power, better handling, slicker looks, more luxurious interiors, and a Porsche Badge with is in a league shared with Lambo & Ferraris.

I don't see any sensible reason not to consider it since unless you want to save rm4.xk road tax, fuel, engine oil, and make it easier to source parts.

Of course if you want a new car or 4-5 seaters different story.

E92/93 335i is also a good option if you want a balance of performance/handling/comfort/practicality.

Anyway buy the one that your feeling tells you.

Actually, you have a great options! If I have to choose I'll prefer the Boxter! I think SL55 AMG is quite heavy. I really love car's under the hood so I love too much power in the engine.