Silvertop Question .

limandy

Guys,

Why everytime i change oil, after run more the 3000km the oil start turn to black ? looks like is time to change the oil again.

Normaly i change oil around 5000km . can any silvertop sifu... aswer the question.

The oil will turn black ringht after 500 - 600km after new service.

3000km?? sure turn to damn kaw black already.

Originally posted by Acoustic@Apr 19 2005, 01:06
you all lucky lor, my one 100 km already black, even with oil cooler.
[snapback]908757[/snapback]​

Im also facing the same scenario, what is the best oil for 20v ? 20w-50? 15w-40?

Originally posted by ajnone+Apr 19 2005, 08:20 -->
QUOTE(ajnone @ Apr 19 2005, 08:20 )
--QuoteBegin-Acoustic
@Apr 19 2005, 01:06
you all lucky lor, my one 100 km already black, even with oil cooler.
[snapback]908757[/snapback]​

Im also facing the same scenario, what is the best oil for 20v ? 20w-50? 15w-40?
[snapback]909173[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

pakailaaa semi sintatik..15w-40..jgnla pakai 20w-50.itu utk engine standard or engine nak kong..

my one SVT until 5000km still ok loooor.... i'm using penzoil 10-40 or sometimes used toyota oil... if i use 15-50 it's heavy....

Originally posted by mika@Apr 19 2005, 16:40
my one SVT until 5000km still ok loooor.... i'm using penzoil 10-40 or sometimes used toyota oil... if i use 15-50 it's heavy....
[snapback]910652[/snapback]​

hey Mika-sifu,
i am also using Penzoil but 15-50, any advice ? what is the product code for 10-40 that u r currently using? Thanks

ya loh... everyone using silvertop.. face a same problem... can someone explain to me why it happen.....

u see... u r right la.. using engine oil black color wan..if not, it's not minyak hitam rite? ... it lives up to its name only... so no worries la k? ;)

:lol:

limandy,
i oredi explained to u mah yesterday.. sure la black color.. if not wat color u wan? gold color ar? ahahahahahahaahahaah! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :ph34r:

Regards,
Mike

isit cause Oil filter ? ... your guys use original oil filter also face a same problem.

its the oil's job to clean the engine internals from carbon residue which do not make it out the exhaust. if the oil doesnt take the carbon, ur engine sure will, and that coat of carbon stuck to the internals will be a bigger hassle over the long run. YES, aside from lubricating ur internals, its the oil's job to soak up extra dirt, grime and carbon deposits. if the oil turns black, it means the job is done! if it doesnt at all.. then there's something wrong with the oil or the engine.

engine sucks in air, piston compress air, spark plugs fire, kaboom. carbon forms, out the exhaust. some dirty the engine. oil takes the black stuff, u open engine see goldish brown internals.. hurray, such a clean engine. why? u forgot the oil, pour into tank bye bye.

the heck are u complaining about? change the oil as usual lah. black doesnt mean its lost its lubrication, unless taken beyond 5000km for normal cheap brands.

if the engine oil dun turn black then bad news lor :lol: its not working. Like what ae80typed@kay said.. it will still be able to do its lubrication work until 5000km (or more with fully syn).

Ok just a recap on what i have been telling everyone.

If ur oil turns black after 3000-5000, then its working correctly. Also means the inside of your engine is healthily dirty. Yes! healthy! If there is no dirt, maybe u got teflon anti stick coating. hahaha.

If u don't want to have black oil after 3000km, then use thicker oil. But silvertop hates 20-50. In fact most modern engines are not supposed to use 20-50. But the recommended 15-40 or 10-30.

Thin oils clean better. Its like u try to wash a wall with water or u wash with gel. Like that lar.

With modern engines u cannot assume anymore. They are all about accuracy.

But silvertop hates 20-50. In fact most modern engines are not supposed to use 20-50. But the recommended 15-40 or 10-30.

netmatrix,

i understand what u r saying bout water n gel....
one thing i dun understand is why silvertop hates 20-50 ?
i asked coz i use agip semi-syn 20-50 b4, and it works well....
and when the engine is hot enuf, it's runs smooother than earlier part...
just my observation... dun shot me... :D

ryuichi - Well of course u could use 20-50 for your 20V. But the case is, high mineral content vs synthetic. But then again i could go on and on and then we can refer to old and rewritten articles about engine oil.

One thing spoken by another resident sifoo EFN about engine oils containing Ester. Those are the best. But it is also the most expensive compared litre to litre. There are plenty of articles raving about Ester, until something better comes along that is. :)

20-50 vs 15-40 ahhh... another debate. hehehe. No lar, newer EFI engines, better use newer grade engine oil. The only bad point on why not to use 20-50 is its prone to sludging, higher deposits, slow heat dissipation, higher mechanical travel through, blah blah. hehehe.

I say so because my good old 2T 8V SOHC tried RM95 bucks 15-40 semi syn oil before. The difference is just too big to ignore. Through the years i have been using 20-50 BTW. So a little does go an extra. And i could see the sludge drop off like mud off under your shoes when using 15-40. The oil turned really black after just 1000km!

But then if 20-50 works very well for 20V, why not continue use it? Just wait 5 years after a rebuild. 1 engine use 20-50, one use 15-40, take them apart, then u will know. Because i don't have chemical analysis lab with me, nor do i have mechanical lab simulation hardware. hehehe.

alaa...i use 10W-40 semi-synthetic for all of my cars..old n new.ok only..
hehe

just for refference:
http://www.chris-longhurst.com/carbibles/engineoil_bible.html
almost all my knowledge about engine oil comes from here, instead of typing it out (cuz i probably type everything i read about there) i guess its better for ppl to read it themselves :lol:

find it very worthy reading material