Oil Tank Q....

BuroQ

Assalamualaikum and heya all

i was wondering, when u guys transplant ur engine... lets say from 1.3 to 1.6... do u change ur oil tank as well...?

if 1.3 oil tank can support 50 litres, how much does a 1.6 oil tank can support ?

When a 1.6 engine using a 1.3 oil tank, it has the same mileage i presume ?

sorry if my question sounds idiotic....:embaressed_smile:

depends... if u're using a 1.3 carb but prefer to have a 1.6 "internal" fuel pump.. then u change it... else, if u want external, u can use back yer 1.3 tank with external fuel pump - noisy and smelly

its best u change to an EFI tank .. the EFI tank is designed with dips and slopes to enable fuel to remain around fuel pump area most of the time ..

u did not state what car u using so i assume ae101 SEG laa .. 1.6 ORI tank for ae101 SEG is oso 50L capacity .. the main difference is the fuel piping .. 1.6 model is 8mm and 1.3 model is 6mm i think .. hehehehe ..

Ahh...ic...

Me drivin an EE100 SeG...which is running on carbs...sigh...

in the near future planning to change me engine.... suddenly pop out of nowhere this question...

luckily come to the right place...heheh

well just tell the mechanic wanna change to EFI Tank ?

first of all .. u have to be more RAJIN and go around halfcut shops to hunt for your tank .. not very hard to find laa .. any mechanic can install it for u laa .. simple job only ..

or u jes pay QiW... he kautim for u... either cash or planta also can

jeshh..it tot its 'oil'as in engine oil.....
call la petrol tank :)

if LE 1.3 carb change the engine....
which tank should i be looking for and the cost usually how much..??
ae86 tank ke..??

GT20v said:
jeshh..it tot its 'oil'as in engine oil.....
call la petrol tank :)

Aiyak...sorry sifus...my bad.... :embaressed_smile:

anyway usually when u buy ur halfcut...petrol tank included gak kan ?

If its separate , how much does it usually cost ?

EFi fuel tank

according to mech (Ah Nga - Bandar Tech Kajang)
EE100 Seg carb and AE101 SEG, the fuel tank design
and capacity (50 litre) is the same. Only different is the
fuel pump. Just change the fuel pump will do.
I converted mine EE100 to AE101 (4 AFE) he just change the fuel pump
only not the whole fuel tank and its run ok until now.

just my 2 cent...

ah...ic ic...

thank u...thank u... :_:

well anyway...i was wondering...does ur fuel tank actually reach 50 litres ? (based from the car's manual)

coz everytime i isi minyak...the most it can go is nearly 40 litres... itupun dah nak melimpah.... (testing purposes)

max i fill was 45 litre. that was after the fuel warning indicator light up for about 100km. and for that 45 litre of petrol 1 managed to get about 660km distance. 70% highway and 30% town.

sifu QiW said:
the EFI tank is designed with dips and slopes to enable fuel to remain around fuel pump area most of the time ..

a fuel surge tank should fix that right? cuz last time i transplant engine my mech told me i have 3 choice:

1. use ori tank, mod it with an internal fuel pump, and he can DIY a dip/slope kind of thing so i won't have problem when doing hard cornering with 5 liter of petrol left in the car. Problem is sending a wire inside the fuel tank for the fuel pump, he say he's not very good at that, can be done, but risky and hard.

2. use external fuel pump, can diy the slope also, or just get a fuel surge tank.

3. buy an EFI fuel tank.

i just choose the 3rd option. now my carb fuel tank left lying around at home.

ps. How big is AE86's fuel tank? i use until nearly dry (i open up the hatch where the float is, and look inside, near empty.. not much petrol left.. probably 1-2mm deep left.) and i only manage to pump in 32 liter. read from toymods australia they say 35liter only ar? real? now i pump full tank only rm60