Second hand car with B8 inside

wideawake

Hi all mazdainans,

Asking for advice here. Is a second hand car with B8 turbo a good buy? Is the engine good enough after the obvious torture it has gone through? What are the most likely problems with this engine.

Thanks.

p/s: I'm actually looking for a 1.8(m) Lantis. PM me if you have any.

Hi there,

There is a Lantis 1.8 (M), but Cycle & carriage only brought in the auto version.

Those that has a manual transmission means it is a transplant engine. However, reliability is assured.

Saw one half cut 1.8 (M) special edition in a chop shop quite some time ago. Good condition. However, it has been sold !

Hope this helps.

Thanks mz6 for claryfying that. No wonder I saw most of the ones on sale are auto.

Reliability is one thing. Looks like I need a good mazda mech to check it out before buying.

Hi there,

Dun worry about the reliability of Mazda engines. It is as good as the others. Basically, if you transplant an engine from the same car, reliability will be an issue, unless the mech did a shoddy work. All mounting are the same, the only difference maybe the gearbox mounting. Wiring will also be the same.

To summarise, it is just plug & play !

mz6,
I noticed from the forum that you are also have a Lantis.

Since it's auto, what do you think about the power delivery? Is it like can live with it or you prefer the manual instead?

What are the things to look out for when surveying for a second hand car?