B8 engine going coughing when...

tokaido

Why when i advance my B8's (turbo) distributor, the engine will coughing (sebak2)? I checked already the wiring, cabel plug and others... but the problem unsolved. The engine used hi cam in the past (said the previous owner), but when he sold the car to me, he replaced it to the standard cam. I think maybe he replaced it with the non turbo cam (NA). So that why my B8 coughing when the distributor turned advance. Can any one help me please? Tq.

wah where la he get the high cams ??? i also want tell him ....
emm bro u better take ur car to the mechanic fast to solve ur problem ....

previous owner used 278 HKS hi-cam maa... the car used to be in the drag track at batu kawan penang years ago. I went to the mechanic, he too goin dizzy with the coughing problem. Although of that, the car goes like bullet as usual lah... cuma the coughing matter makes me cannot sleep la.

i think 1st you have to try and determine if this is a fuel problem or electrical. i doubt very much that its a mechanical one ( cams ). since its been on the track before, maybe it could be ur injectors or railing that's giving you problems (WOT not pumping enuf fuel).

g'luck

coughing or missed firing? obviously you have to set the degree of your new cams in order for the car not to jerk or missfiring. The distributor wont give problem except the engine will just die. Check the plug cables as well. Oh, and also your ignition coil. I heard, B8's main problem is the ignition mechanicals. Thats what happened to me. Got few friends havin similar problem. Haha.. And true what tony said, fuel pump must also be checked...

Missed firing i think, yes! I already checked the fuel pump and its ok, i'm using the RB25's fuel pump, very strong maa. Hmm, thanks a lot Phr3ak for the information, i'll check the cam degree and ignition coil. If the problem keep happening, i think may be some damn mouse has eaten my wiring. Kahkah.

i think 1st you have to try and determine if this is a fuel problem or electrical. i doubt very much that its a mechanical one ( cams ). since its been on the track before, maybe it could be ur injectors or railing that's giving you problems (WOT not pumping enuf fuel).

g'luck

Can we check the engine problem by using the lap-top (computer checking)? In order to identify what really has happened. Bro, do u know any computer checking place? Tq.

Bro, which direction did you turn to advance? Towards radiator or towards cabin? Thank you~

Towards the cabin. Usually, if the distributor turned toward the cabin, the rpm will increase, but what has happened is the opposite la, the rpm turned down and the engine wanna die. If turned towards radiator, the rpm will increase a lil bit and stop coughing. Why2? Please help. Tq.

bro, for our old engine no poiint doing computer diag. i don't think there's any software avai for our engine as well. why in the 1st place you wanna advance your timing ? as far as i know, normal idling is at 800rpm. do you have the coughing problem at that idling speed ?

yes tonytony, the problem is, the engine coughing at normal idling at 800rpm ( in free gear lah), but when the speeds, the coughing gone and running as usual.

sounds like the same problem with my car a few weeks back... found out it was spark plug problem... but i'm sure you checked that already... ignition coil might be the cause