savvy vs myvi

mt_,

all car manufacturer start as small company, none of the car company start big and next year they start do exporting their car worldwide. You must start small and know how to GROW. And in order to GROW, you must know how to build a better car.

If Proton to accepts critics from customer, take serious consideration, improve it, we will support Proton for sure. Don't just release some Special Edition, Limited Edition, Collector Edition(OMG) by changing the bodykits but still with all the old problems unsolved.

And Frankly, Korean car have no icon, they are trying hard to adapt European design (that's why you see old Sonata is Jaguar + Merc + other european car design. Ehem, bad rojak design IMHO) in order to have a better sales in Europe. It's all about marketing, you build cars that what ppl want. You don't go against the market.

Ppl who live in big City like KL and JB will prefer to have auto gearbox for the traffic jam, and don't tell me that Proton don't know about it.

Speaking of the autobox for Savvy. Why don't they just provide a normal autobox instead of that stupid sequential manual they are planning on. Why? On a budget car like that it is pointless. And I bet there WILL be loads of problems with it. If you are someone looking for a cheap car, you wouldn't want that sort of problem. Plus, the renault clutchless manual (whatever they call it) isn't a great gearbox and French car parts aren't the most reliable. It really is a case of the cons far outweighing the pros.

agree wth u bout the korean design, from my observation there are 2 types of car manufacturer in the world:

1. Businessmen.

2. Car enthusiast.

For Proton, the Saga,wira, satria, perdana, waja is for making money whereby saga is their cashcow.

N the Gen.2 wth the great handling n Savvy wth the differentiation n the buying of augusta I beleive its on the enthusiast side. Maybe its a high perception from me but that's what i think lah. the same goes wth mustang of Ford. Ferrari, Lambo etc.

for Korean i think they want to show something to the world n the japs.

bout the proton defects we all agree bout that, what to do .. btw consumers r showing their affluence, n as a good businessmen they should know what to do...

btw european tech is hardla to swallow by asian ppl but western ppl do like asian cars maybe b'cos it cheap+reliable...

i think the game plan for savvy is like ths since proton 1 2 export it:
Lotus handling + Renault engine + asian price. perhaps western will like it lah.

No they won't. In the UK for example it would be dirt cheap. People who buy dirt cheap cars there don't care for the LOTUS handling. Renault engine isn't what you'd call exciting. And it has Asian build quality. Plus it depreciates like stone, so it will be worth nothing right after you bought it.

hahaha, if like dat, nothin' 2 say lah. then western ppl always lucky lah in terms of car..

meaning that M'sia is always left behind...

remind me 1 fren in aus. 1 of her fren gave her nissan sunny wagon for free n if she want 2 buy the car it only cost $50

si|verfish said:
I find these reports regarding the Myvi's grunt a bit odd actually. The same powerplant powers the Kembara (a 4WD off roader) and the Avanza (a SEVEN seater MPV). If these reports are valid, you should be seeing the latter 2 cars crawling up slopes all the time. You wouldn't be seeing any trying to get up Genting or the Karak highway for that matter. Unless Perodua did something that fucked up the engines performance really badly, I find this incredibly baffling.

Hey bro silverfish, please remember that a similar engine with similar output (horsepower) but different layout configurations has different power output when measure at the wheel (brake horsepower).

Firstly we must remember that both kembara and avanza are rear wheel drive vehicles. Worst still for kembara with its big tyres (contributes to high unsprung weight) because it is a full time 4WD. U will lose a lot of power thorugh the driveline if the car is FR. Which explains why many Japanese switch to FWD concept at the early eighties. No doubt FWD cars has its minus points like understeer and torquesteer, but more power transferred to the road means better fuel efficiency.

Secondly the Avanza is designed to carry more people (at least 7 adult or even 8). Thus they need more torque at lower speed, meaning lower ratios across the transmission gear range and higher rear axle final ratio. Kembara also has lower ratios to compensate for tyre and 4WD transmission drag.

To prove this, go travel in a family sedan car e.g. waja..at 100km/h the engine speed is about 2,800rpm. my old galant do 100 km/h in 5th at 2,500rpm. Wira and Iswara cruise at same speed about 3,100rpm in 5th due its lack of power.

Drive the Avanza and Kembara and at 100km/h at u will see tachometer needle hoovering about 4,000rpm. This explains the higher fuel consumption and more NVH. You can change the rear axle ratio so that engine speed lowers at crusing speed but u will lose the GO feel. Insuffient pulling power means higher consumption as a lot of gearchanges and unnecesssary acceleration is needed.

Why is the Myvi a bit low on grunt then (as commented by some)? The gearing? Different engine management settings? It is smaller and lighter than the other 2 so clearly it should still have plenty of oomph down low.

have tested one or not? :D he he

personally speaking i think the 1.0 model is a bit underpowered.

for record...between kancil 660 and 850, the lesser is underpowered.

between kelisa 850 and kelisa 1.0, the 850 is slightly underpowered though its DOHC 16V and EFI.

between myvi 1.0 and 1.3, of coz 1.0 is the loser but i am thinking of added weight that make myvi 1.0 struggle on the road compare to the similarly powered kelisa. which maybe the reason why myvi 1.0 has no auto.

juz the 2 cents.

I've seen it but I haven't had a test drive. What I'd like to know is the 1.3 version. I knew the 1.0 would be a bit lacking from the start.

this explain y my car is drinking fuel,,,,, :D

zan said:
Hey bro silverfish, please remember that a similar engine with similar output (horsepower) but different layout configurations has different power output when measure at the wheel (brake horsepower).

Firstly we must remember that both kembara and avanza are rear wheel drive vehicles. Worst still for kembara with its big tyres (contributes to high unsprung weight) because it is a full time 4WD. U will lose a lot of power thorugh the driveline if the car is FR. Which explains why many Japanese switch to FWD concept at the early eighties. No doubt FWD cars has its minus points like understeer and torquesteer, but more power transferred to the road means better fuel efficiency.

Secondly the Avanza is designed to carry more people (at least 7 adult or even 8). Thus they need more torque at lower speed, meaning lower ratios across the transmission gear range and higher rear axle final ratio. Kembara also has lower ratios to compensate for tyre and 4WD transmission drag.

To prove this, go travel in a family sedan car e.g. waja..at 100km/h the engine speed is about 2,800rpm. my old galant do 100 km/h in 5th at 2,500rpm. Wira and Iswara cruise at same speed about 3,100rpm in 5th due its lack of power.

Drive the Avanza and Kembara and at 100km/h at u will see tachometer needle hoovering about 4,000rpm. This explains the higher fuel consumption and more NVH. You can change the rear axle ratio so that engine speed lowers at crusing speed but u will lose the GO feel. Insuffient pulling power means higher consumption as a lot of gearchanges and unnecesssary acceleration is needed.

fyi i owned a 1.6 vitara 8 valve carb. manual, its a 12 yrs engine, ppl say its famous 4 its thirst, but based on my experience i dont think its true from the comparison i made wth my previous satria 1.5 efi. i used to travel to work using RM30 fuel for 4 days n diff.
between the 2 cars i only need to top up RM2-3 for the vitara. yes the car x have pick up considering the heavy n though body but i enjoy driving it. i feel safe n comfy n RWD is really impressive. fyi, my bro. converted the 1.5 to 4G93T, i found that the fuel consumption is similar to my vitara. town drivingla + the 4G is still virgin, no mod at all. in that case, 4G15p consume more petrol lah.

I'm goin to get another 4wd perhaps this week: Kembara DVVT , i choose ths car b'cos i got it cheap below market price.
Based on my prev. reply y do i want savvy is based on test drive i made, is not much diff. wth my vitara in terms of comfy+ great R&H. impressive 4 such a small car.

btw, ppl who opt 4 Myvi 1.0 has a plan in mind. once they got the car nextweek will b converted toyota or dei-hat-se. they only need the body.

btw, kembara is not 4WD full time. separuh masa sahaja.

mt_ said:
fyi i owned a 1.6 vitara 8 valve carb. manual, its a 12 yrs engine, ppl say its famous 4 its thirst, but based on my experience i dont think its true from the comparison i made wth my previous satria 1.5 efi. i used to travel to work using RM30 fuel for 4 days n diff.
between the 2 cars i only need to top up RM2-3 for the vitara. yes the car x have pick up considering the heavy n though body but i enjoy driving it. i feel safe n comfy n RWD is really impressive. fyi, my bro. converted the 1.5 to 4G93T, i found that the fuel consumption is similar to my vitara. town drivingla + the 4G is still virgin, no mod at all. in that case, 4G15p consume more petrol lah.

I'm goin to get another 4wd perhaps this week: Kembara DVVT , i choose ths car b'cos i got it cheap below market price.
Based on my prev. reply y do i want savvy is based on test drive i made, is not much diff. wth my vitara in terms of comfy+ great R&H. impressive 4 such a small car.

btw, ppl who opt 4 Myvi 1.0 has a plan in mind. once they got the car nextweek will b converted toyota or dei-hat-se. they only need the body.

btw, kembara is not 4WD full time. separuh masa sahaja.

ok, got this frm http://www.perodua.com.my/ - for kembara....TransferFull-time 4WD with mechanical centre differential lock
n now i confuse whether my car full ./ half time 4wd... :(

full time 4WD is self explanatory. Toyota RAV4 is such example.

part time 4WD means u can select between 2WD and 4WD manually through the use of a transfer case. Pajero, Trooper and Landcruiser series are samples of part time 4WD.

all wheel drive is a new term in the 90s to define that the vehicle is running normally as 2WD but has 4WD upon need using torsen differentials. the 4WD system is engaged automatically when its slippery..rain, muddy surface or ice, or sand,
example would be Honda CRV and Volvo X70.

i am still not so sure whether Kembara is all wheel drive or full time 4WD. But to sell an all-wheel-drive at such price as the Kembara doesn't make much sense but can be true also. anybody can help clear this?

Kembara has the switch I think. It's in 2wd until you want 4wd whereby you switch it.

si|verfish said:
Kembara has the switch I think. It's in 2wd until you want 4wd whereby you switch it.

how come my kembara dun have one of this switch??? not fair !!! onli have the switch for tranction control.... aircond... radio....

Relaxs dude. I don't own a Kembara, so I just spoke out of my arse. Maybe someone with a Kembara can explain.

si|verfish said:
Relaxs dude. I don't own a Kembara, so I just spoke out of my arse. Maybe someone with a Kembara can explain.

i does driving a kembara now n almost a year.... with regards to all the queries... yes kembara is full time 4wd,.... theres no switch to swift btween 2wd n 4wd... the swicth bhind the steering was the mechanical lock... function is prevent the wheel spin in muddy ,,,, or wet surface... so guys hope i hv solve the clue for u all.. as for the price where can u get a full time 4wd at 59k highiest spec ...

si|verfish said:
Speaking of the autobox for Savvy. Why don't they just provide a normal autobox instead of that stupid sequential manual they are planning on. Why? On a budget car like that it is pointless. And I bet there WILL be loads of problems with it. If you are someone looking for a cheap car, you wouldn't want that sort of problem. Plus, the renault clutchless manual (whatever they call it) isn't a great gearbox and French car parts aren't the most reliable. It really is a case of the cons far outweighing the pros.

yah, agree.