my comment here. 1stly, myvi and savvy is both in the supermini class just like starlet, micra/march, clio, jazz/fit, swift, getz, atos and not K car where the size must not exceed the length of a kancil. Kei cars received special tax in Japan and also special parking space where supermini just wont fit.
my fren admitted openly that proton is actually trying one more time (after failing with tiara) to penetrate into small car market currently hold by perodua. they are trying to sell their cars from a different perspective which is good ride and handling. this is evident in the use of 15" wheels and sturdier chassis which resulted in heavier kerb weight.
but proton always forgot how to please the would be buyer by designing the car properly, and improving build quality. i personally think the styling centre designed savvy to suit their own taste. and it really sucks!
this is where my vote goes.
1. exterior design - myvi
2. interior design - myvi
3. instrument meter design - myvi 1.3
4. ICE design - neither (singapore spec Sirion is actually using 2-DIN ICE!)
5. cabin spaciousness - myvi (savvy black interior make it feel cramped inside)
6. models range - myvi with 7 models line-up
7. power train - myvi 1.3
8. handling and ride - no idea but i believe savvy has the edge
9. nvh - no idea
10. passive safety - savvy
11. active safety - myvi 1.3 premium with ABS and twin airbag
12. dashboard design - myvi
13. steering wheel design - myvi (savvy is non adjustable, is myvi same also?)
14. headlamp design - myvi
15. taillamp design - myvi (light emitting diode)
plus points..
1. myvi has all doors power windows
2. myvi has 5 cupholders (if i counted correctly)
3. savvy use 15 inch wheels
4. i still prefer new swift ventilated front disc brakes with front wheel ABS.
and think about this...
at 42,000 u may get
1.0 manual myvi or
1.2 manual savvy. which one would u choose?
but add a few thousands and u r looking at a more powerful 1.3 DOHC 16V myvi which also available as 4 speed self shifter.
savvy stuck at one spec range. until proton managed to fix problems regarding the tiptronic autobox.
i put my money on myvi. but at 45K, shud i go for SGTI instead? or E30 BMW 320i? or 1988 Merc 190E? get a used perdana at 35K and convert to twin turbo 2.0 V6?
in the end i realised that actually i do not have the buying power. becoz no money larr.... :D