Woo hoo! We came, we saw and we did kick a few people's ass. It was nice to be able to drive in SIC again.
We met up at R&R Dengkil for a quckie brekkie before fueling up and a quick drive to Se-pheng International Circuit (SIC). Upon arrival, we saw that we were the first to arrive and the pitlanes weren't even open yet. A quick safety briefing plus Level 1 Novice Syllabus given out, members were explained of the do's and dont's on the track and also what was expected of them as Novice drivers.
Onced the pitlanes opened and registration set up, we quickly made a beeline towards the registration table. Most were eager to start the day with a dose of screeching tyre sound and brake smell in their noses.
I was out bringing several members to have a 'feel' of the track. Wan was a pretty impressive driver. He caught on fast as he used to ride his bike in the track some years back, so getting back into SIC was just like 'riding the bicycle'...which is something you don't easily forget.
I too did a fair share of trying to accomplish my task as an Advanced Level driver. Yes, we too have our own syllabus to accomplish, and at the same time, trying out my new R3 suspension setup. I know many of you are waiting for the review, hang on there folks...it would be revealed to you soon. Braking this time was good, thanks to my new setup of DBA slotted rotors and EBC Green's V5 pads. Managed to smoke the rotors back into the pitlane..hehehe. It was amazing to hear that when I did proper hard braking (sometimes with lockup which is a definite no-no) there was this weird swooshing sound eminating from the disc brakes. It sounded like a blow off valve woosh..how to say aahh..like a rocket taking off like that la. That is when I know my braking was perfect and was picturing myself, that the rotors glew (got such word aar?) red for awhile before turning back into normal steel color. Ahh...nothing smells better in the morning than the smell of brake dust and clutch in the pitlane.
It was a myriad of vehicles today from Satria GTi to Lotus Club and Perdana V-Sixers, one Daihatsu Move and several Integra Type R's (what other types are there?). Chandran as usual wanted to challenge me, mano-el-mano. Well he did get his chance TWICE but then..hehe, was sadly no where to be found after several turns in the track (maybe next time hor Chandran?). Some did get their share of feeling how the world turns on turns 5 & 6 and a few did get a feel of driving on the gravel trap (prolly wanted to pick some stones for their aquariums back home).
At the end of the session, with about 15 mins to spare, I caught our sifu in the Lotus pitlane. ****it, how could've I missed him earlier. He said he was there since morning and tried to call Azad but couldn't get thru. I would have surely stole some of his time if I knew he was there earlier as he hardly come down to SIC to drive. He was there to test drive the Lotus (don't know which one coz ALL the types were there from Lotus Mk1, Mk2, 111S, Exige and the 340R (I think so)) It would have been an honor to have sit with him and see how he drives (well more like brake) as that was what he was doing most of the morning in the Lotus. Prolly next time eh sifu..?
Well, end of the day, we ended up having lunch at Hj Samuri Satay in R&R Dengkil and the topic was abuzz regarding how they took the corners and who overtook who where and such. It was indeed, a lovely day.
Saiful
KowSapKow
copied this from satriagticlub forum...
there's one more thing i'm trying to copy n paste, but still cannot...