Getting your GTi to handle

GT-EYE

Getting a car to handle is more than simply 'slamming' it and putting on a set of huge rims. On a car like the GTi, with it's short wheelbase, narrow width and light weight doing this will result in a car not handling much better than stock. However with a few carefully thought out modifications you too can get your GTi to handle like a racecar :). Ok so say your craving a more responsive handling GTi what should you do ?

Stage 1 - Adjust your tire pressure. You'd be amazed how much of a difference this 'free' mod can make. For a firmer ride and less cornering flex try boosting up the pressure a couple of psi. Remember of course not to exceed the manufacter's limit. Also at this stage if in the near future you don't plan on doing stage 6, then get a good 4-wheel alignment done. The settings for performance should be : Front Toe = 0 , Front Camber 1.75 , Rear Toe = 2mm on each side, Rear Camber = 1.5 . You'll need a camber kit to adjust camber on the GTi

Stage 2 - Install urethane bushings at the pivot points on the arms and swaybars. This relatively inexpensive modification will keep most of the stock ride comfort, but will increase roll resistance for when you tackle the curves. Remember to use lithium grease on the polyurethane bushings.

Stage 3 - Upgrade your stock 14x5 wheels for something a little larger. For those of you who want maximum handling go with a 15x6.5 rim on 195/45/15's. Try and select one with low weight, which will reduce unsprung weight. Remember lighter rim = better handling. 16's on 205/40/16's will also work, but I only recommend those if you have a turbo or are running NoS, since with that kind of power you will need the traction the 16's will provide you. However with the 16's keep in mind you probably will have to fold in the wheel lips (unless your using a 16x6.5 with 205/40/16's). At this step the car will feel more secure on the turns and the ride comfort should be still good. Turn in response will be much sharper also.

Stage 4 - Get a larger rear sway bar. The stock GTi rear bar is 15mm. Upgrading this to 18-19mm will make the car handle more neutral. The reason for this is the GTi like most FWD's is designed for understeering. This puts increased load on the front tires and the suspension parts. With the larger rear sway bar the rear end of the car plays more of a role in the handling.

Stage 5 - Install high performance shocks/springs. With these your GTi will really start to haul around the corners. New Shocks/Springs will make a huge difference in the handling, yet the ride should still be good. For the best handling and ride we recommend you get a coil over suspension kit for the ultimate in handling and ride. Coil overs give you complete control over the suspension and are made by manufacturers who design the spring and shock together. Buying aftermarket shocks and springs from different manufacturers is best avoided, since each company tunes there product differently, you will end up with a compromise. The coil overs will take away that 'floating' or 'roll over' feel you experience in sharp turns. They accomplish this by lowering the center of gravity. So by now your asking what is the ideal amount to lower the GTi ?. We would say 1-1.5" if you are using 16's and up to 2" with 15's. Anything more than that will start to hurt your handling!. A a extra side benefit of lowering the car is that there will be no more ugly fender lip to tire gap. Finally don't forget to get a good computerized 4 wheel alignment after installing your new suspension components.

Stage 6 - Ok your now at the stage were your car handles dramatically better than stock. Now its time to strengthen the GTi chasis. Already from the factory the body structure on the GTi's is very solid. However now your at the stage where your pushing the car to the limit. You should install strut bars. The most popular location to install one is on the front strut towers. It connects the shock towers together and prevents there deflection under load. A rear strut bar will keep the rear shock towers together better during extreme turns. Installation is a snap.

Keep in mind the higher you go on the stages above the better your car will handle. Also the above steps are simply guidelines, you can do them in any order, however for maximum handling and ride comfort try and stick to them.​

macam pernah ku baca artikel nih..copy/paste ke??anyway, good effort!
the acticle is only general suggestion. it would be nice if it describe in details of recommendation parts and where tp find it....
e.g: PU bushing from whiteline Aus. or can get it local source.
chamber kit from ssgti etc...
tire pressure recommended is at 210psi etc..
lightweight alloy wheels below 5 kg, offset 46 recommended magnesium alloy.
shock/spring performance, rebound? stiffness? coilover recommended = hotbits, Koni/Eibach, Koni/Apex, suzukisport etc..

*just my 2 cents.