Sandakan Drag Race

Charles said:
He is Honorary Secretary of Sandakan Turf Club and his dad is Chairman.I have the impression from the forum that what he does is taken for granted.Please remember that all this is done in his own private capacity(meaning he does not need to please anyone other than himself) and most prolly he doesnt even have a completion dateline.
You might try your luck here instead :P http://www.stc4d.com/

You sounded like he is a prodigal son of a rich man. Surely he isn't that bad, is he? :biggrin:

Nope Nova, thankfully he isn't...he's one of the most down to earth person i've ever known.

How would you like it if you had all the financial capabilities to do all this and people start pestering you askin when is it completing and so forth.Wouldn't you feel like wadafak has my 'small' private project gotodo with other ppl?

think about it.

hehe...that's why all the people keep sking for it ....
coz mostly had heard sandakan will organise a drag race since n years ago...
mind for my 2 cents....
cheers....

Charles said:
Nope Nova, thankfully he isn't...he's one of the most down to earth person i've ever known.

How would you like it if you had all the financial capabilities to do all this and people start pestering you askin when is it completing and so forth.Wouldn't you feel like wadafak has my 'small' private project gotodo with other ppl?

think about it.

If he is really having that kind of unsociable mentality, we might as well close down this thread unless anyone in here can think of someone else who can hold an event in Sandakan which will justify this thread. If this is a "don't mind my business kind of project", why was he telling cck2228 earlier so much about his pet project and what business of cck2228 to come onto this public forum to tell everyone about it? By digging about a km long strip in the field in front of the grand stand of STC, is he that naive to think that noone will ever notice it and then start asking about it?

By doing all these, he should expect to invite curiosity and questions(i.e pesterings?) down the road and be prepared to face them, unless he stays on an island without commununication with the outside world. There is an adage "If you can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen." :biggrin: If you start a project and let people know about it, you are setting a stage for yourself and the audience are down there waiting to watch your performance and the fruition of your project. Most people in the world are judgemental and they want to see if you are "boleh" in what you claimed. If you are rich but with a tidak apa attitude, no one will take your word for it anymore, but compared to another rich guy with a string of "boleh" achievements, the world will always remember and respect him. Well, I think Yap is a sensible rich guy with a high level of maturity and I hope he does not fit in this category of rich people with only empty drums to beat. :biggrin:

i dont think this thread is goin anywhere because everyone's (yes everyone) playin a guessin game of what the owner is trying to do..so far he hasn't replied personally to this thread...
personally i think this thread should be closed :rolleyes:

aiya ,no argue lah..
we all come from sabah state also...
of course we hope our state can make drag race event once more and we got another track in sabah like other places like jb,sarawak,etc...
now we are not comparing other peoples money....no matter whos is going to built the track its important to make it come true
now we just hope the race will run sucessfully...
no war between our frens here....
haha, peace....
cheers...
mind my 2 cents....

ok let cut the crap here!!! anyone has a confirm date for the next race? is it gonna be in tawau or sandakan? we intend to send 2 cars for the race.

reintel said:
ok let cut the crap here!!! anyone has a confirm date for the next race? is it gonna be in tawau or sandakan? we intend to send 2 cars for the race.

Well, Sandakan race..no one to look to now judging from the way things go. As for Tawau Race, you still get to call Ringo Chong and the committee memebers to find out. I believe their phone # are still in Tawau Race thread. :biggrin: Alternatively, our Daihatsumira maybe the right guy to be the spokesman for the info and tell us about it in Tawau Race thread soon. :wink:

haha....tawau drag race really not confirm yet:wink: ...once it had confirmed

i will open a new thread about that ,so that u guys know it easily...:smile: haha,cheers

STC Drag Strip scheduled for completion 1stQtr 2006

Dear Charles n Nova.. tq 4ur kind comments 'bout me (by the way, all u out there, don't believe all the details except for the "rich" part..I thank God for that part)..STC Dragstrip is under construction, however the rainy season is causing some delay..I don't want a soft sub-base for a drag strip..n yes there is a lot of work still:(1) for the timing system (2) and the classification of vehicles (3) workers (4) legal n membership issues..(5) sub-committee n few others
However the good news is that Sandakan will have its first purpose constructed drag strip in 2006..

Any other queries? I'll try my best..sorry I got to know about this forum only just yesterday as my go-kart buddy Jimmy just told me 'bout this..I'm still in the dark as to who u both gentlemen r but I congratulate you n others on your tenacity in keeping this thread alive till now..

Hey u guys out there..there is a completed go-kart track in Sandakan in which u can experience "racing" for a fraction of the cost of other forms of motor-racing..It may intimidate many at first but get yourself involved..the guys are willing n friendly n you'll really be up to speed in no time..Also we use to do Japanese-style 'drifting' at one time n can still go back to organise that again..

borneogtir said:
Dear Charles n Nova.. tq 4ur kind comments 'bout me (by the way, all u out there, don't believe all the details except for the "rich" part..I thank God for that part)..STC Dragstrip is under construction, however the rainy season is causing some delay..I don't want a soft sub-base for a drag strip..n yes there is a lot of work still:(1) for the timing system (2) and the classification of vehicles (3) workers (4) legal n membership issues..(5) sub-committee n few others
However the good news is that Sandakan will have its first purpose constructed drag strip in 2006..

Any other queries? I'll try my best..sorry I got to know about this forum only just yesterday as my go-kart buddy Jimmy just told me 'bout this..I'm still in the dark as to who u both gentlemen r but I congratulate you n others on your tenacity in keeping this thread alive till now..

Hey u guys out there..there is a completed go-kart track in Sandakan in which u can experience "racing" for a fraction of the cost of other forms of motor-racing..It may intimidate many at first but get yourself involved..the guys are willing n friendly n you'll really be up to speed in no time..Also we use to do Japanese-style 'drifting' at one time n can still go back to organise that again..

Welcome Borneogtir to this thread. I am sure most people would be delighted to hear words from the "horse's mouth". :biggrin:(no STC insinuation here intended) :tongue:

We look forward to hearing from you more, and especially on the launching of the firstt ever legal dragrace competition in Sandakan in the near future. Keep it up. :smile:

borneogtir said:

Jimmy?Name's familiar..he once took the Sandakan go-kart championship right?He also raced in one of the wong kwok merdeka race somewhere in 2001 right?If yes, then I know him. I raced alongside him before at wong kwok's track.

What sort of rental karts do you have there in Sandakan?Arrows with KT100S yamaha direct drive go karts?

phoenixpower said:
Jimmy?Name's familiar..he once took the Sandakan go-kart championship right?He also raced in one of the wong kwok merdeka race somewhere in 2001 right?If yes, then I know him. I raced alongside him before at wong kwok's track.

What sort of rental karts do you have there in Sandakan?Arrows with KT100S yamaha direct drive go karts?

Jimmy is one of those old hands..he's been in the top 3 for the last couple of years and hopefully will grab the championship in the future years..
We use to rent out twin-engined four-stroke endurance karts about 5-6 years ago but they were not cost-effective and easily damaged..
Now we only do sprint-kart racing based on the Yamaha KT100S..very much like Australian Heavy Clubman type category..minimum weight for kart+driver to be 155kg

If you want a copy of the STC Go-Kart Championship Manual I will e-mail it to you (give me your personal e-mail) as this forum only allows 19kb uploads..ok bye for now

Borneogtir,
Do we see at least a race event before May this year on your new track in Sandakan since Tawau has already held two races in 2005 already and another one possibly in May this year?

nova said:
Borneogtir,
Do we see at least a race event before May this year on your new track in Sandakan since Tawau has already held two races in 2005 already and another one possibly in May this year?
Yes, hopefully..Sdk is very wet at the moment..work on track is slow..let's hope for some dry weather soon..just out of interest are you considering entering a car?

why dun got any info from sandakan ...?
is there anyone can update for sandakan drag race how was it ?
how was the track way liao?
pls update for it..!

Daihatsu Mira said:
why dun got any info from sandakan ...?
is there anyone can update for sandakan drag race how was it ?
how was the track way liao?
pls update for it..!

According to a fren who came back from Sandakan two days ago to KK for CNY holidays, the track progress is still the same as the photos taken by one of the forumners here in October last year. Based on Borneogtir's info, the delay was due to the rainy weather. Sounds like Sandakan has been under the rain non-stop for the past 4 months?? I jokingly asked my Sandakan fren whether he "paddled" his way back to KK for the holidays, he replied saying he "is going for boat racing soon" in Sandakan instead. Hehehe. Anyway, Gong Xi Fa Cai everyone.:regular_smile: