saga backfiring

from my experience, a leak in the air filter system will contribute to that. tighten all connections.

try standard ignition timing first. and spark plugs...be sure the specs match manufacturer's recommendation.

it may happen also when there is leak in the exhaust system. tightened all slacks.

yes got pop,pop,pop sound when i release the accel pedal at 2500rpm and above... i thought is my a/f ratio setting too lean thats why got the misfiring problem but after read in other post regarding misfiring problem many people said it's because of running to rich......my carb if setting lean got misfiring, got more pickup, rpm rise more faster but if setting to rich got no misfiring but no pickup and rpm up very slow so is that my carb got problem??

zan said:
from my experience, a leak in the air filter system will contribute to that. tighten all connections.

try standard ignition timing first. and spark plugs...be sure the specs match manufacturer's recommendation.

it may happen also when there is leak in the exhaust system. tightened all slacks.

Exhaust check already no leaking, i dun think is the spark plug or spark plug cable problem, cause i change back to original spark plug and original cable(i'm using 9.5mm performance cable now) the misfiring still happen. about the ignition timing i don't no how to check and set leh...

You mentioned you had your cylinder head rebuilt. Did the backfiring occur after the rebuild?

1. Just playing round with a theory here that if you have a lean mixture backfire, you might have too much advance on.

2. Also remove your spark plugs and see their condition. Black? White?

3. Weak accelerator pump: Rev your engine SLOWLY to 3-4.5K RPM, does it backfire? Just assuming it doesn't so now rev to 1500rpm. Hold it at that, then blip the throttle hard and let go. Does it backfire now? Let us know. Got some ideas but can't diagnose over the web... :S

An old school mechanic with a timing light can check your ignition timing. Most the old fella's have one. Not sure if the old Saga has a mechanical advance distributor, this can sometimes malfunction and give all kinds of readings thru out the rev-range.

Hehehe...mine also got pop and boom sound sometimes got fire come out from exhaust. but only happen when at high rev and let go the pedal...it happen because i tweak the AF ratio..to supply more fuel at high rev. so everytime after high rev then let go pedal sure will....boom....pop.pop (sometimes plus fire)....:_: very fun though but dont let JPJ or polis spot me....sure kena wan....:confused_smile:

Take your time, its always ignition problem. Mine twin carb, always damage the distributor arm, also the distributor condenser. This is due to my bad driving. After replacing these 2 units, then its all back ok again.

TitanRev said:
Hehehe...mine also got pop and boom sound sometimes got fire come out from exhaust. but only happen when at high rev and let go the pedal...it happen because i tweak the AF ratio..to supply more fuel at high rev. so everytime after high rev then let go pedal sure will....boom....pop.pop (sometimes plus fire)....:_: very fun though but dont let JPJ or polis spot me....sure kena wan....:confused_smile:

hehee sounds fun .. but arent u afraid of damaging any parts of ur engine or spoil ur muffler...? :regular_smile:

nitrus said:
hehee sounds fun .. but arent u afraid of damaging any parts of ur engine or spoil ur muffler...? :regular_smile:

Hehehe....that's why i drop in forged piston set, conrod and other stuffs....my muffler is still very good, use for quite long already. Its a Mazdaspeed muffler. Last time use Tanabe wan but gf complain noisy...hehe

bro, i dont drive with hihg rev everytime lah....how to rev high high at street ....