RVR vs Evo III

silversurfez

hi guys. im thinking of changing my 6a12 na to either one of these engine. would like to ask for advice from anyone, what is the difference between rvr and evo 3 engine? apart of a detuned ecu, top mount intercooler and smaller turbine. all i know know is that is both are using 4G63 blocks. is there any other difference?

also, how reliable is the 6a12tt engine? i mean, i heard that maintenance is quite costly, compare to a 4G63. has anyone convert to a single turbo or change to a bigger twin turbines?

would appreciate it very much to get some advice before i start my hunt for half cuts! thanks in advance.

not much major difference between RVR & evo3 bro.......if u wanna convert to 4g63t, but under budget, go for RVR (budget below rm10k), if evo3 (12-15k) for full conversion.

6a12tt maintanance not that high bro...its just how u maintain it.....if u use porsche engine but dont maintain it, 1 day it will kong also rite....just that the workmanship will be slightly more expensive when changing water pump, spark plugs, timing belt....thats y i suggest to change all at 1 shot to save on workmanship.
to me if i have a perdana, i will plonk in a 6a12tt engine, if i wan evo engine, i will buy a satria gti & plonk a evo3 engine inside.....can really feel the G's.......

i will opt for evoIII rather than rvr , even evo1 is good , i choose evo1 over a evo3 anytime
first things first, injector sizing , ecu & wiring is diffrent, turbo is diffrent, intercooler diffrent, in the end, u get better power and better specs

in my opinion, 6a12t is good kept stock, if u gonna mod it, it will never reach the capability and support of the 4g63 in terms of support , off shelf parts availability aftermarket.

why sifu jin said choose evo1 instead of evo3? bcoz of C.R. evo 3 is higher than evo1. lower CR is better for modification.

yup sifu jin...i also wanna know y u choose evo1 over evo3?

samross,
everyone thinks that 6a12tt is high maintanance, but actually is not,
the timing belt & spark plugs can lasts up to 100k km....
if u wan cheap maintanance, u buy kancil lo....if not u ride bicycle only....

yup sifu jin...i also wanna know y u choose evo1 over evo3?

samross,
everyone thinks that 6a12tt is high maintanance, but actually is not,
the timing belt & spark plugs can lasts up to 100k km....
if u wan cheap maintanance, u buy kancil lo....if not u ride bicycle only....

spark plugs last 100k KM?? very good!:biggrin:

I've just changed to 612Att. last time i was at your place too. Selection/deciding is hard enough..hehe search more you will find more about TT and evo too. :biggrin:

too me spark plug can last 1 year for turbo, if u not change to new 1.. will effect while u boosting.

wah..every year change ah? mati OoO...if 4g63t can la...6a12tt, patah pinggang if wanna change, send to workshop also costs rm150++ workmanship only...

DanzEterna,
u c...this what i mean..workmanship for 6a12tt a bit higher....but its still a great engine...smoother accelarate

but u change plugs every 100k km...together with timing belt+ water pump, all 1 shot..
so u save on workmanship....some cars, every 15k km need to change already....
u could DIY, but time consuming & must remember all the hoses goes to the correct intake.

for me its better 4g63 then 6a12tt...coz 6a12tt high maintenance...

YA...I agree also...coz my perdana is 4G63T and my friend is driving a perdana v6tt..he said high maintaince for it...special is fuel....hehe..
any one got comment??:confused: