rpm shot during idle

I am driving a ford telstar tx5 v6 1993 model. Last week, while I was waiting at the traffic light, the car's rpm suddendly shot up to 4k during idle(the brake is at N) without having pressing the accelarator. Thinking that it would continue to go up and explode I manage to make to drive the car the roadside and stop the engine. I switch off the engine and let it cool down for 5 minutes. After that I tried to start the car but without any success. Susequently,I manage to get hold on to my best friend who basically know how to fix most cars but by the time he reach the place, I had already managed to start the car. My friend advised me to replace the engine since the mileage is almost 360,000. I know that would be the easy way , but could anybody out there advise me on what to do or send the car to any estemed workshop as long as the cost would not exceed the cost of changing to another KFZE engine. You can also SMS me at 012-4190409. Thanks.

try loosening your throttle wire on the engine bay side & spray wd40
happened to my kancil, after done that problem solved.

bro... what is throttle wire?? is it tps?

anyway.. iskandar... i can suggest a few in kl. but i suggest u try what bro Danz suggested first. Maybe can save ur pocket.

tx5 v6 1993... Idling surge... engine stall
All are pointing to a faulty ECU!
The next time it stall your car again, you may need a towing truck!
So please have your ECU check/rebuilt ASAP.

Write your reply...