Reliability of the Mazda 626 Cronos

rm350 for custom made(mazda all also custom lar) incl installation call Jeff from 911 Zentrum 016-3550512. but he dun recommend bendix 1

hello guys....sorry for the long silence.....been travelling up north to visit the Naza Automotive Manufacturing Plant...heheheh!

Had a first hand look at the Naza Ria and Citra being manufactured....wah lau eh...shiok!

mx3 -->> Yep...Its a Rover K6.. saw it up close and personal...one just out of the box..could you pm me your number pls? cos the one that i have seems to be wrong...i'd like to see the gC up close...

yeehaw!!

Hi Sudha,

This is my 1st time joining you guys. I'm driving a Ford Telstar 2.0 GHIA DOHC EFI engine, year 94/95.

can you tell me where can i buy the timing belt at cheaper price?

my one also having the knocking sound. I change the lub oil type to TOTAL7000 and it helps to reduce very much the noise. But it is still there sometimes and not limited to during start up. It just come whenever it wants and disappear anytime. I did check with a workshop and they say the sound come from the tappet. To replace the tappet cost me around RM80 to RM100 per tappet and imagine the car have 16 nos. I remember you said you have changed your car's tappet, can i know how much it cost you?

Thank you in advance.

hannskc said:
Hi Sudha,

This is my 1st time joining you guys. I'm driving a Ford Telstar 2.0 GHIA DOHC EFI engine, year 94/95.

can you tell me where can i buy the timing belt at cheaper price?

my one also having the knocking sound. I change the lub oil type to TOTAL7000 and it helps to reduce very much the noise. But it is still there sometimes and not limited to during start up. It just come whenever it wants and disappear anytime. I did check with a workshop and they say the sound come from the tappet. To replace the tappet cost me around RM80 to RM100 per tappet and imagine the car have 16 nos. I remember you said you have changed your car's tappet, can i know how much it cost you?

Thank you in advance.
Hi hannskc, I checked with a few mechs and they say timing belt + bearing + etc is at least 600++ not including labor.

As for the tappet, yeah it's around RM80 each and there's 6 of them. It's freaking expensive all in all. I'm due for a both the timing belt replacement (dunno how long it can last as i just got the car) and the tappet replacement (knocking) AND the cover seals (leaking oil). I think i'm gonna have to do them 1 at a time, I can't afford all that in 1 shot.

Some more now my CV joint starting to make noise. sigh.... lots of problem man. The rear suspension I changed just last month starting to squeak some more. And that's not even including the crazy wirings. sot sot already.

kfze said:
Thanks Fade.

Yup, not to brag about lantis, but this car is actually quite cool, in the sense that it has everything that most drivers wanted. Retractable side mirrors, digital aircon, projector lights, ABS, 4-disc brakes, automatic dimmer lights closed doors, good plastic/rubber on dashboard. Not many cars can have all those back in 1995.

Get a KFZE engine in lantis. Its fun to drive. Quote from Hot Verson (jap tuning video) : "....tuning is not only about power, but tuning is about the FUN and FEEL........"

You definitely have the fun and feel factor with KFZE.
So when can I take a look at your ride?

Hi Hannskc,

Welcome to the club. Your engine is a 2.0 16v FE5N model which is almost the same as mine (FE3N).

The timing kit (belt, bearing and seal) should be more than rm400 for your model. On parts alone, mine cost about less than rm350. I buy my own parts so I am quoting what I paid ( actually I paid less than that).

What spanker quoted was the cost for the V6 24 valve which is totally different.

Patience hann....its probably due to the age of the car.

Tappets...yes..RM60 - 80 for originals. if you can spare the cash....change all 16. It is worth it.

Valve cover seals wont cost so much so dont worry. i tell you what we are meeting for TT organised by kfze next week on the 13th of September. Why dont you join us?

then we can explore your car in detail.

spanker...come for the TT and you can get a ride in kfze's car..

ya hi all,

bad news. Some idiot smashed his Wira into my 626 yesterday. I was going straight when he come out from the intersection didn't stop. Swerved to avoid already, i thought that joker saw me liao, i was like passing by right in front of him should be braking already la. Mana tau continued coming out and clipped my car at the rear left wheel section. My precious got minor scratches near the lower back part near the left rear door, mudguard, my 5 nut sport rims, the mudguard and rear bumper. Light dents and cracked paint. Dunno the condition of my axle though. His front 2 head lamps hancur, bumper bengkok inwards and pieces of bumper came off, body a bit bengkok. I'm like woah... so fragile man that car. Hit and run case some more.

Opponent is dark blue/green Wira aeroback, license plate Wxx 8879. Indian driver around 40. Can't see his full plate because hit and run. Don't know insurance will allow claim or not even though it's not my fault. Anyone see that wira let me know what's the rest of the number please please.

will try to make it for the TT.

power steering...

hi
im using gc 626 hatchback.. i just hav it for 1month. my bro giv it to me. stock car doesnt hav power steering.. can i install it. how much it cost.. where can i do it. thankz gang.

reborn....

have you made up your mind on what you want to do first? Suggest to draw a list of what you want to do and then prioritize according to your budget at hand.

I've said before...transplant cost could range from anything between 4.5k to 6.5k which includes halfcuts, labout and parts.

Labout charges are anything between 1k to 2.5k depending on the scope of work..

I'd suggest you do some shoppng at the local choppers to see the best engine choice for ur car.

Klze

Any bros out there who can advise me if I can swap my KF 2.0 v6 engine with a KLZE 2.5L v6? What mods do I need to do? The car is Telstar v6 but the proevious owner had that changed into the Mazda KF 2.0 V6. ANy help is appreciated. Thanks! :tee:

sudha said:
reborn....

have you made up your mind on what you want to do first? Suggest to draw a list of what you want to do and then prioritize according to your budget at hand.

I've said before...transplant cost could range from anything between 4.5k to 6.5k which includes halfcuts, labout and parts.

Labout charges are anything between 1k to 2.5k depending on the scope of work..

I'd suggest you do some shoppng at the local choppers to see the best engine choice for ur car.
hi sudha..
yesterday i went to the workshop in malacca.. act that shop already know well my car because my father used to repair any probs happens in that shop.. so yesteday the mechanic advice my not to change the engine... mybe both of u r rite la... folo taiko.. he said the just need power steering only.. he also said the 626 sedan 1983-1985 hav pwer steering... is it true? he ask me to find the whole set of p.steering and after that he can fix it to my car... labour cost also very cheap.. that time i change both rear wheels bearing 4 only rm65.. my mechanic in subang also cannot offer that price..

mazda626_reborn said:
hi sudha..
yesterday i went to the workshop in malacca.. act that shop already know well my car because my father used to repair any probs happens in that shop.. so yesteday the mechanic advice my not to change the engine... mybe both of u r rite la... folo taiko.. he said the just need power steering only.. he also said the 626 sedan 1983-1985 hav pwer steering... is it true? he ask me to find the whole set of p.steering and after that he can fix it to my car... labour cost also very cheap.. that time i change both rear wheels bearing 4 only rm65.. my mechanic in subang also cannot offer that price..

tell you what....lets get together sometime and we'll talk at length. Join us during one of the TT sessions...or give me a buzz on me mobs....

i'll be at my mechanics tomorrow if you wanna meet....gimme a shout....cheers

Sudha - I have a friend and both of us are intending to get the megasquirt pcbs and build it and tune it. ANyone else wants to join us will give us a very cost effective option. ANyone interested in this forum is most welcome. My friend is none other than Abang Omar from TI.... How about yourself, wanna join in? :tee:

Hi xavier....thanks but what exactly is megasquirt??

I'm planning to arrange for a TT session with Abang Omar together with kfze and anyone who's interested..drop me a PM and we'll keep you in the loop..

cheers mate!

megasquirt

Hello Sudha,

Refer http://www.bgsoflex.com/megasquirt.html
for info on megasquirt. Its basically a very cheap alternatve to standalone ECUs that we can build it ourselves and tune it too as the tuning software can be downloaded for free from the net. Its allows remapping of the fuel and or ignition system....more horsepower!! :biggrin: Abg Omar and I are looking for more to join in so that we can save more......let me know abt the TT, would like to join in....

mazda 626 parts

Hi there bros, need all your expert advise. I am looking forward to ordering some parts from the eBay located in US as they are not available locally. The cost of the parts are coming to USD 715 and will be delivered to my house address. What will the estimated tax imposed for this value here? Anyone knows, appreciate if you can advise. Many thanx bros.:embaressed_smile: