Help needed-Mazda 626

yup lan D..mine is a rear wheel drive.i considered the rotary..but the thing is i will be using the car on a daily basis.I x have another car.So, based on the heavy "drinking" habit of the rotary(not to mention its wear and tear of the seal).i x think it is economical for me to put in a rotary. Like sudha said, be prepared for heavy maintenance. i really love the 3 rotor but the fact of maintaining it is what bothers me.i rather go for a reciprocating piston engine for now and then later when i get another "dail driving" car, i might put in the 3 rotor..Do you agree or u have another opinion maybe..What about the SR20?itu memang engine RWD kan..but inspection might be a problem..G.

killa626 said:
yup lan D..mine is a rear wheel drive.i considered the rotary..but the thing is i will be using the car on a daily basis.I x have another car.So, based on the heavy "drinking" habit of the rotary(not to mention its wear and tear of the seal).i x think it is economical for me to put in a rotary. Like sudha said, be prepared for heavy maintenance. i really love the 3 rotor but the fact of maintaining it is what bothers me.i rather go for a reciprocating piston engine for now and then later when i get another "dail driving" car, i might put in the 3 rotor..Do you agree or u have another opinion maybe..What about the SR20?itu memang engine RWD kan..but inspection might be a problem..G.

Rotary engine if use it std, no mods, std boost, i think it should give u no headache except for the long term wear & tear, normal maintenance. our late gromit had an FC before, bought it already modded heavily. and the car is his daily drive car, go to work car. but after 3 years of having it with him, the time come for rebuilding the engine. he did mentioned that his car drinks petrol something like the RB26 modded as well.

it's up to u, your choice. the famous swaps for a rear whell drive is always the SR20DET RWD engines.inspection wise...ask people on how to them.

good luck.

tu yg risau tu...bout the "drinking" prob lah..to make matters worse, price of petrol also increased..i also dunno lah what to do..probably when we meet up this fri, i can have more opinions from all the bros` lah.my engine is still ok..runnin smoothly besides the white smoke from the exhaust when accelaratin from stop.(i suspect the piston ring lah or maybe is it the head gasket)i even considered to "pakai" this engine kaw kaw and then only change another engine...yup, sr20 is the famous rwd but nissan into mazda ah...no offence to nissan lovers lah, the engine is great but wont it be more "ganas" if its everything mazda...hehehe...Dunno lah bro D, lets meet up this fri, then see how lah.Thanks..
G.

killa...

you might want to consider the FE3 engine. I have the stock mazda fe3 which is a fwd in my Telstar now.

It might interest you to know that there is a RWD FE3 available in the market. This engine comes in the yr 2000 onwards Kia Sportage.

Something you might want to try if you want to build your car as a project. Otherwise sticking to a common transplant is advisable as the knowledge and skills are vast.

If you are looking at the Nissan SR series engines you would probably have a better chance..

Keep in mind that detailed attention must be paid to installing the engine in your car..

j...rx8?? sure ah??

what happened to your alfa dream?