Rear Brake upgrade for Honda EK

HanJackaL

Hi,i am currently using 4 holes rims and DC2 rear brakes.JPJ failed my rear brakes,so i am wondering how can i upgrade my rear brakes?What brake rotors and calipers i have to choose from?I am using 4 hole rims and brakes and choices seem limited for 4 hole.Please advise....I also have type R brake pump and steel braided hoses.Front brakes were upgraded already so i am just concern with the rear ones.Thanks!

Did u ask runner to do it or u do the inspection urself?

sasuke said:
Did u ask runner to do it or u do the inspection urself?

I did my own inspection.They failed me because rear brake not "makan" enough.Yes they test both front and rear brakes and they rate it by a percentage base score.My rear brakes didnt meet up the minimal score to pass.How to improve it?What rear discs are available for 4 holes?Or will changing my brake pads alone help ?

Of course change brake pad will help. Tell u my experience, when I upgraded to EK4 rear disk brake last time I felt that it's better than drum, but not very much improvement. After upgraded to 5 lugs, it really different! The other solution is to change ur rotor to after market brand. One last thing I want to know is are u using the 3 layers brake pump? If u still using the 2 layers brake pump with rear disk brake it will sure tak makan!!!

sasuke said:
Of course change brake pad will help. Tell u my experience, when I upgraded to EK4 rear disk brake last time I felt that it's better than drum, but not very much improvement. After upgraded to 5 lugs, it really different! The other solution is to change ur rotor to after market brand. One last thing I want to know is are u using the 3 layers brake pump? If u still using the 2 layers brake pump with rear disk brake it will sure tak makan!!!
simon, u still got the ek4 rear disc brake set? if got i'm interested laaa :)

Sold to my fren already. I can find more if u want. ABS or non ABS type?

better u service ur rear disk brake first...my uncle also kantoi rear disk brake... after service..he pass the inspection...

sasuke said:
One last thing I want to know is are u using the 3 layers brake pump? If u still using the 2 layers brake pump with rear disk brake it will sure tak makan!!!

simon,

care to elaborate on this as its the first time (newbie) Im hearing this?
Where do I get it and how much it cost? Brand?

sasuke said:
Sold to my fren already. I can find more if u want. ABS or non ABS type?
non ABS...much cheaper...hehehee. lemme know when u have 'em

devilangel said:
simon,

care to elaborate on this as its the first time (newbie) Im hearing this?
Where do I get it and how much it cost? Brand?

OEM no brand. Cost 100-200 if get from halfcut. I think from 98 onwards all EJ were equiped with this. U can check urs, very easy... just open ur hood. There is a black colour round thing which is attached to the firewall some where in front of ur steering. Count how many layer it got. If 3 then it's OK loh.

The bigger the pump of course more powerful. My fren and I both change together last time, his one not very good in braking but my one is ok. His car is using 2 layers one coz he is using 96 EJ.

sasuke said:
OEM no brand. Cost 100-200 if get from halfcut. I think from 98 onwards all EJ were equiped with this. U can check urs, very easy... just open ur hood. There is a black colour round thing which is attached to the firewall some where in front of ur steering. Count how many layer it got. If 3 then it's OK loh.

The bigger the pump of course more powerful. My fren and I both change together last time, his one not very good in braking but my one is ok. His car is using 2 layers one coz he is using 96 EJ.

Hey bro sasuke,thanks for your replies.I dont really understand what you mean though..what you mean by layers?Where exactly do i count the "layers" ?Also,if i am using 4 lugs rims and DC2 rear rotors which were facotry made 4 screws,how do i upgrade to 5 lugs?And whats the difference between 4 screws and 5 screws?Its just the fitting thats different right?

Also,i am using Type R brake pump.Is that 2 layers or 3 layers?
THanks again bro !

HanJackaL said:
Hey bro sasuke,thanks for your replies.I dont really understand what you mean though..what you mean by layers?Where exactly do i count the "layers" ?Also,if i am using 4 lugs rims and DC2 rear rotors which were facotry made 4 screws,how do i upgrade to 5 lugs?And whats the difference between 4 screws and 5 screws?Its just the fitting thats different right?

Also,i am using Type R brake pump.Is that 2 layers or 3 layers?
THanks again bro !

TypeR is 3 layers. Layers is just my personal term... ya count the layer like wedding cake. :_:

Upgrade to 5 lugs, then u have to change the whole thing lor. One thing ur drive shaft have to change also. Other than the screws are different, the rotor and caliber also bigger lor. 5 lugs is twin pod for front.

Just my extra advice to those who planned to change their brake pad to good brand like Endless, ProjectU... Please change ur rotor as well. If not ur OEM rotor will be eaten like hell and within one year u have to change new rotor liao. :regular_smile:

sasuke said:
TypeR is 3 layers. Layers is just my personal term... ya count the layer like wedding cake. :_:

Upgrade to 5 lugs, then u have to change the whole thing lor. One thing ur drive shaft have to change also. Other than the screws are different, the rotor and caliber also bigger lor. 5 lugs is twin pod for front.

Just my extra advice to those who planned to change their brake pad to good brand like Endless, ProjectU... Please change ur rotor as well. If not ur OEM rotor will be eaten like hell and within one year u have to change new rotor liao. :regular_smile:

How come 5 lugs has bigger rotors and calipers?You mean the brake companies make bigger and better brakes for 5 lugs and not 4 ?Is it really necassary to change to 5 lugs bro?Man,it will cost me a bomb =/

Aside from rotor size,how to determine which rotor is better than another?Lets say got 2 brands with same size rotor,caliper everything,then how to choose?Currently i am using Prelude front rotors and calipers...damn big.But i compare them with my friend's Project U and the size and caliper looks exactly alike to mine.His is 4 lugs Project U slotted front discs.Thanks so much bro,you are damn helpfull !

the reason u fail on the braking test not because its not makan...
but they need to 'makan' before u can pass the test...
even if u dun have any rear brake oso u can pass if they got what they want... hahha
even u use s2k rear disc brake oso no point then..