Brake Caliper upgrade

If I'm wrong, please correct me. In order to upgrade my brakes, I need a bigger rotor, better brake pads and a better caliper.

I am thinking of getting a ventilated or slotted discs. What's the biggest size I can use for 16" rims?

As for the calipers, any affordable after market ones available? I can't afford 6k for just my brakes or even 4.5k spoon calipers.

Let's say I'm on a tight budget, I don't know how much it will cost for the whole upgrade. So, I don't dare stating my budget. Right now, I don't like my brakes. But to be fair, I am using ordinary brake pads.

If I'm wrong, please correct me. In order to upgrade my brakes, I need a bigger rotor, better brake pads and a better caliper.

I am thinking of getting a ventilated or slotted discs. What's the biggest size I can use for 16" rims?

As for the calipers, any affordable after market ones available? I can't afford 6k for just my brakes or even 4.5k spoon calipers.

Let's say I'm on a tight budget, I don't know how much it will cost for the whole upgrade. So, I don't dare stating my budget. Right now, I don't like my brakes. But to be fair, I am using ordinary brake pads.

ek9 brake caliper , 5 lugs pcs 114.3, bigger single piston caliper with 286mm disc rotor, fit 15inch nicely, get the package with the rim cost around 2.2k - 2.4k only..... if tight budget, get the nissan or mazda rx7 4 pot, should clear 16inch with correct offset....cost inside 1k

for ur DB8, better to get the DC2-R 98 spec 5 lug... same brakes as EK9 but from DC2 so everything plug n play...this is if u wanna do front and rear...

but if u wanna upgrade front only... u can get the BB1/BB4 brakes and redrill rotor for ur PCD.

but if u wanna stick to ur current brakes, definitely brake pads, brake hoses and dot 5.1 brake fluid....the rotor, if urs is fine, then those crossdrilled etc would be ur choice.

when u say dc2r 5 lug, does it mean i need to change the knuckles and all as well? Why I ask because I dont think I wanna change my rims to a 5 lug rim just yet unless I can sell of my current rim. Is the dc2r n dc2 rotor different in size? Or what is different besides the number of lugs?

I am thinking of changing both the front and back. But some tell me just change the front to Nissan 4 pot will do. So, I'm quite confused.

Any idea what is the BB1/BB4 pcd? If I'm not wrong it is 114.3 right? Mine is also 114.3. Can't remember. So, if it is the same, I dont have to redrill the rotor right?

At the moment, I dont plan to stick to my current brakes as I really feel it does not have enough stopping power. In a scale of 1 to 10, assuming my current brakes are at 1, how much would you rate my current brakes with better fluid, brake pads and brake hoses? What about the dc2r front and rear n the BB1/BB4 front only?

stock DB8 is PCD 100...unless ex-owner changed the knuckle to DC2R 96 spec which is 4x114.3

BB1 is 114.3

n yeah when i say 5 lug...inclusive of knuckle. DC2-R 98 spec (5 lug) is 282mm rotor which is the same as BB1/BB4 and EK9 and also FD2 (non type r)

as for the R32... requires 16" rims n above.. n that oso must see offset.. but i have a friend with a nissan 4pot paired with BB1 rotor sitting under 15" taiwan rims with +38 offset...only thing is..not sure the caliper from which car.... could be silvias as i heard they are smaller.

as for ur current brakes.. mebbe itll go up to about 4 or 5....u should see significant improvement...espeically with a change of higher rated pads

Any idea how much is the whole dc2r 5 lug brake set? It comes with the 282mm, calipers n knuckles rite? Anything else i need? Oh ya my rims also must change. So besides that?

besides that... brake pads, and skim the rotors would be advisable...

price...
http://www.mudah.my/Samurai+honda+dc2+5+lug+knuckle+with+rim+dc2r+offe-14597154.htm?last=1

if without rims i think about 1.2k there abouts...not too sure about this

This DC2R brakes are tempting. Are the rear brakes different too compared to the normal DC2 brakes? Like earlier, my current brakes at 1. How much u would rate this brake with decent pads, fluid and hose?

How will the difference be compared to changing the front to BB4 and keeping my current rear brakes?

I'm just trying to get the best result I can with the least spent. Haha.

Dear TS, want to hijack ur thread kejap..hehe

my question to all brake sifus: DC2R PCD114.3 front caliper and rotor is same with BB1/BB4 caliper&rotor right? so the mods to fit in eg's pcd100 knuckle would be pretty much the same?

This DC2R brakes are tempting. Are the rear brakes different too compared to the normal DC2 brakes? Like earlier, my current brakes at 1. How much u would rate this brake with decent pads, fluid and hose?

How will the difference be compared to changing the front to BB4 and keeping my current rear brakes?

I'm just trying to get the best result I can with the least spent. Haha.

about 6-7

front is the same as BB4...rear no ida.

---------- Post added at 09:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:09 AM ----------

Dear TS, want to hijack ur thread kejap..hehe

my question to all brake sifus: DC2R PCD114.3 front caliper and rotor is same with BB1/BB4 caliper&rotor right? so the mods to fit in eg's pcd100 knuckle would be pretty much the same?

which DC2-R u talking about?? theres 96 spec which is 4x114.3 and 98 spec which is 5x114.3

the 98 spec is same with bb1/bb4...96 spec iirc is smaller

4x114.3....96 spec...i think to mod 5x114.3 to 4x100 would be troublesome rite?

if thats the case ur better off getting the BB1... bigger rotor.. bigger caliper... bigger brake pad... bigger bite....just need to redrill rotor to 4x100...i asked my mechanic n its about RM600 thereabouts...even when i buy brake pads for my BB1 i dont ask for BB1 pads.. i ask for EK9 pads..theyre the same.

getting the DC2-R parts no matter wat year spec is gonna be expensive... why? because "Type R"

thanx bro madman...will try 2 search for bb1 caliper & rotor now...heheh

I'm also thinking of using BB1/BB4 front brakes. Leave the rear brakes as it is. Just change the pads.

Or I'll use Nissan brakes for front if my rim permits and leave the rear as it is.

Need to check with my mechanic whether can use Nissan with my rims.

How many piston for BB4 brakes?

if not mistaken bb1/bb4 caliper is single pot but bigger contact area if compared with b16a caliper

honda are bloody kedekut bastards....

ALL their cars uses single pot calipers...except for the NSX which is twinpot...

NSX, their top of the line super car is only using twin pot...sigh

nissan oso has 4 pots on their mid range (silvia) and top range (skyline) cars... *facepalm*

honda are bloody kedekut bastards....

ALL their cars uses single pot calipers...except for the NSX which is twinpot...

NSX, their top of the line super car is only using twin pot...sigh

nissan oso has 4 pots on their mid range (silvia) and top range (skyline) cars... *facepalm*

Not that kedekut larr....hehe

DC5 & FD2R using 4pot....

Not that kedekut larr....hehe

DC5 & FD2R using 4pot....

whoops...i meant the ones before those cars... the brembo-equipped ones doesnt count hehehehhe

but basically they dont have their own in-house 4pots unlike other brands

Write your reply...