R3-Satria (gti)

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Jan 17 2005, 15:53
Seraph..sorry to hear about your car!! Cheer up man!!
Yeah me and prozac installed radiostar!! Good stuff for the price!!

Crash, great....set ...saturday morning will be good...we can have breakfast before going, ok? Any one else wanna join?? Prozac? Sousuke?

Oh btw when is sousuke going to Australia?
i won't be here on Saturday morning...maybe in the afternoon since im going 'balik kampung' for Hari Raya Haji :) anyway im going middle of next month...hopefully can do something fun w/ u guys before i go :lol:

Originally posted by sousuke+Jan 17 2005, 19:58 -->
QUOTE (sousuke @ Jan 17 2005, 19:58 )
--QuoteBegin-handsome_lala
@Jan 17 2005, 15:53
Seraph..sorry to hear about your car!! Cheer up man!!
Yeah me and prozac installed radiostar!! Good stuff for the price!!

Crash, great....set ...saturday morning will be good...we can have breakfast before going, ok? Any one else wanna join?? Prozac? Sousuke?

Oh btw when is sousuke going to Australia?

i won't be here on Saturday morning...maybe in the afternoon since im going 'balik kampung' for Hari Raya Haji :) anyway im going middle of next month...hopefully can do something fun w/ u guys before i go :lol: [/b][/quote]
We have to do at least a Sunday drive before you leave. But 'takut' you get addicted then don't want to go to OZ Land anymore! Hehehehe...

Originally posted by Crash+Jan 17 2005, 19:15 -->
QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 17 2005, 19:15 )
--QuoteBegin-Seraph
@Jan 17 2005, 16:30
handsome : thanks for your concern, so those 2 fellows in the pix is you :P

crash : really? cool which one you're installing?

erm....when you guys meet mebbe i can come and kepoh and see your radiostar? :lol:
coz i wanna see what a customer thinks, you know lah salesman sure wanna make sale only pushing us to buy only :P

It's basically a difference in the remote control only, so I guess it's boils down to a RM30 colour preference? :D Dunno yet. Will know when the time comes.

Come join us on Saturday. It should shock the Revo guys - suddenly having 3 SR3s and a suped-up Putra there in the morning :) [/b][/quote]
My car isn't a Putra its a Jazz :(
I PM handsome my phone number liao :lol:

I was actually referring to Canken2's Putra :) So it's gonna be 3 SR3s, one Putra and one Jazz! Excellent! Will give Revo a call just to make sure they are opened!

wah...so nice...me wanna go too...wanna adjust my alignment also...as well as the slightly lowered rear right side :( juz too bad i'm only coming back in teh afternoon

btw,i don't mind that Sunday drive...that way i'll always look forward to coming back :D

Originally posted by Crash@Jan 17 2005, 20:17
I was actually referring to Canken2's Putra :) So it's gonna be 3 SR3s, one Putra and one Jazz! Excellent! Will give Revo a call just to make sure they are opened!
Where is REVO?

Revolution is off the NPE. Right after the Gasing turnoff. Keep left, after the BP station turn left into PJS 1. Head on straight till you reach a tiny roundabout. Make a 3 o'clock turn and keep going straight. About 300m on, you will see Revolution on your right. Won't miss it.

I'll get handsome_lala to keep you posted since we'll be doing breakfast before heading there.

Shaun,

As for the problems, have to meet up and drive you're car first. determine where the squeeks and rattle are originating

Our Stage 2 will be real performance gaining mods.

My personal opinion on your planned mods.

Aluminium racing nuts. good
Thermal wrap. hmm
Blitz filter cone and heat shield. Better off with CAI. I'm doubful of open pods even with heat shield.
Defi gauge pods. Do you really need them?
Goodridge brake hose. good

Originally posted by shaunchen@Jan 17 2005, 23:44
Hi all SR3 owners

Are your exhaust sound loud? Mine is, i wonder what is wrong. When driving on uneven road, the car is like going to tear apart. Squeak and rattles everywhere. How to solve this? I thought the double welding should make the car more solid?

But one thing is for sure, the handling is excellent!!! Makes my Coupe looks like a dinosaur in terms of handling. But final touches not so good.

Faisal,

What are the upcoming Stage 2 sneak preview? I'm asking coz i'm planning to upgrade several things and i worry they will overlap.

Will your Stage 2 include this:

Aluminium racing nuts
Thermal wrap
Blitz filter cone and heat shield
Defi gauge pods
Goodridge brake hose
Hey Shaun,

The exhaust shouldn't sound loud, not as a stock car. Even after de-catting the car, the sound isn't overly loud. You should really get your car checked out mate. Quite a bit of sound-dampening has been removed from the car, so you will hear and feel the bumps on uneven surfaces. This is quite normal. Don't expect luxury car levels coz you didn't buy a luxury car! You bought a SR3! Don't expect SGTi comfort!

As Faisal mentioned, Stage 2 are not mere superficial bolt-ons. They are real performance mods like cams + piggyback ECUs. There is also a Stage 2 suspension upgrade. Keep your eyes peeled and your pockets full. I am saving up now. ;)

I advise you against thermal-wrapping your piping/manifold. Been known to cause cracking. I wouldn't call the mods you listed Stage 2, more like Stage 1.5 :) Get a performance drop-in filter with a CAI, do the Goodridge steel-braided hose upgrade and nice racing nuts (don't forget the lock nuts). Please also upgrade your alarm system. This is A MUST. Forget the nitty-gritty superficial stuff. Does not add to final bhp count :)

My 2 cents worth.

This my first time here so please be nice to me. Anyway I just booked the SR3 last week and been told by the SA that I will have to wait for two to three months for the car. Although some people would consider it to be worth the wait but the duration is considered long.

How long did you guys have to wait before you received your car and if possible would like to have some comment from the people in proton motorsports on the cause of the long wait.

B)

Yo durian,

Welcome....great to see another future R3 owner
errr the wait for the R3 was LONG!!! haha...but worth the wait...just read the complains from me, crash and prozac in this forum!!

For me i waited for over 2 months before i get my R3....so i guess your waiting period is justifiable!!

Originally posted by buahdurian@Jan 18 2005, 14:10

This my first time here so please be nice to me. Anyway I just booked the SR3 last week and been told by the SA that I will have to wait for two to three months for the car. Although some people would consider it to be worth the wait but the duration is considered long.

How long did you guys have to wait before you received your car and if possible would like to have some comment from the people in proton motorsports on the cause of the long wait.

B)
The R3 production line rolls out 2 cars per day. 2-3 months is quite long I suppose, but I got my car my car in a little over a month. I'd rather wait for a good car then have them rush it and build a flimsy one. Be patiend my friend, you will be rewarded! :)

Originally posted by shaunchen@Jan 18 2005, 15:37
Dashboard problems: Rattling, squeeking, meter gauge is off-color, air cond vent crooked, glove box crooked.
You've owned Protons before, haven't you? :lol:

Faisal mentioned that the off-colour meter is being rectified, though.

Originally posted by shaunchen@Jan 18 2005, 15:44
Does CAI mean

CLOSED AIR INTAKE?
Actually its cold-air-intake. It should not cost more than RM450. A Pipercross drop-in (or perhaps a K&N equivalent) should cost RM200. The cold air intake pipe (2") costs around RM190. Not so sure about current pricing, but you can check with Pentagon.

Shaun, you seem to be the only one so far having lots of problems with the dashboard. Hope you can get all those rectified during your service appointment.

I am supposed to pick up 2 bottles of X-1R from Stanley, fellow ZTH-member. My advise is to not use any engine add-ons though, not until at least 10K on your mileage. Let the engine run-in on mineral oil before you decide to do anything else.

Guys the off-colour meter binnacle will be replaced when you send the car for the missing CF part fitted, by Motorsports, not our friendly Edar Service.

Shaun, that would be Thurday. Ok I'll meet you there.

Durian, Thank you for purchasing our Car. Another believer. As for the delay in delivery, pls understand these cars are fitted with R3 parts at a rate of 2 a day by our Techs. Takes a while if you want something done properly . better than doin a rush job rite?

Off topic a bit.. saw a R3 at Kinrara Bandar Sri D'sara last nite.. belong to any one here? :)

Hi...

so the best thing to do is to wait... hopefully the at the end of the waiting period I will recieve an excellent car in an excellent condition...

anyway i'm a bit confuse about the terms stage 1, stage 2, and stage 3... what does it suppose to mean?

The thing that I do know is that stage 2 is the upgrade of stage 1 and so on... but what are the upgrade(s)? Does it mean that it is going to be entirely a new car? or... ?

Originally posted by buahdurian@Jan 18 2005, 18:06
Hi...

so the best thing to do is to wait... hopefully the at the end of the waiting period I will recieve an excellent car in an excellent condition...

anyway i'm a bit confuse about the terms stage 1, stage 2, and stage 3... what does it suppose to mean?

The thing that I do know is that stage 2 is the upgrade of stage 1 and so on... but what are the upgrade(s)? Does it mean that it is going to be entirely a new car? or... ?
Stage 1,2 or 3 are product upgrade packages. For instance, Stage 2 engine upgrades may (or may not, don't quote me, just an example) come with half or quarter racing cams, ported head, piggy-back ECU, semi-race clutch, cold air intake, etc.... Stage 3 may be semi-race cams, ported head + 3 angle valve job, lightened flywheel, race clutch, LSD gearbox, etc...

NA tuning encompasses upgrading as a whole package. This is usually the case for optimum performance gains.

There will be Stage 2 + 3 suspension upgrades available as well. The R3 will elaborate when the time comes.

Thanks Crash and Faisal for the info...

just would like to know which alarm system that you guys used for your SR3... been thinking of installing Captors but it is too expensive...

how about windows tinting... is there any good product in price range of rm500...

B)

saw one R3 at imbi yesterday... fr far can't really differentiate it wit other satrias... only when i took a good look at the trims and wheels... then only could recognise thatz an R3