Proton 1.6 XLi

craziechild

to all the sifus out there...

I am driving a Proton 1.6 XLi (Auto) and i feel tht the car's pick up is very lame... and i wan to increase the power of the car... but i don't wan to change the engine...

any suggestion on this matter???

and what brand of cables and spark plugs good??? tell me the price of it also...

one more thing...
why when i chnge the air intake to the mushroom head... the 'CHECK ENGINE' indiacator on my meter panel won't go off?? then when i change it back to the ori one then no problem.. any suggestion???

craziechild said:
to all the sifus out there...

I am driving a Proton 1.6 XLi (Auto) and i feel tht the car's pick up is very lame... and i wan to increase the power of the car... but i don't wan to change the engine...

any suggestion on this matter???

and what brand of cables and spark plugs good??? tell me the price of it also...
Try converting it to a manual if you don't mind... You'd feel difference in terms in pickup, which auto can't deal with.. and be careful with your car, 1.6 Auto gearboxes are pretty weak, so if your rev is very happy and you have a heavy foot, you could just hurt the gearbox...

craziechild said:
one more thing...
why when i chnge the air intake to the mushroom head... the 'CHECK ENGINE' indiacator on my meter panel won't go off?? then when i change it back to the ori one then no problem.. any suggestion???
When you tried that mushroom head air filter, check the air flow sensor. It's that small black box where the air passes through, make sure the cable is connected.

FuGZ said:
Try converting it to a manual if you don't mind... You'd feel difference in terms in pickup, which auto can't deal with.. and be careful with your car, 1.6 Auto gearboxes are pretty weak, so if your rev is very happy and you have a heavy foot, you could just hurt the gearbox...

When you tried that mushroom head air filter, check the air flow sensor. It's that small black box where the air passes through, make sure the cable is connected.
you mean the box must be installed together also la???

like this??? cleaner->air flow sensor->throttle.... izzit the sequence like this???

some of my fren say that i hav to re-tune my engine or ecu if i wan to change if not the fuel comsumtion will go up... true ah...

anyway thanks for the info you gave me... but i dun think i wan to change to manual lo... coz i hav a injury on my left knee and it will become painful when i step on the clucth... anymore ideas... hehehe...

I hear lotsa review bout powerzone, prob u can tok to them on their solution.... :)
haven tried it b4.
currently looking at SC kit from gerard..
happy searching....

air filter installation

FuGz... i found the black box you are talking bout liao... but how to install it together with my air filter??? you see the surface is flat, the end is not round, and i cannot figure out a way to istalled it together with the filter... help me out guys...

i think what is missing is the adapter (thats what they call it). basically a piece of metal to connect to the balck box thingy.

Maybe you can look for it at chop shop or try looking at accessories shop, normally they sell it in one set with the mushroom.

Your car without the air flow sensor also can start ah, mind if no air flow cannot start the car one.

zronix said:
i think what is missing is the adapter (thats what they call it). basically a piece of metal to connect to the balck box thingy.
you got pic of it??? hehehe... can post it???

Crazie,

Before explorng any go-fast-bits for the 1.6. I think the first item on your to-do list should be changing AUto to manual gearbox.

The notorious 1.6 slush-omatic tranny is prone to fail even under stock engine power when driven hard.

The cost of refurbishing tat slush-box is about RM1,000++.

So while your auto is still up-and running, I think it'll be a good idea to trade in the auto for a manual and get a rebate on the manual box's price.

soulseaker said:
Heres the picture, is the metal thing fix to the filter.
thanks soulseeker...

but you guys still not yet tell me... after installing it la... need to tune the engine or not??? or the ecu will tune it by itself??? i scare the fuel consumtion become very high if i dun do this rite...